Home & Kitchen Guides

Siren, Chime or Phone Alert? Best Door and Window Alarm Picks That Skip the Full System

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.

The best door and window alarm depends on who needs to hear it. A 120-decibel siren on a back door is meant to startle someone coming in. A soft chime in the kitchen tells you a toddler just opened the patio slider. A phone notification tells you the side door opened while you’re at work.

You don’t need a full security system for any of that. We compared seven entry alerts sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store and in stock when we checked: tape-on magnetic alarms, a chime with a separate receiver, two app-connected options and a door-stop alarm for travel. For each, we quote the listing on volume, batteries, range and any hub or subscription it mentions, and we flag empty fields.

Renters will find most of these mount with adhesive tape. Families and caregivers will find options that chime rather than shriek. None of them replaces a locked door or an adult keeping watch.

Our Top Door And Window Alarm Picks at a Glance

ProductKey featuresPriceAction
UltraPro 6-Pack Door and Window Alarm
UltraPro 6-Pack Door and Window AlarmBest Overall · Magnetic contact alarm, siren or chimeBest for: Covering several doors and windows cheaply
  • Six alarms per box
  • Siren or chime switch
  • No subscription
$ Buy Now →Check current price
Ring Window & Door Sensor 6-Pack (Newest Model)
Ring Window & Door Sensor 6-Pack (Newest Model)Best Smart Sensor Without a Base Station · Smart contact sensor via Amazon SidewalkBest for: Alerts when you’re away from home
  • No hub to install
  • Optional professional monitoring
  • Six sensors per box
$$ Buy Now →Check current price
Philips Window and Door Alarm 4-Pack
Philips Window and Door Alarm 4-PackBest Budget 4-Pack · Magnetic contact alarm, siren or chimeBest for: Small apartments and a few windows
  • Stated one-year warranty
  • Battery test button
  • Chime or alarm switch
$ Buy Now →Check current price
SECRUI Door Chime, 2 Sensors + Receiver
SECRUI Door Chime, 2 Sensors + ReceiverBest Door Chime for Kids · Wireless sensors with separate chime receiverBest for: Hearing a door open from another room
  • Hear doors from another room
  • Unique chime per door
  • Visual alert on mute
$ Buy Now →Check current price
METAK D130 Door & Window Alarm 5-Pack
METAK D130 Door & Window Alarm 5-PackBest Adjustable-Volume Alarm Set · Magnetic contact alarm with Set buttonBest for: Pools, basements and cabinets in a family home
  • Two volume settings
  • Five alarms per pack
  • Visual LED alert
$ Buy Now →Check current price
tolviviov 8-Piece WiFi Door Alarm Kit
tolviviov 8-Piece WiFi Door Alarm KitBest App-Connected Kit With No Subscription · Wi-Fi siren station with 5 contact sensorsBest for: A DIY system with phone alerts and a siren
  • Phone alerts, no monthly fee
  • Central siren station
  • Room to expand
$$ Buy Now →Check current price
EMDMAK Door Stop Alarm 2-Pack
EMDMAK Door Stop Alarm 2-PackBest for Travel and Hotel Rooms · Door-stop wedge with pressure alarmBest for: Hotel rooms and inward-opening doors
  • Zero installation
  • Doubles as a door stop
  • Adjustable sensitivity
$ Buy Now →Check current price

Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.

1. UltraPro 6-Pack Door and Window Alarm: Best Overall

UltraPro 6-Pack Door and Window Alarm

UltraPro’s Personal Security Window and Door Alarm comes as a six-pack of small, self-contained magnetic alarms. Each one has two parts: the alarm body sticks to the door or window frame and a magnet sticks to the moving door or sash. When they separate, the alarm reacts.

A switch on the side picks the behavior: off, chime or alarm. The listing claims a 120dB siren in alarm mode and a chime when doors or windows open or close in chime mode. Mounting uses the included double-sided tape, with no wires, and UltraPro notes the alarms must be installed indoors.

Each alarm runs on four LR44 button batteries, which are included, and a front LED shows when the batteries are low. Because the alarm is self-contained, there’s nothing to pair, no app to install and, as the listing puts it, no monthly fees. With six units, you can cover a back door, a patio door and several ground-floor windows from one box. Keep spare button cells stored where small children can’t reach them.

It suits apartments, houses, dorm rooms, offices, RVs and campers, all named in the listing, and anyone who wants a simple layer of awareness at entry points without committing to a monitored system.

Why we like it

  • Six alarms per box
  • Siren or chime switch
  • No subscription

Watch out for

These are local alarms only: if no one is home to hear them, nothing alerts you, and the listing says to install them indoors.

Key Specifications

TypeMagnetic contact alarm, siren or chime
Alert120 dB siren or chime (per listing)
SwitchOFF / chime / alarm on the side
PowerFour LR44, included; front LED low-battery indicator
MountingDouble-sided tape, indoors only
Size5.55 x 2.6 x 2.8 in
Listed weight0.6 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
Model49721; made by GE
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#33 in Home Security Systems (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Coverage per box is the first argument: six alarms, matched only by the Ring six-pack, and each one has its own “120dB” siren and a chime mode. Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #33 in Home Security Systems, the best rank among the tape-on alarms here (Philips is #50, METAK #63).

The listing is plain about what you get. A “Side OFF/chime/alarm switch” sets the mode, it “Runs on four included LR44 batteries,” and a “front LED low battery indicator” warns when power fades. Most usefully for renters, there are “no apps or monthly fees required,” where Ring’s monitoring and tolviviov’s Wi-Fi both involve a network.

Limits: “alarms must be installed indoors,” there’s no remote or receiver, and the warranty field is empty, unlike the Philips with its “1-year limited warranty.” The manufacturer field names GE, model 49721, and the specs list 5.55 x 2.6 x 2.8 inches and 0.6 pound, likely for the pack.

Anyone who wants several doors and windows covered with loud local alarms and no setup should start here. If you need to know about a door opening while you’re out, a phone-connected pick is the better fit.

Pros

  • Six alarms in one pack
  • 120 dB siren or chime, per the listing
  • Batteries included (four LR44)
  • No apps or monthly fees
  • Sold by Amazon.com; #33 in Home Security Systems

Cons

  • Must be installed indoors, per the listing
  • No remote or app alerts
  • Warranty field empty
  • Button-cell batteries to keep away from kids

Best for: A renter or homeowner who wants loud alerts on several doors and windows with no app, hub or subscription.

Check Price on Amazon →

2. Ring Window & Door Sensor 6-Pack (Newest Model): Best Smart Sensor Without a Base Station

Ring Window & Door Sensor 6-Pack (Newest Model)

Ring’s newest Window & Door Sensor is a small contact sensor that detects when a door or window opens and sends an alert. This six-pack lets you cover several entry points. Unlike Ring’s earlier Alarm contact sensors, the listing says this model needs no base station.

Instead of a hub, it connects over Amazon Sidewalk, Amazon’s shared low-bandwidth network. The listing says Amazon Sidewalk is required for use and that coverage may vary, so it’s worth confirming that Sidewalk works where you live before relying on it. The listing doesn’t describe a built-in siren; this is a sensor that notifies you rather than an alarm that shrieks at the door.

Installation is described as minutes, with no tools or wiring. Ring offers 24/7 Pro Monitoring through a compatible Ring subscription, which the listing says covers emergency response for break-ins, fires and more, with no multi-year contracts. The listing doesn’t spell out which alert features work without a subscription, so read Ring’s current plan details before you buy.

It suits people who want entry alerts on their phone while they’re out, homeowners already using Ring products, and anyone who wants the option of professional monitoring later without installing a full alarm panel.

Why we like it

  • No hub to install
  • Optional professional monitoring
  • Six sensors per box

Watch out for

It depends on Amazon Sidewalk coverage, has no listed siren, and the listing doesn’t spell out what works without a Ring subscription.

Key Specifications

TypeSmart contact sensor via Amazon Sidewalk
ConnectionAmazon Sidewalk (required)
Base stationNot required, per the listing
Monitoring24/7 Pro Monitoring with a compatible Ring subscription (optional)
Listed size2.09 x 1.56 x 0.55 in
Size2.09 x 1.56 x 0.55 in
Listed weight0.08 lb in the listing data; that may describe one sensor rather than the six-pack.
WarrantyNot stated in listing
Model7AFYA2
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#73 overall; #2 in Smart Appliance Bundles (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Remote alerts without a hub are what the Ring sensor offers. The title says “no base station needed,” and the bullets say it “connects over Amazon Sidewalk.” It ranks #73 overall, the strongest rank on this page by far, and Amazon.com sells it.

The tolviviov kit is the other app option, and the differences are clear. Ring relies on Sidewalk (“Amazon Sidewalk required for use; coverage may vary”), while tolviviov uses 2.4GHz Wi-Fi and a plug-in station. Ring lists optional “24/7 Pro Monitoring with a compatible Ring subscription” with “no multi-year contracts,” while tolviviov says it has “No subscription fee.”

What’s missing matters. The listing doesn’t mention a siren, so nobody at the door hears anything from the sensor itself. It also doesn’t say which alerts work without a subscription; an older Ring Alarm sensor listing tied mobile alerts to a Ring Protect plan, so check current terms. The warranty field is empty, and 0.08 pound for a six-pack likely describes one sensor. Each sensor is listed at 2.09 x 1.56 x 0.55 inches.

Ring households and anyone wanting away-from-home alerts with optional professional monitoring will find it a strong fit. If Sidewalk coverage is weak where you live, or you want a loud deterrent at the door, look at the tolviviov or UltraPro.

Pros

  • No base station required, per the title
  • Best rank here: #73 overall
  • Six sensors in the pack
  • Optional 24/7 Pro Monitoring with no multi-year contract
  • Sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • Amazon Sidewalk required; coverage may vary
  • No built-in siren is listed
  • Listing doesn’t say which alerts need a subscription
  • Warranty field empty; 0.08 lb weight for a 6-pack looks low

Best for: Someone who wants to know a door or window opened while they’re away and is comfortable relying on Amazon Sidewalk.

Check Price on Amazon →

3. Philips Window and Door Alarm 4-Pack: Best Budget 4-Pack

Philips Window and Door Alarm 4-Pack

Philips’ Personal Security Window and Door Alarm is a four-pack of magnetic contact alarms, each with its own sounder. Stick the alarm on a frame and the magnet on the door or window; opening it breaks the magnetic connection and triggers the alert.

The listing describes a 120-decibel alarm triggered by a magnetic sensor, or a chime when doors or windows open and close. An OFF/chime/alarm switch on the side chooses between them, so you can run chime mode during the day and alarm mode at night or when you’re out.

Mounting is wire-free with the included double-sided tape, and Philips says everything you need is in the box. Each alarm takes four LR44 button batteries, which are included, and there’s a battery test button along with a low-battery indicator LED, so you can check them without waiting for a warning. The listing’s warranty field reads “1-year limited warranty.”

It suits smaller apartments, a single sliding door and a couple of windows, or anyone who wants to try entry alarms before buying more. Because each unit is self-contained, you can move one from room to room as needs change. Keep spare button batteries stored safely if small children live in the home.

Why we like it

  • Stated one-year warranty
  • Battery test button
  • Chime or alarm switch

Watch out for

Four alarms won’t cover many entry points, and like any local alarm, it only helps if someone is close enough to hear it.

Key Specifications

TypeMagnetic contact alarm, siren or chime
Alert120 dB alarm or chime (per listing)
SwitchOFF / chime / alarm
PowerFour LR44, included; battery test button, low-battery LED
Pack4 alarms
Size8.6 x 5.3 x 3.5 in
Listed weight0.4 pounds
Warranty1-year limited warranty
ModelLRM3320W/27; made by Jasco Products Company, LLC
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#50 in Home Security Systems (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Warranty is where the Philips stands out: its field reads “1-year limited warranty,” the longest stated warranty among our picks (EMDMAK’s says 30 days, and the rest are empty).

Functionally it mirrors the UltraPro: a “120-decibel alarm triggered by a high-quality magnetic sensor,” a chime option, and an “OFF/chime/alarm switch.” The specs name Jasco as the Philips manufacturer and GE for the UltraPro, and both run on “four included LR44 button batteries.” The Philips adds a “battery test button” alongside its low-battery LED, which the UltraPro listing doesn’t mention.

You get four alarms rather than six, and it ranks #50 in Home Security Systems, behind the UltraPro’s #33. Amazon.com sells it. The specs give 8.6 x 5.3 x 3.5 inches and 0.4 pound, which reads like the box rather than one alarm. There’s no remote, receiver or app.

Smaller apartments, or anyone with a door and a few windows to cover, should find four enough. Households with many entry points will get more alarms per box from the UltraPro or METAK.

Pros

  • Warranty field: “1-year limited warranty”
  • 120 dB alarm or chime, per the listing
  • Battery test button plus low-battery LED
  • Four LR44 batteries included
  • Sold by Amazon.com; #50 in Home Security Systems

Cons

  • Four alarms, not six
  • No remote or app
  • Listed size 8.6 x 5.3 x 3.5 in likely describes the package
  • Button-cell batteries to keep away from kids

Best for: A renter in a smaller apartment who wants a few loud tape-on alarms with a stated warranty.

Check Price on Amazon →

4. SECRUI Door Chime, 2 Sensors + Receiver: Best Door Chime for Kids

SECRUI Door Chime, 2 Sensors + Receiver

SECRUI’s door chime splits the job in two. The sensors go on the doors you want to watch, and a separate receiver sits wherever you spend time. When a watched door opens, the receiver plays a chime, so you don’t have to be near the door to know.

Customization is the draw: the listing offers 58 melodies and five volume levels from 0 to 110 decibels. A colorful LED on the receiver flashes even at 0 dB, so you can mute the sound and still get a visual cue. Because the system is expandable, you can add sensors for more doors or rooms, and each can trigger its own chime so you know which door opened.

Setup is simple: the set arrives pre-paired, and the sensors mount with 3M double-sided tape or screws. SECRUI states a range of up to 500 feet between receiver and sensor, which helps in larger homes and across floors. The bullets don’t describe how the sensors or receiver are powered, so check the full listing or packaging before you plan placement.

It suits families who want to know when a child heads for the back door, caregivers watching a front door, and small businesses that want an entry chime, all uses named in the listing.

Why we like it

  • Hear doors from another room
  • Unique chime per door
  • Visual alert on mute

Watch out for

Power details aren’t in the bullets, and a chime is a heads-up, not a barrier, so pair it with locks and supervision.

Key Specifications

TypeWireless sensors with separate chime receiver
Alert58 chimes, 5 volume levels, 0–110 dB (per listing)
RangeUp to 500 ft
Included2 sensors, 1 receiver, pre-paired
Mounting3M double-sided tape or screws
Size4.5 x 2.3 x 1.7 in
Listed weight0.4 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
ModelM508+D017x2
SellerSECRUI
Best Sellers Rank#653 overall; #1 in Chimes (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Range and a separate receiver make the SECRUI different. It claims “500FT Range” between sensor and receiver, the longest stated range here, and the receiver goes wherever you are, which none of the tape-on alarms can do.

Sound options are broad: “58 melodies and 5 adjustable volume levels (0-110 dB),” plus an LED “visible even at 0 dB (mute).” Each added sensor can trigger “a unique door chime,” so you can tell the back door from the front. It ranks #1 in Chimes and #653 overall, and it’s sold by SECRUI, the brand’s store.

The trade-offs: the top volume of 110 dB is below the 120 dB claims from UltraPro, Philips, METAK and EMDMAK, though a chime is meant to inform rather than scare. The bullets don’t say how the sensors or receiver are powered, the warranty field is empty, and only two sensors come in the set. Listed size is 4.5 x 2.3 x 1.7 inches at 0.4 pound.

Parents and caregivers who want to hear an outside door from the kitchen or a bedroom will get the most from it. If you mainly want a loud deterrent at the door, a 120 dB alarm suits better.

Pros

  • Separate receiver hears the door from elsewhere
  • Longest stated range here: 500 ft
  • 58 chimes and 5 volume levels (0–110 dB)
  • LED light still flashes on mute
  • #1 in Chimes, #653 overall

Cons

  • Sensor and receiver power not described in the bullets
  • Quieter maximum than the 120 dB alarms
  • Only two sensors in the set
  • Warranty field empty

Best for: A parent or caregiver who wants a chime in the kitchen or bedroom when an outside door opens elsewhere in the house.

Check Price on Amazon →

5. METAK D130 Door & Window Alarm 5-Pack: Best Adjustable-Volume Alarm Set

METAK D130 Door & Window Alarm 5-Pack

METAK’s D130 is a five-pack of slim magnetic alarms that sound when a door or window is opened. Each alarm is self-contained: an alarm body on the frame and a magnet on the moving part, with nothing to pair and no app.

Controls are a little more flexible than a basic switch. An On/Off switch powers the unit, and a Set button handles arming, disarming and volume, with a choice of 90 or 120 decibels per the listing. A built-in LED flashes red when the alarm is triggered or when the battery runs low, which gives you a visual cue too.

Each alarm takes two AAA batteries, which aren’t included, and installation is wire-free. METAK notes that this model, the D130, does not support the brand’s RC5311 remote, so all settings happen at the unit. The listing suggests uses including keeping kids away from dangerous areas such as pools, basements and cabinets holding dangerous goods, and monitoring elderly people with dementia.

It suits families who want several alarms around the house and would rather choose a slightly quieter setting for interior doors, while saving the full 120 dB for exterior doors and ground-floor windows where a loud deterrent makes more sense.

Why we like it

  • Two volume settings
  • Five alarms per pack
  • Visual LED alert

Watch out for

Budget for 10 AAA batteries, and know that there’s no remote, so arming and disarming happen at each alarm.

Key Specifications

TypeMagnetic contact alarm with Set button
Alert90 or 120 dB (per listing)
ControlsOn/Off switch and Set button
Power2 AAA per alarm, not included
Listed size / weight4.18 x 1.2 x 0.6 in / 0.6 lb
Size4.18 x 1.2 x 0.6 in
Listed weight0.6 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
ModelD130x5_White; made by Metak
SellerMetak US
Best Sellers Rank#63 in Home Security Systems (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Five alarms with a volume choice is the METAK’s case. Its “Set button allows for easy arming, disarming, and volume adjustment (90/120dB),” while the UltraPro and Philips offer siren or chime but no stated volume steps.

The listing adds a “built-in LED indicator” that “flashes red when the alarm is triggered or when the battery is low.” Uses named include pools, basements, cabinets with dangerous goods and “monitoring elderly individuals with dementia.” It ranks #63 in Home Security Systems and is sold by Metak US, the brand’s store.

Two gaps stand out. It runs on “2 AAA batteries (not included)” per alarm, so expect to buy 10, where UltraPro and Philips include theirs. And the listing says “This Door Alarm (Model: D130) does not support remote control (RC5311),” so every change happens at the unit. No chime mode is described, and the warranty field is empty. Specs list 4.18 x 1.2 x 0.6 inches and 0.6 pound.

Families who want several alarms and a quieter setting for interior doors will appreciate it. If you prefer a gentle chime or batteries in the box, the UltraPro is simpler.

Pros

  • Five alarms in the pack
  • Volume choice: 90 or 120 dB
  • Set button arms, disarms and adjusts volume
  • LED flashes on trigger and low battery
  • #63 in Home Security Systems

Cons

  • Batteries not included (2 AAA each)
  • No remote support for this model, per the listing
  • Warranty field empty
  • No chime mode described

Best for: A household that wants several alarms with a quieter 90 dB option for doors to basements, pools or storage areas.

Check Price on Amazon →

6. tolviviov 8-Piece WiFi Door Alarm Kit: Best App-Connected Kit With No Subscription

tolviviov 8-Piece WiFi Door Alarm Kit

tolviviov’s WiFi Door Alarm System is a small do-it-yourself alarm kit. A central siren station plugs into the wall and connects to your Wi-Fi; five door and window contact sensors report to it, and two remote controls arm and disarm the system. When a sensor trips, the station alarms and your phone gets a notification.

The connection detail matters: the listing says it only works on a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network and does not support 5GHz. Modes are Away, Disarm and Home, and you can switch between them by voice through Alexa or Google Assistant. The kit expands to as many as 20 sensors and five remotes or keypads, and tolviviov lists motion detectors, a wireless doorbell and water detectors as possible add-ons.

Installation is tool-free, and the listing says the devices don’t damage the wall. The siren station should always be connected to its AC adapter; its backup battery works for eight hours and is meant only for emergencies. tolviviov says there are no contracts and no subscription fee.

It suits apartment dwellers and homeowners who want phone alerts plus a central siren, and who prefer a one-time purchase over a monitored plan that bills every month for the same alerts.

Why we like it

  • Phone alerts, no monthly fee
  • Central siren station
  • Room to expand

Watch out for

Check that your router offers a 2.4GHz network, and remember that the station needs wall power to run beyond its eight-hour backup.

Key Specifications

TypeWi-Fi siren station with 5 contact sensors
Kit1 siren station, 5 door/window sensors, 2 remotes
Connection2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
ExpansionUp to 20 sensors and 5 remotes/keypads
Backup power8-hour emergency battery in the station
Size9.06 x 6.69 x 1.97 in
Listed weight1.1 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
ModelDP-W2; made by Daping
Sellertolviviov Direct
Best Sellers Rank#83 in Home Security Systems (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

A siren plus phone alerts with “No contracts and No subscription fee” is what the tolviviov kit promises. The box has “1 alarm siren station, 5 windows & door sensors and 2 remote controls,” the only pick here with remotes and a central siren together.

It scales further than anything else on the page: “expansion of up to 20 sensors and 5 remote controls/keypads,” with motion, doorbell and water detectors listed as add-ons. Voice control works with “Alexa and Google Assistant.” Compared with Ring, there’s no Sidewalk dependence, but it “Only works on 2.4GHz WiFi network.”

Power is the caution. The station “should ALWAYS CONNECT to AC adapter,” and “The backup battery works for 8 hours, only as an emergency battery.” Siren volume isn’t stated, the warranty field is empty, and the manufacturer field reads Daping. It ranks #83 in Home Security Systems and is sold by tolviviov Direct, the brand’s store, at a listed 1.1 pounds for the kit.

Renters and homeowners who want app alerts and a central siren without monthly fees should consider it. If your router is 5GHz-only or outages are common, Ring or the battery-powered UltraPro may serve you better.

Pros

  • Siren station, 5 door/window sensors and 2 remotes
  • App notifications over Wi-Fi
  • No contracts and no subscription fee, per the listing
  • Expands to 20 sensors and 5 remotes or keypads
  • Works with Alexa and Google Assistant

Cons

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; no 5GHz support
  • Station must stay on its AC adapter; backup battery lasts 8 hours
  • Siren volume not stated
  • Warranty field empty; manufacturer listed as Daping

Best for: A renter or homeowner who wants app alerts and a central siren without paying a monthly fee.

Check Price on Amazon →

7. EMDMAK Door Stop Alarm 2-Pack: Best for Travel and Hotel Rooms

EMDMAK Door Stop Alarm 2-Pack

EMDMAK’s Door Stop Alarm is a rubber-bottomed wedge with a siren built in. You slide it under a door that opens into the room; if someone pushes the door, the wedge resists the push and the alarm sounds. There’s nothing to mount, so it goes wherever you go.

The listing claims a 120-decibel alarm and gives three sensitivity levels, high, medium and low, so you can tune it to the door and floor. EMDMAK says it works for door-to-floor clearances of 0.6 and 1.2 inches, and that the rubberized bottom keeps the door from sliding.

Power comes from a 9V battery, which isn’t included; EMDMAK says one battery can last about a year under normal circumstances. Each unit weighs 4.5 ounces per the bullets, and the pack contains two. The brand describes it for any inner pull door at home or in a hotel, and as something to carry when traveling or staying alone.

It suits frequent travelers, students in dorms and renters who can’t attach anything to the door. Doors that open outward, toward the hallway, aren’t a fit, because the wedge needs the door to swing into it. Sliding doors and windows need a different kind of alarm entirely.

Why we like it

  • Zero installation
  • Doubles as a door stop
  • Adjustable sensitivity

Watch out for

It only works on doors that open toward you, and you’ll need to buy a 9V battery for each one.

Key Specifications

TypeDoor-stop wedge with pressure alarm
Alert120 dB (per listing)
Power9V battery, not included; about a year per battery claimed
FitDoor-to-floor clearances of 0.6 in and 1.2 in
SensitivityHigh, medium, low
Size5.31 x 1.77 x 1.57 in
Listed weightThe specs field says 0.21 lb, but the bullets say 4.5 oz (about 0.28 lb by our math).
Warranty30 days
Modela-001
SellerEMDMAK
Best Sellers Rank#947 overall; #7 in Door Stops (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Portability decides this one. The EMDMAK needs “No installation”; you “place the alarm behind any inner pull door (home, hotel, etc).” No other pick works without being stuck or screwed to something.

The listing claims a “120db alarm,” “High-Medium-Low Sensitivities,” and a “rubberized bottom” that resists sliding. It fits door-to-floor clearances of 0.6 and 1.2 inches, per the listing. It ranks #7 in Door Stops and #947 overall, and EMDMAK’s own store sells it.

Flags: the warranty field reads “30 days,” the shortest stated here next to Philips’ one year. The 9V battery is “not include[d],” though EMDMAK says one lasts about a year. The specs list 0.21 pound while the bullets say 4.5 ounces, about 0.28 pound by our math, so treat weight as approximate. It only works on doors that swing into the room.

Travelers, dorm residents and renters who can’t attach anything to a door will find it handy. For doors that open outward, or for windows, choose a magnetic contact alarm instead.

Pros

  • No installation: wedge it behind the door
  • 120 dB alarm claimed
  • Three sensitivity levels
  • Two in the pack
  • #7 in Door Stops, #947 overall

Cons

  • 9V battery not included
  • Works only on doors that open inward (inner pull doors)
  • Warranty field: “30 days”
  • Listed 0.21 lb conflicts with the 4.5 oz in the bullets

Best for: A traveler, dorm resident or renter who wants a portable alarm for a door that opens into the room.

Check Price on Amazon →

How We Chose the Best Door and Window Alarms

We kept only alarms that were in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store, one pick per brand, and compared what each listing says:

  • Alert type: a local siren, a chime, a separate receiver, or a phone notification.
  • Volume: the decibel claim, and whether you can turn it down or switch to a chime.
  • Hub and subscription: whether a base station, Wi-Fi band, Amazon Sidewalk or a paid plan is mentioned.
  • Power: battery type, whether batteries are included, and low-battery warnings.
  • Mounting: tape, screws, or no installation at all, which matters to renters.
A living room with tall windows overlooking trees

Door and Window Alarm Buying Guide

Best Door Alarm Sensor for Renters

Self-contained magnetic alarms such as the UltraPro, Philips and METAK sets mount with double-sided tape, so there’s nothing to drill. Each alarm has its own siren, so it only helps if someone nearby hears it. If you rent, check your lease before adding anything to doors or frames, and see our guide to renters insurance costs in Ohio for how coverage for your belongings works.

Best Window Alarm for Home

For windows, a slim contact alarm on the sash tells you when it opens. An alarm doesn’t stop a window from opening, though. Pair it with a physical stop or sash lock from our best window lock guide, especially on ground-floor windows and windows a child can reach.

Large sliding glass doors in an open living room

Best Door Chime Alarm for Kids

A chime is often better than a siren around children: it tells you a door opened without frightening anyone. HealthyChildren.org, the AAP’s parenting site, says on its water safety page that additional protections against a toddler going outside unnoticed may include door alarms or turning on the audible door alert on a home security system, alongside safety gates, door locks and doorknob covers. The SECRUI receiver lets you hear that chime in another room. If a door leads to a pool, see our best pool alarm guide too. Alarms supplement supervision; they never replace it.

Door Alerts for Dementia Wandering

The Alzheimer’s Association’s wandering page says six in 10 people living with dementia will wander at least once, and it lists installing warning bells above doors or using a monitoring device that signals when a door is opened among its safety measures. It also cautions never to lock a person in at home. A chime or contact alarm can be one part of a caregiving plan; talk with the person’s care team about the rest.

An apartment entryway with a white door

Best Smart Door Sensor

Smart sensors notify your phone when you’re away. The Ring sensor needs no base station but requires Amazon Sidewalk, and Ring sells optional professional monitoring. The tolviviov kit uses 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, adds a central siren, and says it charges no subscription. Before buying either, check your network and read what each brand’s app offers for free.

Best Wireless Door Alarm for Travel

A door-stop alarm such as the EMDMAK needs no mounting and works on doors that open into the room, which covers many hotel rooms and dorms. For a stronger physical barrier at home, see our best door security bar guide.

Two red hotel room doors in a dark hallway

Entry Alarms, Outdoor Alerts and Your Insurance

Door and window alarms cover entry points. For warnings before someone reaches the door, a driveway alarm watches the approach. If a break-in does happen, how your policy handles it depends on your coverage, and whether any device affects your premium varies by insurer, so ask your agent rather than assuming. Homeowners can start with our Ohio homeowners insurance guide; renters, with our Ohio renters insurance cost guide.

A house and driveway lit at dusk

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best door and window alarm without a subscription?

The UltraPro 6-Pack is our top pick: six tape-on alarms with a 120 dB siren or chime, batteries included, and, in the listing’s words, “no apps or monthly fees required.” For phone alerts without a fee, the tolviviov kit says it has no contracts and no subscription.

Do Ring door and window sensors need a base station?

The newest Ring Window & Door Sensor listing says no base station is required; it connects over Amazon Sidewalk, which is required for use, and coverage may vary. Optional 24/7 Pro Monitoring needs a compatible Ring subscription.

What is the best door chime alarm for kids?

The SECRUI set puts a receiver in the room you’re in, with 58 chimes, five volume levels and a stated 500-foot range. It alerts you when a door opens. It doesn’t replace locks, gates or supervision.

Are door alarms useful for someone with dementia who wanders?

The Alzheimer’s Association lists monitoring devices that signal when a door is opened among its wandering safety measures, and warns never to lock a person in. A door chime can be one part of a caregiving plan; ask the person’s care team about the rest.

Will a door alarm lower my insurance premium?

We can’t say for your policy. Insurers treat security devices differently, so ask your agent. Our Ohio homeowners and renters insurance guides explain coverage basics.

The Bottom Line

For most homes, the UltraPro 6-Pack is the best door and window alarm to start with: six loud, tape-on alarms with a chime mode and no fees. The Philips 4-Pack covers smaller spaces with a stated warranty, the METAK 5-Pack adds a quieter volume option, and the SECRUI chime lets you hear a door from another room. For phone alerts, choose the Ring sensors or the tolviviov kit, and pack the EMDMAK door stop for travel.

Wondering how your homeowners or renters policy handles a break-in? Call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or get a free coverage review, and ask your agent what applies to you.

Get a Free Quote from Jeff’s Portsmouth Office

Questions about your coverage? Call or email Jeff Smith’s State Farm agency — no-pressure quotes, local expertise, same-day response.