Home & Kitchen Guides

Dry Wood Burns Cleaner: Best Fireplace Wood, Fatwood Kindling and Natural Fire Starters

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.

The best fireplace wood is dry hardwood, split and ready to burn, started with dry kindling or an all-natural fire starter. Wet or green wood smolders, makes more smoke and leaves more creosote in the chimney, and creosote is what fuels chimney fires.

We compared six products sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store: a bulk box of kiln-dried oak, a low-moisture log bundle, a box of fatwood kindling and three natural fire starters. Pizza-oven mini logs and cooking or smoking splits were left out, because they’re sized and sold for grills and ovens, not for an indoor hearth.

For each pick we quote what the listing says about drying, moisture and ingredients, and we flag where a field is empty or doesn’t add up. Good wood is only half of a safe fire, so the guide also covers annual chimney inspections, ash disposal, smoke and carbon monoxide alarms, and how homeowners insurance fits in.

Our Top Fireplace Wood Picks at a Glance

ProductKey featuresPriceAction
Smoak Firewood Kiln-Dried Oak (16-inch, 120–140 lb)
Smoak Firewood Kiln-Dried Oak (16-inch, 120–140 lb)Best Overall Firewood · Kiln-dried oak splits, bulk boxBest for: A season of fires in a standard fireplace
  • Kiln-dried hardwood, ready to burn
  • Fireplace-length 16-inch logs
  • Pest-free certification claim
$$$$ Buy Now →Check current price
Green Mountain Firewood 8-Log Bundle
Green Mountain Firewood 8-Log BundleBest Low-Moisture Log Bundle · Low-moisture wood log bundleBest for: Occasional fires and small storage spaces
  • Very low stated moisture
  • Small box, easy to store
  • Fire starters included
$ Buy Now →Check current price
Eco-Stix Fatwood Kindling, 10 lb
Eco-Stix Fatwood Kindling, 10 lbBest Fatwood Kindling · Fatwood kindling sticks, 10 lb boxBest for: Lighting hardwood fires without paper or wax
  • All-natural resin kindling
  • Three sticks per fire, per directions
  • Refund on leftovers
$ Buy Now →Check current price
WoodHot WH Natural Fire Starters, 370+ pcs
WoodHot WH Natural Fire Starters, 370+ pcsBest Bulk Natural Fire Starter · Pine wood wool starters, 10 lb boxBest for: A full season of indoor fires
  • Bulk 10 lb supply
  • Wax-free, paraffin-free recipe
  • Indoor fireplace named in title
$$ Buy Now →Check current price
Rutland Safe Lite Fire Starter Squares
Rutland Safe Lite Fire Starter SquaresBest Fire Starter Cubes · Wood-based wax starter cubesBest for: Fireplaces and wood stoves on a budget
  • Set 10-minute burn
  • Long-time fireplace brand
  • Inexpensive per fire
$ Buy Now →Check current price
Better Wood Products Fatwood Firedrops, 8-Count
Better Wood Products Fatwood Firedrops, 8-CountBest Small Trial Pack · Fatwood sawdust fire startersBest for: Trying a natural starter before buying in bulk
  • 20-minute stated burn
  • All-wood recipe
  • Small, cheap pack
$ Buy Now →Check current price

Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.

1. Smoak Firewood Kiln-Dried Oak (16-inch, 120–140 lb): Best Overall Firewood

Smoak Firewood Kiln-Dried Oak (16-inch, 120–140 lb)

Smoak Firewood’s kiln-dried oak arrives as a single large box of 16-inch splits, packed into a carton the listing measures at 24 inches high by 18 by 18 inches and weighing 120 to 140 pounds. The title says a firestarter is included, so the first fire needs only a match and some kindling.

Kiln drying is the main selling point. Smoak says its premium oak “has been kiln dried to perfection, which reduces the moisture content,” so the wood starts easily and burns clean and hot. The listing doesn’t give a moisture percentage, so if you own a moisture meter, it’s worth checking a few splits when the box arrives. Oak is a dense hardwood, which generally means more heat and a longer burn per log than softwoods like pine.

Day to day, 16-inch logs are a common length for indoor fireplaces and many inserts, but measure your firebox before ordering. Smoak describes the wood as USDA Certified Pest-Free and “100% Organic containing NO chemicals,” and says that makes it suitable for storage indoors and outdoors. Keep any indoor stack small and well away from the hearth.

It suits homeowners who burn regularly through the winter and would rather have dry hardwood delivered than buy damp bundles at the store. Smoak is a family business founded in 2011 in Senoia, Georgia, and the listing says the wood is made in the USA.

Why we like it

  • Kiln-dried hardwood, ready to burn
  • Fireplace-length 16-inch logs
  • Pest-free certification claim

Watch out for

The listing never states a moisture percentage, and a box this heavy needs a plan for getting it from the porch to dry storage.

Key Specifications

TypeKiln-dried oak splits, bulk box
WoodKiln-dried oak (per listing)
Log length16 inches
Box24 x 18 x 18 in, 120–140 lb (listing); 125 lb in specs
IncludedFirestarter (per title)
Size18 x 18 x 24 in
Listed weight125 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
ModelKilnDriedBoxOak24x18x18
SellerSmoak Firewood
Best Sellers Rank#73,487 overall; #68 in Smoker Chips (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Kiln-dried hardwood at fireplace length is the core case. The title reads “Kiln Dried Premium Oak Firewood (Includes Firestarter),” and the bullets give “logs are 16inches long” in a box of “120-140lbs.” It is the only full-size firewood on this page; the Green Mountain bundle is a compact box, and the rest are starters.

Smoak says the oak “has been kiln dried to perfection, which reduces the moisture content,” so it can “start easily, burn clean and hot.” What’s missing is a number. Green Mountain states “Less than 4% moisture”; Smoak gives none, so a moisture meter check against the EPA’s 20 percent benchmark is worthwhile.

The seller is Smoak Firewood itself. Specs list 18 x 18 x 24 inches and 125 pounds, the heaviest pick by far. The warranty field is empty, and Amazon ranks it #73,487 overall and #68 in Smoker Chips, a category quirk for fireplace wood. It also carries a “USDA Certified Pest-Free” claim and is made in the USA, per the listing. It is the only pick in the top price tier.

Regular fireplace users who want ready-to-burn oak delivered should start here. Anyone who lights a fire only now and then, or has nowhere to keep 125 pounds of wood dry, will be better served by the Green Mountain bundle.

Pros

  • Kiln-dried oak, a dense hardwood
  • 16-inch logs suit most fireplaces
  • 120–140 lb box (125 lb listed)
  • Firestarter included, per title
  • Listed as USDA Certified Pest-Free
  • Sold by the brand, Smoak Firewood

Cons

  • Moisture percentage not stated
  • Most expensive pick here
  • Heaviest delivery: 125 lb listed
  • Warranty field empty: not stated
  • Ranked in Smoker Chips, #73,487 overall

Best for: A homeowner with a wood-burning fireplace who wants a large box of ready-to-burn hardwood delivered to the door.

Check Price on Amazon →

2. Green Mountain Firewood 8-Log Bundle: Best Low-Moisture Log Bundle

Green Mountain Firewood 8-Log Bundle

Green Mountain Firewood sells what the title calls an 8 log bundle, packed in a compact box that the listing measures at 11 by 10 by 5 inches and 18.5 pounds. The brand pitches it as an alternative to cord wood and common fire logs, and fatwood fire starters come in the box.

The listing’s ingredient claim is short: “Nothing but wood. No additives or binders.” It says the wood is pasteurized in process, free of bugs, fungus and mold, and has a natural wood aroma. The moisture claim is striking: “Less than 4% moisture,” well under the 20 percent mark the EPA gives for good burning wood. The listing doesn’t explain how the logs are made, so if you burn in an insert or stove, check its manual for guidance on manufactured or compressed fuels.

Day to day, Green Mountain describes building a two-hour fire and adding more to stretch the burn to two to five hours, and says it can go in any stove, fireplace, fire pit or barbecue. It claims a high heat output of 8,852 BTU per pound against 5,400 for oak, minimal smoke, under 0.5% ash and no popping or cracking. The listing also says it stores in a third of the space of cord wood.

It suits apartment-style fireplaces, weekend fires and anyone without room for a woodpile. The brand also says there is “no creosote build up,” but treat that as a marketing claim and keep your annual chimney inspection on the calendar.

Why we like it

  • Very low stated moisture
  • Small box, easy to store
  • Fire starters included

Watch out for

Several claims, including no creosote and higher BTU than oak, are the brand’s own; your chimney still needs a yearly inspection.

Key Specifications

TypeLow-moisture wood log bundle
MoistureLess than 4% (per listing)
Burn time2-hour fire, extend to 2–5 hours (per listing)
IncludedFatwood fire starters
Listed size / weight11 x 10 x 5 in / 18.5 lb
Size11 x 10 x 5 in
Listed weight18.5 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
Model43475; made by R.M. Industries
SellerGreen Mountain Fire Store
Best Sellers Rank#167,717 overall; #254 in Firewood Racks (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Moisture is the number that sets Green Mountain apart: “Less than 4% moisture,” the only percentage any listing here states. The bullets also promise “Nothing but wood. No additives or binders,” and “fatwood fire starters (included).”

Several claims are the brand’s own and deserve caution. It cites “High BTU output 8852 Btu/#1 (Oak 5400)” and says “Minimal smoke and no creosote build up, < .5% ash.” No wood fire is creosote-free in practice, so keep the annual inspection the NFPA recommends. The listing doesn’t say how the logs are made, which matters for insert owners, since the EPA advises checking the manual before burning manufactured logs.

Green Mountain Fire Store sells it, and R.M. Industries is listed as the manufacturer. The box is 11 x 10 x 5 inches and 18.5 pounds, and the brand says it “stores in 1/3 the space of cord wood.” Burn time is a “2 hour fire” extendable to “2-5 hour” total. The warranty field is empty, and its #167,717 overall rank is the weakest here.

Occasional burners, condo fireplaces and anyone short on storage should consider it. Owners heating with a fireplace most nights will get far more wood per box from Smoak’s oak.

Pros

  • Listing claims less than 4% moisture
  • “Nothing but wood,” no additives or binders, per listing
  • Fatwood fire starters included
  • 2–5 hour burn time claimed
  • Compact: 11 x 10 x 5 in, 18.5 lb

Cons

  • “No creosote build up” is a brand claim; still inspect yearly
  • Weakest rank here: #167,717 overall
  • Warranty field empty: not stated
  • How the logs are made isn’t described

Best for: Someone who lights an occasional fire and wants a small, tidy box of very dry fuel instead of a woodpile.

Check Price on Amazon →

3. Eco-Stix Fatwood Kindling, 10 lb: Best Fatwood Kindling

Eco-Stix Fatwood Kindling, 10 lb

Eco-Stix is fatwood: split sticks of pine heartwood that are naturally soaked with resin. EasyGo Products says it hand-chops the sticks from leftover stumps of pine trees and downed or damaged trees, and that the internal resin is what lets each stick light easily and burn long enough to catch the wood above it.

The listing calls the wood resin-rich Ocoee pine and says it contains “no petrochemical additives, no Methyl Bromide fumigation.” That matters for indoor fires, since the EPA’s Burn Wise guidance recommends only newspaper, dry kindling and all-natural or organic fire starters. This box is 10 pounds, and the brand says it also sells 10, 20, 25, 30, 40 and 50 pound boxes.

Using it is simple. The directions say to lay three or more sticks at the bottom of the fire, crisscrossed or overlapped, stack your wood on top and light the Eco-Stix. Because the sticks burn hot and fast, keep the fireplace screen closed and the damper open from the moment you strike the match.

It suits anyone who struggles to get a hardwood fire going and wants to skip wax cubes and crumpled newspaper. EasyGo says that if you aren’t satisfied, you can return the leftover wood within 30 days for a refund of the product cost.

Why we like it

  • All-natural resin kindling
  • Three sticks per fire, per directions
  • Refund on leftovers

Watch out for

Specs list no weight or size; the 10-pound figure comes from the title. Store it away from the hearth, since it lights so easily.

Key Specifications

TypeFatwood kindling sticks, 10 lb box
MaterialResin-rich pine fatwood (per listing)
Box10 lb (title); larger boxes offered
UseWood stove, fireplace, hearth, fire pit
Refund30 days on leftover wood (warranty field)
SizeNot stated in listing
Listed weightNot stated in listing
Warranty30 day refund.
ModelEGP-STIX-001-3; made by EasyGo Products
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#39,359 overall; #74 in Charcoal Starters (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Fatwood is a natural answer to the EPA’s advice to start fires with dry kindling or all-natural starters. Eco-Stix describes itself as “resin rich Ocoee Pine all natural Fatwood kindling” with “no petrochemical additives, no Methyl Bromide fumigation.”

Directions are specific: “Put Eco Stix at bottom with 3 or more, crisscrossed or overlapped. Put your wood on top and light.” Uses named include “wood stove, fireplace, hearth.” Compared with the WoodHot and Rutland starters, these are sticks of real wood that act as kindling themselves, so you need less separate kindling.

Amazon.com sells it, and the warranty field reads “30 day refund.,” matching a bullet that offers a refund on leftover wood within 30 days. Weight and size fields are empty; the 10-pound figure comes from the title. Amazon ranks it #39,359 overall and #74 in Charcoal Starters. Bigger boxes up to 50 pounds are offered.

Hardwood burners who struggle to get splits to catch will appreciate it. Anyone sensitive to the smell of burning pine resin may prefer the WoodHot starters, which the listing calls odorless.

Pros

  • Resin-rich pine fatwood, per listing
  • No petrochemical additives claimed
  • Listing names fireplace, wood stove and hearth
  • 30-day refund on leftover wood
  • Sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • Weight and size fields empty (10 lb per title)
  • Pine resin can add a smell some people notice
  • Ranked in Charcoal Starters, #39,359 overall
  • Not a fuel on its own

Best for: A fireplace owner who wants an all-natural kindling that catches fast and needs only a few sticks per fire.

Check Price on Amazon →

4. WoodHot WH Natural Fire Starters, 370+ pcs: Best Bulk Natural Fire Starter

WoodHot WH Natural Fire Starters, 370+ pcs

WoodHot’s WH fire starters are small bundles of pine wood wool, sometimes called tumbleweed starters, sold in a large box the listing puts at 10 pounds and more than 370 pieces. The title pitches the box for an indoor fireplace, and the bullets add wood stoves, chimneys, fire pits and grills.

Ingredients are listed plainly: pine wood wool with natural fatty and lauric acid, and “No Paraffin, No Wax, No Additives.” WoodHot says the starters are chemical-free and odorless. That lines up with the EPA’s advice to start indoor fires with dry kindling or all-natural or organic fire starters rather than gasoline, kerosene or charcoal starter fluid.

In use, you tuck one starter under a small pile of kindling, light it with a single touch of a match, and let it catch the kindling before adding splits. The listing says the starters are water-resistant and work without newspaper, but it doesn’t give a burn time per piece, so build the fire with small, dry kindling to be safe.

It suits people who burn often enough that a small box would run out by January. WoodHot describes itself as a family business making starters to European standards for over 20 years, and much of the copy is aimed at grilling, which doesn’t change how it works in a fireplace.

Why we like it

  • Bulk 10 lb supply
  • Wax-free, paraffin-free recipe
  • Indoor fireplace named in title

Watch out for

No burn time is listed, and the weight field reflects a single starter rather than the 10-pound box.

Key Specifications

TypePine wood wool starters, 10 lb box
MaterialPine wood wool, natural fatty and lauric acid (per listing)
Count370+ pieces, 10 lb box
UseFireplace, wood stove, chimney, fire pit, grill
Listed piece size1 x 1 x 2.4 in
Size1 x 1 x 2.4 in
Listed weight0.03 lb appears to be a single starter; the listing describes a 10 lb box.
WarrantyNot stated in listing
Model10 lb pack
SellerWOODHOT
Best Sellers Rank#2,736 overall; #13 in Charcoal Starters (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Quantity leads here: “370+ natural fire starters” in an “Extra Large 10 LB Box,” the biggest supply of individual starters on the page. The title is the only one that names an “Indoor Fireplace” outright.

The recipe is listed clearly: “pine wood wool with natural fatty and lauric acid — no paraffin or petroleum like cube starters.” That makes it the only wax-free manufactured starter here; Rutland’s cubes are described as “wood-based & wax.” WoodHot also calls it “chemical-free and smoke-free,” a strong claim worth reading as marketing.

WOODHOT, the brand’s own store, is the seller, and it ranks #2,736 overall and #13 in Charcoal Starters, second only to Rutland among our picks. Two fields need flags: the weight reads 0.03 pounds and the size 1 x 1 x 2.4 inches, which describe one starter, not the box. No per-piece burn time is stated, unlike Rutland’s 10 minutes and Better Wood’s 20, and the warranty field is empty.

Frequent burners who want a wax-free stockpile should shortlist it. Shoppers who light only a few fires a year will waste money on a 10-pound box and should look at Better Wood’s 8-count pack.

Pros

  • 370+ starters in a 10 lb box, per listing
  • Pine wood wool with fatty and lauric acid
  • No paraffin, wax or petroleum, per listing
  • Title names indoor fireplace use
  • Second-best rank here: #2,736 overall
  • Sold by the brand’s store, WOODHOT

Cons

  • Burn time per starter not stated
  • Weight field (0.03 lb) is per piece, not the box
  • Warranty field empty: not stated
  • Grill-focused copy throughout

Best for: A household that lights fires most evenings and wants a bulk supply of wax-free natural starters.

Check Price on Amazon →

5. Rutland Safe Lite Fire Starter Squares: Best Fire Starter Cubes

Rutland Safe Lite Fire Starter Squares

Rutland’s Safe Lite squares are compact fire starter cubes made from what the listing calls a natural wood-based and wax blend. Rutland says it was founded in 1883 in Vermont and describes itself as a manufacturer of products for fireplace, chimney and stove maintenance, and the cubes are made in the USA.

Each cube burns for 10 minutes, according to the listing, which is enough time for dry kindling to catch and start lighting the first splits. The bullets describe a 144-pack weighing 4.6 pounds, though the specs weight field reads 1 pound, so confirm the pack size on the product page before ordering.

Day to day, you set one or two cubes under kindling, light a corner and close the screen. Rutland says the cubes work with firewood, wood pellets, lump charcoal and sticks, and names indoor fireplaces, wood stoves and outdoor fire pits among their uses. They are described as odorless, which helps indoors where a burning starter would otherwise scent the room.

They suit budget-minded fireplace owners and anyone who wants a tidy cube that stores neatly in a drawer or tin. Keep the box well back from the hearth, like any fire starter, and never use cubes to revive a dying fire by tossing them onto hot coals.

Why we like it

  • Set 10-minute burn
  • Long-time fireplace brand
  • Inexpensive per fire

Watch out for

The pack size and weight fields don’t match the bullets, and these cubes do contain wax, unlike the wax-free WoodHot starters.

Key Specifications

TypeWood-based wax starter cubes
MaterialNatural wood-based and wax (per listing)
Burn time10 minutes per cube (per listing)
Pack144 cubes, 4.6 lb (per bullets)
Listed size3 x 7.13 x 9.13 in
Size3 x 7.13 x 9.13 in
Listed weight1 lb in the specs field, but the bullets describe a 144-pack weighing 4.6 lb.
Warranty12 month.
ModelRutland – 50B; made by Rutland
SellerRUTLAND
Best Sellers Rank#1,901 overall; #10 in Charcoal Starters (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Sales rank favors Rutland: #1,901 overall and #10 in Charcoal Starters, the strongest rank on this page. The brand says it was “Founded in 1883 in Vermont” and makes “products for fireplace, chimney, and stove maintenance.”

Each cube “burns for 10 minutes,” and the listing describes “a natural wood-based & wax fire starter” that suits “indoor fireplaces, wood stoves, and outdoor fire pit owners.” That’s half the stated burn of the Better Wood Firedrops, but a defined number, which the WoodHot listing doesn’t give.

Rutland sells it directly, and the warranty field reads “12 month.,” the only conventional warranty term among our picks. The fields don’t agree, though: specs list 1 pound, while the bullets say “Our 144-pack weighs 4.6 pounds,” and the title gives no count. The box is listed at 3 x 7.13 x 9.13 inches. Much of the copy is about charcoal grills, which is where its category rank comes from.

Budget-conscious fireplace and wood stove owners who want a known brand should pick it. Anyone avoiding wax should go with WoodHot or Eco-Stix, and it’s worth confirming the pack count on the page before checkout.

Pros

  • Best rank here: #1,901 overall
  • 10-minute burn per cube, per listing
  • Natural wood-based and wax cubes
  • Names indoor fireplaces and wood stoves
  • Warranty field: “12 month.”
  • Made in USA by a fireplace-care brand

Cons

  • Weight field (1 lb) conflicts with bullets (144-pack, 4.6 lb)
  • Pack count not in the title
  • Contains wax; not wax-free like WoodHot
  • Much of the copy is about charcoal grills

Best for: Someone who wants a dependable, inexpensive cube from a long-time fireplace and chimney brand.

Check Price on Amazon →

6. Better Wood Products Fatwood Firedrops, 8-Count: Best Small Trial Pack

Better Wood Products Fatwood Firedrops, 8-Count

Better Wood Products makes its Firedrops from the leftover, highly resinous sawdust produced when fatwood is cut. The sawdust is pressed into small drops, so each one carries the same pine resin that makes fatwood sticks light so easily, in a tidier shape that sits neatly under a pile of kindling.

The listing is brief, with three bullets. It describes the drops as safe and non-toxic with a long shelf life, says they burn hot for up to 20 minutes, and says they can be used in any indoor or outdoor fire, naming fireplaces, chimneys, wood and pellet stoves, fire pits and campfires. Twenty minutes is a long burn for a single starter, which gives slow-catching hardwood more time.

In practice, place one drop under a teepee or log-cabin stack of dry kindling, light it, and leave the screen closed while the kindling catches. The pack holds eight drops, so it lasts eight fires at one per fire. The box measures 6 by 3.13 by 5.75 inches in the listing and weighs a pound.

It suits people who light only a handful of fires each winter, or anyone who wants to try fatwood before committing to a big box of sticks. Keep the pack in a closed container away from the hearth between uses.

Why we like it

  • 20-minute stated burn
  • All-wood recipe
  • Small, cheap pack

Watch out for

Eight starters won’t last long if you burn often; a bulk box works out better for regular use.

Key Specifications

TypeFatwood sawdust fire starters
MaterialResinous fatwood sawdust (per listing)
Count8 starters
Burn timeUp to 20 minutes (per listing)
Listed size / weight6 x 3.13 x 5.75 in / 1 lb
Size6 x 3.13 x 5.75 in
Listed weight1 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
Model8808; made by BetterWood Products
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#146,975 overall; #440 in Fire Pits (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Twenty minutes is the headline: Better Wood says the Firedrops “Burns hot for up to 20 minutes,” the longest burn time stated by any starter here, double Rutland’s 10 minutes.

They are made from “leftover highly resinous sawdust waste” from fatwood production, so the fuel is pine resin rather than wax. The listing says they can be used “in any indoor our outdoor fire such as fireplaces, chimneys, wood & pellet stoves, fire pits and campfires,” and calls them “Safe, non-toxic” with “a long shelf life.”

Amazon.com sells it. The listing is thin, with three bullets and an empty warranty field, and the pack holds just 8 drops. The box is listed at 6 x 3.13 x 5.75 inches and 1 pound. It ranks #146,975 overall and #440 in Fire Pits, ahead of only Green Mountain among our picks.

Occasional fireplace users and anyone curious about fatwood starters can try it cheaply. Regular burners will run out within two weeks and should buy Eco-Stix sticks or WoodHot’s bulk box instead.

Pros

  • Burns hot for up to 20 minutes, per listing
  • Longest stated burn time here
  • Made from resinous fatwood sawdust
  • Names fireplaces, chimneys and wood stoves
  • Sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • Only 8 starters per pack
  • Warranty field empty: not stated
  • #146,975 overall, second-weakest rank here
  • Short listing with three bullets

Best for: An occasional fireplace user who wants a small, inexpensive pack of all-wood starters.

Check Price on Amazon →

How We Chose the Best Fireplace Wood and Starters

We kept to products for an indoor fireplace or insert that are in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store, then compared what each listing actually says:

  • Drying and moisture: kiln-dried, seasoned or a stated moisture percentage, quoted as written.
  • Ingredients: all-natural wood, fatwood or wax blends, and any additives the listing rules out.
  • Fit for the job: log length for a standard firebox, or burn time for a starter.
  • Exclusions: no pizza-oven mini logs, cooking or smoking splits, or chemical lighter products.
  • Seller, rank and gaps: who sells it, Amazon sales rank, and empty or contradictory fields.
A stack of split firewood

Fireplace Wood Buying Guide

Best Wood to Burn in a Fireplace: Dry, Split Hardwood

The EPA’s Burn Wise best practices say to burn only dry, split, well-seasoned wood, and that wood burns best at a moisture content of less than 20 percent. The EPA suggests testing wood with a moisture meter before you burn it, and notes that properly seasoned wood is darker, weighs less and sounds hollow when knocked against another piece. Kiln-dried wood such as the Smoak oak has been dried in a kiln rather than left to season outdoors, which is why it’s sold as ready to burn.

Hardwood vs. Softwood for Fireplace Burning

Dense hardwoods such as oak, hickory, ash and cherry are the usual choice for the main fuel because they burn longer per log. Softwoods such as pine catch fast, which is why resin-rich pine fatwood makes such good kindling. A practical approach is softwood or fatwood at the bottom to get the fire going, then hardwood splits on top for heat. Whatever you choose, dryness matters more than species.

Split hardwood logs ready for the fire

Best Smelling Wood for a Fireplace

Scent is mostly personal preference, and none of our listings makes a strong scent claim beyond Green Mountain’s “natural wood aroma.” Fruitwoods are popular for their smell, but much of what’s sold as cherry or apple online is cut short for smokers and pizza ovens, so check the length before ordering for a fireplace. Never add scented or treated materials to a fire to change the smell.

Best Wood Fireplace Inserts and Stoves: Check the Manual

If you burn in an insert or wood stove, its manual is the final word on fuel. The EPA notes that many wax and sawdust logs are made for open hearth fireplaces only and recommends checking your stove or insert instructions before using artificial logs; if you do use manufactured logs, it suggests ones made from 100 percent compressed sawdust. The EPA also says to keep the doors of a wood-burning appliance closed unless you’re loading or stoking the fire.

Branches and split kindling wood

What Never to Burn

The EPA lists materials that can release toxic chemicals or damage your appliance, including household trash and cardboard, coated, painted and pressure-treated wood, plywood, particle board or any wood with glue, ocean driftwood, and wet, rotted or moldy wood. That rules out old pallets, scrap lumber and wrapping paper. Start fires with newspaper, dry kindling or all-natural fire starters, never gasoline, kerosene or charcoal starter fluid.

How Much Firewood to Buy, and How to Store It

A full cord is a stack 4 by 4 by 8 feet, or 128 cubic feet. The Smoak box measures 24 by 18 by 18 inches, about 4.5 cubic feet, or roughly 3.5% of a cord by our math, so think of it as several weeks of evening fires rather than a winter’s heating. The EPA recommends storing wood outdoors, off the ground, with only the top covered, because covering the sides traps moisture. Bring in only what you’ll burn in a day or two, and keep it well back from the hearth.

A wood fire inside a stove or insert

Looking for the Best Wood for a Fireplace Mantel?

A mantel shelf is a building material, not fuel, so it’s outside this guide. Whatever you mount, local building codes and your fireplace maker set the clearance between the firebox opening and anything combustible above it, so check those before you install.

Chimney Safety, Creosote and Your Home Insurance

Every wood fire leaves creosote in the flue, and wet wood leaves more. The NFPA’s heating safety guidance says to have heating equipment and chimneys cleaned and inspected every year by a qualified professional, and the Chimney Safety Institute of America certifies chimney sweeps if you need to find one. Use a sturdy screen, keep curtains, furniture and books away from the fireplace, and keep a fire extinguisher handy.

  • Ashes: the EPA says to remove ashes into a covered metal container and store it outdoors on a nonflammable surface. Never put warm ashes in a paper bag or plastic bin.
  • Alarms: test smoke alarms and carbon monoxide alarms before the burning season, and make sure there’s one on every level of the home.
  • Doors and dampers: open the damper before lighting, and keep insert or stove doors closed while the fire burns.

A chimney fire can damage the flue, roof and nearby rooms, and the way your policy responds can depend on how the fire started and whether the chimney was maintained. Our Ohio homeowners insurance guide explains how dwelling and personal property coverage work, and if this is your first winter with a working fireplace, read our insurance tips for first-time Ohio homeowners.

A chimney on the roof of a house

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best wood to burn in a fireplace?

Dry, split hardwood such as oak is the usual choice for the main fuel. The EPA says wood burns best at a moisture content of less than 20 percent and recommends burning only dry, split, well-seasoned wood. Kiln-dried firewood like the Smoak oak is sold ready to burn.

Is kiln-dried firewood better than seasoned firewood?

Both can burn well if they are dry enough. Seasoned wood is air-dried, and the EPA suggests at least six months. Kiln-dried wood is dried in a kiln, which speeds the process. Either way, a moisture meter reading under 20 percent is the EPA’s benchmark.

What is the best fire starter for an indoor fireplace?

The EPA recommends newspaper, dry kindling or all-natural or organic fire starters, and never gasoline, kerosene or charcoal starter. Among our picks, Eco-Stix fatwood, WoodHot wood wool starters, Rutland cubes and Better Wood Firedrops all name fireplaces or wood stoves in their listings.

Can I burn softwood like pine in my fireplace?

Dry pine burns, and resin-rich pine fatwood is a common kindling. Hardwoods are usually preferred for the main fuel because they are denser. What matters most is that any wood is dry and untreated, and that the chimney is inspected and cleaned every year.

How do I prevent creosote buildup in my chimney?

Burn dry wood, build hot fires rather than smoldering ones, and have the chimney cleaned and inspected every year by a qualified professional, as the NFPA advises. Wet wood and slow, smoky fires leave more creosote behind.

The Bottom Line

For a winter of fires, Smoak Firewood’s kiln-dried oak is the best fireplace wood here: dense hardwood in fireplace-length 16-inch logs, sold by the brand. Green Mountain’s low-moisture bundle suits occasional fires and small spaces. To light it, Eco-Stix fatwood is a natural kindling, WoodHot offers a bulk wax-free supply, Rutland cubes are an inexpensive standby, and Better Wood Firedrops make a cheap trial pack. Pair any of them with an annual chimney inspection and a metal ash can.

Lighting the fireplace this winter and wondering how your policy handles a chimney fire? Call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or get a free coverage review.

Get a Free Quote from Jeff’s Portsmouth Office

Questions about your coverage? Call or email Jeff Smith’s State Farm agency — no-pressure quotes, local expertise, same-day response.