
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.
The best kitchen timer is the one you can read from the sink and hear from the next room. Phone timers work until your hands are covered in flour or the phone is upstairs, and an oven’s built-in beep only tracks one dish.
We compared six timers that were in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store: a rotary LED model, a pocket-size Taylor, a 3-inch-screen digital, a dual-countdown timer with a clock, a four-channel commercial unit and a wind-up dial that needs no battery. For each one we stick to what the listing states: display size, alarm volume, count-up support, magnets and stands, battery type, sales rank and the warranty field, and we flag the fields that are empty or look wrong.
All six landed under $50 when we checked, so the choice comes down to how you cook, not budget. A timer also earns its spot near the stove for safety. NFPA tells cooks to use one as a reminder that food is on, and we cover that below.
Our Top Kitchen Timer Picks at a Glance
| Product | Key features | Price | Action |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() AVINIA Rotary LED Digital Kitchen Timer (5661-2)Best Overall · Digital, rotary ring, LED displayBest for: Seniors, kids and anyone who wants big lit digits |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Taylor Digital Timer (582721)Best Basic Clip-On Timer · Digital, LCD, clip/magnet/standBest for: A small backup timer from a long-running kitchen brand |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() HOME MOST 3-Inch Large Display Kitchen Timer (1909)Best Large Display · Digital, 3-inch LCD, magnet/stand/hookBest for: Reading the countdown from across the room |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() TempPro TM02 Dual Digital Timer With ClockBest Dual Timer With Clock · Digital, two countdowns, clock modeBest for: Two dishes at once, plus a kitchen clock |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() FMP 4-Channel Commercial Kitchen Timer (151-7500)Best Multi-Channel Timer · Digital, 4 channels, wall or counterBest for: Big holiday meals and serious batch cooking |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Searon Magnetic Wind-Up Kitchen TimerBest Mechanical Wind-Up Timer · Mechanical dial, bell, magnetic backBest for: No batteries, no screens, no menus |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.
1. AVINIA Rotary LED Digital Kitchen Timer (5661-2): Best Overall
AVINIA’s 5661-2 is a black square timer with a bright LED face and a rotating outer ring. Instead of tapping minute and second buttons, you twist the ring to dial in a time, then press the single center button to start or stop. The listing calls it a “rotary timer” that works “whether we are elderly or kids,” and the timing range runs from 0 to 99 minutes, counting down or up.
Day to day, you stick it on the fridge or range hood with the magnets on its back, twist to the time on the recipe and walk away. The LED digits are lit rather than printed on gray LCD, and you can pick from three brightness settings: constant, dim or light off. When the timer sits idle, AVINIA says the display dims and then turns off after a few seconds to save power.
The alarm has three levels, from silent up to 90dB, and the brand says the loud setting can be heard in another room. Power comes from 3 AAA batteries, though the listing doesn’t say they are in the box. The listed size is 3.15 x 3.15 x 1.18 inches and the weight field reads 0.18 pounds. The warranty field reads “2 years,” while the bullets mention “a full-year quality guarantee,” so confirm the terms with the seller.
It suits cooks who want one dial and one button, older relatives who find tiny buttons fiddly, and households where kids use the same timer for homework or screen time.
Why we like it
- Twist-to-set ring
- Lit digits with a dim mode
- Strong magnets for the fridge
Watch out for
It runs one countdown at a time, and the warranty field and the bullets disagree on the guarantee length.
Key Specifications
| Type | Digital, rotary ring, LED display |
|---|---|
| Range | 0–99 minutes, count down or up |
| Display | LED, 3 brightness modes |
| Alarm (brand claim) | 3 levels, silent up to 90dB |
| Power | 3 AAA batteries |
| Size | 3.15 x 3.15 x 1.18 in |
| Listed weight | 0.18 pounds |
| Warranty | 2 years. |
| Model | 5661-2 |
| Seller | AVINIA Direct |
| Best Sellers Rank | #3,394 overall; #21 in Timers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Sales rank leads the case: #3,394 overall and #21 in Timers, the strongest rank among our six picks. The HOME MOST is next at #6,994 overall.
Setup is as simple as it gets. AVINIA says you adjust the time “only by twisting outer ring” and use “one touch button to just start/stop,” with a 0–99 minute range that counts down or up. The LED digits have “CONSTANT BRIGHTNESS MODE,” “DIM MODE” and “LIGHT OFF,” a lit display none of the LCD picks offer. The brand lists alarm levels “from silence up to 90dB.”
AVINIA Direct, the brand’s store, sells it. The specs list 3.15 x 3.15 x 1.18 inches and 0.18 pounds. Two gaps: it takes 3 AAA batteries with no mention of them being included, while the Taylor and HOME MOST include theirs, and the warranty field says “2 years” while a bullet promises “a full-year quality guarantee.” It also runs one countdown, where the TempPro runs two and the FMP four.
Older cooks, kids and anyone who wants a bright, one-button timer will get the most from it. Holiday hosts juggling several dishes should look at the FMP instead.
Pros
- Best sales rank here: #3,394 overall, #21 in Timers
- Twist the outer ring to set, one button to start or stop
- Lit LED digits with three brightness modes
- Three alarm levels from silent up to 90dB, per AVINIA
- Counts down and up, 0–99 minutes
- Sold by the brand’s AVINIA Direct store
Cons
- Warranty field says 2 years, but a bullet says a full-year guarantee
- Needs 3 AAA batteries; listing doesn’t say they are included
- Tops out at 99 minutes
- Single countdown only
Best for: Anyone who wants the simplest set-and-go timer with bright digits, including older cooks and kids learning to bake.
2. Taylor Digital Timer (582721): Best Basic Clip-On Timer
Taylor Precision Products has made kitchen thermometers and timers for a long time, and the 582721 is its plain white digital timer. The title spells out the range: it “displays up to 99 minutes, 59 seconds.” The listing says it can count up or count down, so it doubles as a stopwatch for rest times or proofing.
Its mounting options are the main reason to own one. Taylor says it mounts “with a clip magnet or stand,” so it can grip an apron pocket, stick to a fridge or stand on a counter. At a listed 2.6 x 2.1 x 1 inches and 0.11 pounds, it is small enough to carry from the kitchen to the backyard or the laundry room while a roast finishes.
The readout is 0.75 inches, which Taylor says can be read “from across the kitchen.” One AAA battery comes in the box. The model field reads 582721, and the warranty field reads “1-year parts and labor,” a stated term that several timers here lack. The listing doesn’t mention volume settings or a brightness option.
It suits cooks who want a second timer next to the oven’s built-in one, renters who need something small and inexpensive, and anyone who prefers a brand they already know. It is also an easy pick for a lunchbox, gym bag or desk drawer.
Why we like it
- Clip, magnet or stand
- Battery included
- Stated 1-year warranty
Watch out for
The 0.75-inch readout is the smallest here, so it is harder to read from across a big kitchen than the HOME MOST or AVINIA.
Key Specifications
| Type | Digital, LCD, clip/magnet/stand |
|---|---|
| Range | Up to 99 min 59 sec, count up or down |
| Readout | 0.75 in |
| Listed size | 2.6 x 2.1 x 1 in |
| Warranty field | 1-year parts and labor |
| Size | 2.6 x 2.1 x 1 in |
| Listed weight | 0.11 pounds |
| Warranty | 1-year parts and labor. |
| Model | 582721; made by Taylor Precision Products |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #13,845 overall; #93 in Timers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Amazon.com sells the Taylor 582721, the only pick here not sold through a brand storefront, and its warranty field gives a clear term: “1-year parts and labor.”
The feature list is short and practical. Taylor says it “can count up or count down,” displays “up to 99 minutes 59 seconds,” and “mounts with a clip magnet or stand.” One AAA battery is included. At a listed 2.6 x 2.1 x 1 inches and 0.11 pounds, it is the lightest timer on this page.
The trade-off is screen size. Its “0 75” readout,” which we read as 0.75 inch, is the smallest here; the HOME MOST lists 1.5-inch digits on a 3-inch screen. It ranks #13,845 overall and #93 in Timers, behind the AVINIA, HOME MOST and Searon. The listing doesn’t mention volume levels, so expect one alarm setting.
A cheap, light second timer is its job, especially for anyone who wants a clip for an apron. Shoppers with weaker eyesight or a big open kitchen should go for the HOME MOST or AVINIA.
Pros
- Only pick sold by Amazon.com
- Clip, magnet or stand mounting
- 1 AAA battery included
- Warranty field: 1-year parts and labor
- Lightest listed weight here: 0.11 lb
Cons
- Smallest readout here at 0.75 in
- Tops out at 99 minutes, 59 seconds
- Only five short bullets
- No volume control mentioned
Best for: Anyone who wants a cheap, pocket-size timer with a stated warranty that can clip to an apron or sit on the counter.
3. HOME MOST 3-Inch Large Display Kitchen Timer (1909): Best Large Display
HOME MOST built the 1909 around its screen. The listing gives a 3-inch LCD with 1.5-inch bold digits, and the three function buttons sit on the front bulge of the battery case so the display can take up more of the face. The finish is matte white.
Using it is a one-thumb job, according to the brand: the three large buttons are aligned on the front for “simple and reliable one-thumbed operation.” It counts down as a timer or up as a stopwatch, from 1 second to 99 minutes, with minutes shown larger than seconds. HOME MOST says its “ever-on” standby uses almost no power, so you don’t need to switch it off between uses.
There are three ways to place it. A magnetic back holds it on the fridge, a retractable stand props it on the counter, and a foldable hook lets you hang it on a wall hook or, as the title says, wear it “on a rope.” One AAA battery is included. The alarm is described as “loud & clear but not deafening.” The size, weight and warranty fields are empty, and the brand instead offers a 1-month trial period and “life-time customer service.”
It suits anyone whose eyes go to the timer from across a large kitchen, teachers and coaches who need a readable countdown, and people who dislike small, crowded button layouts.
Why we like it
- 3-inch screen
- Big front buttons
- Three ways to mount it
Watch out for
The listing leaves size, weight and warranty blank, and it describes the beep as clear rather than very loud.
Key Specifications
| Type | Digital, 3-inch LCD, magnet/stand/hook |
|---|---|
| Display | 3-inch LCD, 1.5-inch digits |
| Range | 1 sec to 99 min, count down or up |
| Mounting | Magnet, retractable stand, foldable hook |
| Power | 1 AAA battery (included) |
| Size | Not stated in listing |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | 1909; made by HOME MOST DESIGN HOUSE |
| Seller | HOME MOST Design House |
| Best Sellers Rank | #6,994 overall; #47 in Timers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Three inches of screen is the headline. HOME MOST lists a “Large LCD Display (3″ screen)” with “Big Digits (1.5″ bold fonts),” the largest stated display on this page.
Controls are built around that screen: “3 big no show function buttons” on the front bulge for “one-thumbed operation.” It counts down or up “from 1 second to 99 minutes,” and offers a magnetic back, a retractable stand and a foldable hook. One AAA battery is included.
The brand’s HOME MOST Design House store sells it, and it ranks #6,994 overall and #47 in Timers, second only to the AVINIA. The listing has gaps: size, weight and warranty fields are empty, and the color field reads like a stray piece of marketing copy. The brand calls the alarm “loud & clear but not deafening,” so it may not carry as far as the TempPro’s rated 105dB.
Big kitchens, classrooms and anyone who reads the timer from a distance are its best fit. Shoppers who want a second countdown should skip to the TempPro.
Pros
- Largest stated screen here: 3-inch LCD with 1.5-inch digits
- Three big front buttons for one-thumb use
- Magnet, retractable stand and foldable hook
- Counts down or up, 1 second to 99 minutes
- Second-best rank here: #6,994 overall, #47 in Timers
Cons
- Size, weight and warranty fields empty
- Brand calls the alarm loud “but not deafening”
- Color field reads like a stray fragment of marketing text
- Single countdown only
Best for: Cooks who want the biggest printed digits on the page and a simple three-button layout.
4. TempPro TM02 Dual Digital Timer With Clock: Best Dual Timer With Clock
TempPro’s TM02 is a silver, stainless-jacketed timer that does two jobs. As a timer it runs two separate countdowns at once, and when you aren’t timing anything it switches to a clock with 12- or 24-hour time and a month-date-year display.
In the kitchen, the two channels let you track pasta and garlic bread, or a roast and its resting time, without resetting between them. Each countdown can run up to 23 hours 59 minutes, which TempPro pitches for cooking, exercise, kids’ activities and meetings. An automatic memory restores the last time you set after a countdown ends, handy for a dish you make the same way every week.
TempPro lists four alarm settings: high, medium and low volume, which it rates at 70–105dB, plus a silent mode that the listing says “alerts you without making noise.” The 2.6-inch LCD has large digits, and you can stand it on the counter or stick it to the fridge with its built-in magnet. The listed size is 4.5 x 4 x 1.5 inches and the weight field reads 0.23 pounds. The warranty field reads only “0.”, which looks like a placeholder, so treat the warranty as not stated.
It suits cooks who often have two things going at once and want a timer that earns its counter space as a clock between meals.
Why we like it
- Two countdowns at once
- Four alarm settings, including silent
- Clock and date mode
Watch out for
The warranty field is a placeholder, and Amazon files it under Shower Clocks, so its timer ranking is not directly comparable.
Key Specifications
| Type | Digital, two countdowns, clock mode |
|---|---|
| Channels | 2 countdowns |
| Range | Up to 23 hr 59 min |
| Alarm (brand claim) | High/medium/low (70–105dB) plus silent |
| Display | 2.6-inch LCD |
| Size | 4.5 x 4 x 1.5 in |
| Listed weight | 0.23 pounds |
| Warranty | 0. |
| Model | TM02 |
| Seller | TempPro HOME |
| Best Sellers Rank | #15,467 overall; #2 in Shower Clocks (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Two countdowns at once set it apart from the single-channel picks: TempPro says you can “simultaneously set 2 alarms for separate events,” each up to 23 hours 59 minutes, the longest stated range here.
Volume control is the most detailed on the page. The listing gives “high/medium/low volume alarm (70-105DB)” plus a silent mode that “alerts you without making noise.” It switches to a 12/24-hour clock with month-date-year display, restores the last time with “Automatic Memory,” and stands on the counter or sticks to the fridge with a magnet. The 2.6-inch LCD is second in size to the HOME MOST.
TempPro HOME, the brand’s store, sells it. The specs list 4.5 x 4 x 1.5 inches and 0.23 pounds. Gaps: the warranty field reads only “0.”, a placeholder, the battery type isn’t stated, and Amazon ranks it #15,467 overall and #2 in Shower Clocks, a category quirk that makes it hard to compare with the Timers rankings.
Two-dish cooks and anyone who wants a counter clock will like it. Cooks timing four items at once should step up to the FMP.
Pros
- Two countdowns running at the same time
- Longest stated range here: up to 23 hours 59 minutes
- High, medium, low and silent alarm, 70–105dB per TempPro
- Switches to a 12/24-hour clock with date
- Stainless steel jacket, stand and magnet
Cons
- Warranty field reads only “0.”, a placeholder
- Ranked in Shower Clocks, not Timers
- #15,467 overall, among the weaker ranks here
- Listing doesn’t state the battery type
Best for: Home cooks who juggle two timed items, like a roast and a side, and want a clock on the counter when the timer is idle.
5. FMP 4-Channel Commercial Kitchen Timer (151-7500): Best Multi-Channel Timer
FMP makes equipment for restaurant kitchens, and the 151-7500 is a white, 7-inch-tall timer with four separate countdowns. The listing aims it at quick-service restaurants and cafeterias, but four channels are just as useful at home when a turkey, stuffing, rolls and pie all need watching.
Each channel has its own time-cycle button and a color-coded light, so you can tell at a glance which dish is due. FMP says the alarm is “unique” and “distinctive” for each cycle, and a high/low button sets the volume. Each countdown runs up to 10 hours and is adjustable by hour, minute and second, with memory recall for repeat times.
You can mount it on the wall or stand it on the counter with its non-skid legs. The keypad is water resistant, which matters near a sink, and a 9-volt battery is included. The listed size is 7 x 6 x 3.2 inches and the weight field reads 1.12 pounds. The display is a 3/4-inch LCD, and the warranty field is empty.
It suits big-batch cooks, holiday hosts, home canners and anyone running a smoker and an oven at the same time. If you only ever cook one dish at a time, it is more timer than you need.
Why we like it
- Four channels with their own lights
- Wall-mountable
- Water-resistant keypad
Watch out for
It is the largest and heaviest timer here, and the 3/4-inch digits are small for a unit this size.
Key Specifications
| Type | Digital, 4 channels, wall or counter |
|---|---|
| Channels | 4 countdowns with memory recall |
| Range | Up to 10 hours per channel |
| Listed size | 7 x 6 x 3.2 in |
| Power | 9V battery (included) |
| Size | 7 x 6 x 3.2 in |
| Listed weight | 1.12 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | 151-7500 |
| Seller | Fry Oil Saver Company |
| Best Sellers Rank | #15,726 overall; #170 in Commercial Food Preparation Equipment (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Four countdowns make the FMP the only true multi-channel timer here. The listing promises “4 countdown timers with convenient memory recall” and an alarm with “a unique, distinctive alarm for each time cycle.”
It is built for busy kitchens: “color-coded lights and time cycle buttons,” a “High /Low” volume button, a 10-hour countdown adjustable by hour, minute and second, and a “water-resistant keypad.” You can wall-mount it or stand it on “non skid legs,” and a 9-volt battery is included.
Fry Oil Saver Company sells it, and the manufacturer field reads FMP. The specs list 7 x 6 x 3.2 inches and 1.12 pounds, the heaviest pick, and Amazon ranks it #15,726 overall in a commercial food-prep category. The display is only “3/4″ LCD,” about the size of the Taylor’s readout, and the warranty field is empty. The TempPro’s single channel can run longer, up to 23 hours 59 minutes.
Holiday hosts, canners and batch cooks get the most from it. One-pot cooks will find the AVINIA or Taylor simpler and smaller.
Pros
- Only pick with four countdowns
- Distinct alarm for each channel, per the listing
- Color-coded lights and channel buttons
- Water-resistant keypad
- Wall mount or counter legs; 9V battery included
Cons
- Heaviest listed weight here: 1.12 lb
- Warranty field empty
- Display is 3/4 inch, small for a 7-inch unit
- Ranked in commercial food prep equipment; #15,726 overall
Best for: Cooks running several dishes at once, from Thanksgiving dinners to canning days, who have wall or counter space for a bigger unit.
6. Searon Magnetic Wind-Up Kitchen Timer: Best Mechanical Wind-Up Timer
Searon’s timer is the old-fashioned kind: a silver stainless steel dial you turn by hand, with a bell that rings when time is up. There are no batteries, apps or screens, and the listing says it “stays ready for daily kitchen use” because nothing needs charging.
Setting it takes one extra step. Searon says to turn the dial clockwise to 55–60 minutes first, then back to the time you want, “for accurate timing and a clear, loud ring.” After that it counts down on its own, and the magnetic back keeps it on the fridge or another cool, flat metal surface where you can see the dial.
The listed size is 1 x 2.68 x 2.68 inches and the weight field reads 0.23 pounds. Searon says the stainless steel body is built for busy kitchens, and the warranty field states a 2-year warranty from time of purchase, with the brand inviting buyers to contact it directly even after Amazon’s return window. The listing suggests uses beyond cooking, like watering plants and medication reminders.
It suits anyone who has been let down by a dead battery mid-bake, older cooks who prefer a dial they already understand, and kitchens where a simple, glanceable timer is enough.
Why we like it
- No battery to run down
- Turn-and-go dial
- Stated 2-year warranty
Watch out for
A mechanical bell has no volume setting and no second timer, and you need to wind it fully before each use.
Key Specifications
| Type | Mechanical dial, bell, magnetic back |
|---|---|
| Type | Mechanical wind-up, bell alarm |
| Power | None needed |
| Listed size | 1 x 2.68 x 2.68 in |
| Warranty field | 2 years from Searon |
| Size | 1 x 2.68 x 2.68 in |
| Listed weight | 0.23 pounds |
| Warranty | Searon warrants this wind up timer for a period of 2 years from time of purchase, please feel free to contact us directly for replacement or refund even though the amazon after-sales service window expires. |
| Model | Not stated in listing |
| Seller | SEARON-US |
| Best Sellers Rank | #7,664 overall; #51 in Timers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
No battery is the whole point. Searon lists a “mechanical wind-up design” that “works without charging, apps, screens, or replacement batteries,” and it is the only pick here that needs no power at all.
The bell and magnet cover the basics. The listing says the “built-in bell gives an audible alert,” and the magnetic back holds it to “cool, flat metal surfaces such as a refrigerator.” Searon asks you to turn the dial to 55–60 minutes first and then back to your time “for accurate timing and a clear, loud ring.”
SEARON-US, the brand’s store, sells it, and it ranks #7,664 overall and #51 in Timers, third behind the AVINIA and HOME MOST. The specs list 1 x 2.68 x 2.68 inches and 0.23 pounds. Its warranty field states 2 years from time of purchase, matching the AVINIA’s field and doubling the Taylor’s 1-year term. Gaps: no model number, no count-up, no seconds display and no volume setting.
Cooks who want a dial that always works will be happy with it. Anyone timing two dishes or needing a quieter alarm option should pick the TempPro.
Pros
- Only pick that needs no battery
- Mechanical bell alarm
- Magnetic back
- Stainless steel body, per Searon
- Warranty field: 2 years from Searon
- #7,664 overall, #51 in Timers
Cons
- No count-up or second channel
- Dial must be wound to 55–60 minutes before setting, per the listing
- No volume control
- Model field empty
Best for: Cooks who want a timer that always works without batteries, and anyone who finds digital buttons confusing.
How We Chose the Best Kitchen Timers
We started with Amazon listings for kitchen timers and kept only those in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store on the day we checked. We allowed one pick per brand and skipped outlet timers, which control appliances rather than time food. Then we compared:
- Display: screen or digit size, LED versus LCD, and brightness options, as listed.
- Alert: stated volume levels, silent modes and indicator lights.
- Timing range and channels: how long each countdown runs, count-up support and how many dishes it tracks at once.
- Placement: magnets, stands, clips, hooks and wall mounts.
- Power and listing evidence: battery type, sales rank, seller, size, weight and the warranty field, with empty or placeholder fields flagged.

Kitchen Timer Buying Guide
Best Digital Kitchen Timer: LED or LCD?
Most digital timers use a gray LCD with black digits, which is easy to read in a bright kitchen. The AVINIA uses lit LED digits with three brightness modes, which helps in dim light or for anyone who struggles with low-contrast screens. For sheer digit size, the HOME MOST lists a 3-inch screen with 1.5-inch digits, the largest stated here. The Taylor’s 0.75-inch readout is the smallest.
Best Mechanical Kitchen Timer
A wind-up timer never needs a battery, and there is nothing to program. The Searon is the only mechanical pick here, with a bell alarm and a magnetic back. The trade-off is precision and features: no count-up, no seconds display and one countdown at a time.

Best Loud Kitchen Timer
If you wander to the laundry room or the yard while dinner cooks, volume matters. TempPro rates the TM02 at 70–105dB across three volume levels, and AVINIA says its loudest setting reaches 90dB. Those are brand figures, not our measurements. If hearing is a concern for someone in your home, pair an audible alarm with a visual one: the AVINIA’s lit LED face, the FMP’s color-coded channel lights, or a timer kept in your line of sight.
Best Magnetic Kitchen Timer
Five of our six picks list a magnet: the AVINIA, Taylor, HOME MOST, TempPro and Searon. The FMP mounts on the wall or stands on non-skid legs instead. Searon specifies a cool, flat metal surface, which is good advice for any timer: don’t stick one to the side of a hot oven or right over a burner.

Best Multiple Timer for Cooking
One countdown is fine for eggs. For a holiday meal, you want more. The TempPro runs two countdowns and the FMP runs four, each with its own color-coded light and distinct alarm, per the listing. If you also need to know when the oven itself is accurate, our best oven thermometer guide covers dial and probe models, some with their own timers.
Battery Type and Count-Up
The Taylor and HOME MOST each run on one AAA battery, included; the AVINIA takes three AAA batteries; and the FMP takes a 9-volt, included. The TempPro listing doesn’t state its battery type. The AVINIA, Taylor and HOME MOST also count up, which is useful for timing how long dough has proofed or a steak has rested.
Use a Timer, Then Stay With the Stove
The U.S. Fire Administration says cooking is, by far, the leading cause of home fires and home fire injuries, and that the leading factor in nonconfined home cooking fires was unattended equipment. Its first message is simple: stand by your pan, and if you leave the kitchen, turn the burner off.
NFPA’s cooking safety tips say to stay in the kitchen while you are frying, grilling, boiling or broiling. If you are simmering, baking or roasting, NFPA says to check food regularly, remain in the kitchen while it cooks, and use a timer to remind you that you are cooking. A timer is a reminder, not a babysitter, so it works best alongside those habits.

NFPA also says to keep anything that can catch fire, such as oven mitts, wooden utensils, food packaging, towels or curtains, away from the stovetop, and to keep a lid nearby to smother a small grease fire. Make sure a working smoke alarm covers the kitchen area (see our best smoke detector guide) and that you know where your extinguisher is; our best fire extinguisher guide explains kitchen-rated options. If a fire grows, NFPA’s advice is to get out, close the door behind you and call 9-1-1.

Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best kitchen timer for most people?
The AVINIA 5661-2 is our top pick. It has the best sales rank among our picks, you set it by twisting a ring, and its lit LED digits have three brightness modes. If you want two or four countdowns, look at the TempPro TM02 or the FMP 151-7500.
What is the best loud kitchen timer?
TempPro rates the TM02 at 70–105dB across three volume levels, and AVINIA says its loudest setting reaches 90dB. Both are brand claims. The HOME MOST describes its beep as loud “but not deafening.”
Is a mechanical kitchen timer better than a digital one?
It depends on what you value. A wind-up timer like the Searon needs no battery and has no buttons to learn. Digital timers add count-up, larger digits, volume control and, on the TempPro and FMP, more than one countdown.
What is the best multiple timer for cooking?
The FMP 151-7500 runs four countdowns, each with its own color-coded light and alarm, per the listing. The TempPro TM02 runs two and doubles as a clock.
Can I leave the kitchen once the timer is set?
NFPA says to stay in the kitchen while frying, grilling, boiling or broiling. For simmering, baking or roasting, it says to check food regularly, remain in the kitchen and use a timer as a reminder. USFA adds: if you leave the kitchen, turn the burner off.
The Bottom Line
For most kitchens, the AVINIA 5661-2 is the best kitchen timer: twist to set, bright LED digits and the strongest sales rank here. The Taylor 582721 is the small, Amazon-sold backup, the HOME MOST has the biggest screen, the TempPro TM02 runs two countdowns and a clock, the FMP handles four dishes at once, and the Searon never needs a battery. Whichever you choose, let it remind you that food is cooking, and stay close to the stove.
Not sure how your policy would treat a kitchen fire? Ask your agent, review our Ohio homeowners insurance guide or renters insurance costs in Ohio, or call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 to schedule a free coverage review.
Keep reading
More kitchen gear guides
- Flip It, Fold It or Just Kneel: Best Garden Kneeler Seats and Foam Pads Compared
- Weeding, Roses or Rough Brush? Best Garden Gloves by Coating, Leather and Cuff
- Live Limbs or Dead Wood? The Best Loppers, From Geared Bypass to Telescoping Anvil
- Bypass, Anvil or Ratchet? Best Pruning Shears for Roses, Shrubs and Stiff Hands
- Clip It to the Page or Wear It Around Your Neck? The Best Book Light for Bedtime Readers
- Seven Inches or Twelve, One Piece or Six? The Best Wedge Pillow for Reading and Raised Rest
- Cold Line or Sink Hookup? Best Bidet Attachment Options for a Standard Two-Piece Toilet
- Memory Foam, Gel or a Tailbone Cutout? The Best Seat Cushion for Desk and Car
- Shut-Off Timers, Cord Reach and Moist Heat: Comparing the Best Heating Pad Choices














