
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.
A good motion light does two safety jobs. Outside, it floods a driveway or back door with light the moment someone walks up, which helps you see who is there and gives trespassers fewer shadows to use. Inside, a soft light that clicks on as you step into a dark hallway or onto the stairs can help prevent a trip or fall at night.
To find the best motion sensor light outdoor and indoor options, we compared seven listings across three power types: hardwired fixtures, solar lights and a screw-in motion bulb outside, plus a plug-in night light and rechargeable stair lights inside. We quote lumens, detection range and angle, timers, color temperature, IP ratings and certifications exactly as each listing states them, and flag what’s missing. All seven picks land in the budget price tier, so this guide is about matching the right type to the right spot, not about spending more.
Our Top Motion Sensor Light Outdoor and Indoor Picks at a Glance
| Product | Key features | Price | Action |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() LUTEC 72W 7500LM 3-Head Security LightBest Overall · Hardwired LED flood, 3 headsBest for: Bright, adjustable light over a driveway or yard |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() LEPOWER 40W 4000LM Hardwired Security LightBest Hardwired Light With ETL Certification · Hardwired LED flood, 2 headsBest for: Porches and side doors where range matters |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() GE LED+ Motion Sensor PAR38 Floodlight Bulbs (2 Pack)Best Motion Sensor Bulb · Screw-in LED bulb, E26 baseBest for: Adding motion sensing to an existing fixture |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() MIHANI 2500LM Solar Flood Lights (2 Pack)Best Solar Motion Sensor Flood Light · Solar, 3 heads, 2 packBest for: Lighting a yard or garage with no wiring |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Aootek Solar Motion Sensor Lights, 120 LEDs (6 Pack)Best Solar Step and Path Lights · Solar wall lights, 6 packBest for: Steps, paths and fence lines |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Lyridz Plug-In Night Light with 360° Motion Sensor (2 Pack)Best Plug-In Night Light for Hallways · Plug-in LED night light, 2 packBest for: Hallways, bathrooms and stair landings |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() GOODEA Rechargeable Motion Sensor Night Lights (4 Pack)Best Rechargeable Stair Lights · Rechargeable, magnetic, 4 packBest for: Stairs and spots with no outlet |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.
1. LUTEC 72W 7500LM 3-Head Security Light: Best Overall
LUTEC’s 72-watt security light is a three-head LED floodlight with a motion sensor, built for garages, yards, porches and driveways. LUTEC rates it at 7,500 lumens of 5000K daylight-white light and compares that to a 720-watt incandescent bulb, while claiming it can cut the electricity bill by up to 88%.
In daily use, the sensor watches a 180-degree arc and LUTEC says it detects motion from 0 to 69 feet away. You set the timer to keep the light on for 1, 3 or 10 minutes after motion stops. Four modes cover different needs: Test, Security, Dusk to Dawn and Manual Override, which keeps the light on for a set period. The listing says the light deactivates during daylight hours.
The heads rotate so you can aim light at a driveway on one side and a walkway on the other. The housing is aluminum, rated IP65 for outdoor weather, and LUTEC gives a 50,000-hour LED lifespan. The listing doesn’t describe a battery, solar panel or plug, so plan on wiring it into an outdoor junction box, and it doesn’t name a UL or ETL certification.
It suits homeowners who want to swap an old porch or garage floodlight for something much brighter with a proper dusk-to-dawn mode. If you are not comfortable working with household wiring, hire a licensed electrician to install it.
Why we like it
- 7,500 lumens across three heads
- Dusk to Dawn and Manual Override modes
- 3-year warranty field
Watch out for
It needs a wired installation, and the listing doesn’t say whether it carries a UL or ETL listing.
Key Specifications
| Type | Hardwired LED flood, 3 heads |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 72W, 7,500 lumens, 5000K daylight |
| Detection | 180°, up to 69 ft |
| Timer / modes | 1, 3 or 10 min; Test, Security, Dusk to Dawn, Manual Override |
| Weather | IP65, aluminum housing |
| Size | 12.99 x 8.07 x 5.12 in |
| Listed weight | 2.44 pounds |
| Warranty | 3 years. |
| Model | 76328010xx |
| Seller | LUTEC |
| Best Sellers Rank | #1,977 overall; #15 in Flood & Security Lights (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Raw brightness wins this one. LUTEC lists “72W, 7500 Lumens, 5000K brightness (daylight white),” the most light on the page and nearly double the LEPOWER’s 4,000 lumens.
The sensor covers “180 degrees” and “detects motion up to 0ft-69ft away,” and “The adjustable timer can be set for 1, 3 or 10 minutes.” It is also the only pick listing “4 LIGHTING MODES: Test Mode, Security Mode, Dusk to Dawn Mode and Manual Override Mode.” The housing is “Aluminum material, IP65 waterproof,” and the warranty field reads “3 years,” second only to GE’s 5. LUTEC sells it, and it ranks #1,977 overall and #15 in Flood & Security Lights.
A few caveats apply. At 2.44 pounds it is the heaviest pick. It reaches 69 feet, slightly short of LEPOWER’s 72, with no sensitivity switch. The listing names no UL or ETL certification and gives no wiring instructions; with no battery, solar panel or plug listed, expect to wire it in.
Homeowners replacing a garage or driveway floodlight, who want a real dusk-to-dawn option, should start here. Renters, or anyone without an outdoor junction box, should look at the GE bulb or a solar light.
Pros
- Brightest here: 7,500 lumens, per listing
- 180° sensing angle, detection up to 69 ft
- Timer of 1, 3 or 10 minutes
- Four modes, including Dusk to Dawn
- Warranty field: “3 years”
- Sold by LUTEC, the brand’s store
Cons
- Heaviest listed weight here: 2.44 lb
- Needs wiring; listing gives no wiring details
- UL or ETL listing not stated
- 5000K daylight only
Best for: A homeowner replacing an outdoor fixture who wants very bright, adjustable light and a dusk-to-dawn option.
2. LEPOWER 40W 4000LM Hardwired Security Light: Best Hardwired Light With ETL Certification
LEPOWER’s hardwired security light has two LED heads and a separate motion-sensor head, rated at 4,000 lumens on 40 watts. LEPOWER says an optical filter lens gives better illumination, and the light is sold for porches, back yards, front doors, garages, driveways and walkways.
The PIR sensor responds to moving people, cars or animals across a 180-degree angle and up to 72 feet away, per the listing. What sets it apart in daily use is the sensitivity switch: you can shorten the sensing range to 10, 20 or 50 feet, or leave it at 72, so a passing car on the street or a swaying bush is less likely to set it off. Once triggered, the light stays on for 1, 5 or 10 minutes.
The housing is aluminum, which LEPOWER says dissipates heat well, and it is rated IP65 against rainstorms, sleet and snow, with a stated 50,000-hour lifespan. The listing says it is ETL certificated, and it mounts to a wall by following a few simple wiring steps. The specs list it at 1.59 pounds, and the warranty field reads 12-month.
It suits homeowners who want a smaller, certified fixture over a side door or porch where false alarms from street traffic are a nuisance. As with any hardwired light, turn the power off at the breaker first, or have an electrician install it.
Why we like it
- ETL certification stated
- Adjustable sensing range
- 72-foot maximum detection
Watch out for
The warranty field is 12 months, and the listing gives no color temperature or dusk-to-dawn mode.
Key Specifications
| Type | Hardwired LED flood, 2 heads |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 40W, 4,000 lumens |
| Detection | 180°, up to 72 ft; sensitivity 10/20/50/72 ft |
| Timer | 1, 5 or 10 minutes |
| Build | Aluminum, IP65, ETL certificated (per listing) |
| Size | 10.12 x 4.51 x 7.55 in |
| Listed weight | 1.59 pounds |
| Warranty | 12-month. |
| Model | YY01A-WH |
| Seller | LePower |
| Best Sellers Rank | #4,633 overall; #36 in Flood & Security Lights (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Certification is the deciding detail. LEPOWER’s listing says “ETL certificated, it brings extra safety to your home,” the only outdoor pick here that states a safety listing.
It is also the most adjustable sensor. LEPOWER lists “up to 72 feet sensing range at 180° detection angle,” the longest on the page, plus a switch to set “the sensing range of 10, 20, 50, 72ft.” The lighting time is “1mins, 5mins or 10mins,” and the body is aluminum and “IP65 waterproof.” At 4,000 lumens and 1.59 pounds, it is smaller and lighter than the LUTEC. LePower is the seller.
Downsides are modest but real. The warranty field reads “12-month,” shorter than LUTEC’s 3 years or GE’s 5. No color temperature or dusk-to-dawn mode is listed, and it ranks #4,633 overall, the weakest of the outdoor picks.
Anyone who wants a certified fixture over a porch or side door, and needs to tune out street traffic, will like it. If you want maximum brightness or a dusk-to-dawn setting, the LUTEC fits better.
Pros
- Only outdoor pick stating ETL certification
- Longest stated range: up to 72 ft, 180° angle
- Sensitivity switch: 10, 20, 50 or 72 ft
- Timer of 1, 5 or 10 minutes
- IP65, aluminum housing
- Sold by LePower, the brand’s store
Cons
- Warranty field: “12-month,” shorter than LUTEC or GE
- Weakest outdoor rank here: #4,633 overall
- Color temperature not stated
- Dusk-to-dawn mode not described
Best for: A homeowner who wants a certified hardwired light with adjustable sensitivity to cut false triggers.
3. GE LED+ Motion Sensor PAR38 Floodlight Bulbs (2 Pack): Best Motion Sensor Bulb
GE’s LED+ Motion Sensor bulbs put the sensor inside the bulb. Each PAR38 floodlight bulb screws into a fixture with an E26 medium base, and the box holds two. Once the power is on, GE says the light turns on automatically when motion is detected at night, with no app, hub or Wi-Fi needed.
That makes it the simplest upgrade for an existing porch, garage or eave fixture. The sensor has a 90-degree viewing angle and detects motion within 24 feet, per the listing, and the bulb turns off again when no motion is detected. To disable motion sensing temporarily, you switch the light off and on twice within three seconds; switching off for three seconds turns sensing back on.
Each bulb uses 15 watts and is described as equivalent to a 90-watt bulb, in a warm white color. GE says it is wet-rated and weather-resistant for outdoor use, and claims up to 13.7 years of life and up to $124 in energy savings over the bulb’s lifespan, by GE’s figures. The warranty field reads 5 years. The listing doesn’t state lumens or a kelvin value, and its size field is clearly a placeholder.
It suits renters who can’t replace fixtures, and anyone who wants motion lighting at the back door without hiring an electrician. Make sure your fixture is suitable for an outdoor PAR38 bulb before you buy.
Why we like it
- Screw in and go
- Five-year warranty field
- Warm white light
Watch out for
Detection reaches only 24 feet at 90 degrees, and the listing gives no lumen figure.
Key Specifications
| Type | Screw-in LED bulb, E26 base |
|---|---|
| Type | PAR38 LED floodlight bulb, E26 base |
| Power | 15W (90W equivalent) |
| Detection | 90°, up to 24 ft |
| Rating | Wet-rated, weather-resistant |
| Size | 1.03 x 0.01 x 1.05 in |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | 5 years. |
| Model | 93129135; made by GE Lighting |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #1,526 overall; #142 in LED Bulbs (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
No tools, no wiring and no app: GE says to “Screw GE LED+ Motion Sensor light bulb into a fixture that fits an E26 medium base and turn on the power,” with “no app, hub or Wi-Fi needed!”
Each bulb is “equivalent to a 90-watt bulb but only consumes 15 watts,” and GE calls it “wet-rated and weather-resistant for outdoor use.” The warranty field reads “5 years,” the longest here, and Amazon.com is the seller. It ranks #1,526 overall and #142 in LED Bulbs. GE also explains a quick override: switch the light off and on twice within three seconds.
Coverage is the weak point. The sensor has “a 90-degree viewing angle” and detects “within 24 feet,” the shortest outdoor reach on the page. The listing gives no lumen or kelvin figure beyond “Warm White,” no timer or sensitivity setting, and a size field of 1.03 x 0.01 x 1.05 inches that is clearly a placeholder.
Renters and anyone with a sound porch or eave fixture should consider it the easiest upgrade here. For a wide driveway, a dedicated flood light reaches much farther.
Pros
- No wiring: screws into an E26 medium-base fixture
- Longest warranty field here: “5 years”
- No app, hub or Wi-Fi needed
- Wet-rated for outdoor use
- 15W, equivalent to a 90W bulb
- Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- Shortest outdoor range: 24 ft, 90° view
- Lumens and kelvin not stated
- Listed size is clearly wrong: not stated
- No adjustable timer or sensitivity described
Best for: A renter or homeowner who wants motion lighting from a fixture they already have, with no tools.
4. MIHANI 2500LM Solar Flood Lights (2 Pack): Best Solar Motion Sensor Flood Light
MIHANI’s solar flood lights come as a pair, each with three adjustable heads and a tempered glass solar panel. MIHANI rates them at 2,500 lumens of 6500K cool white light and says the three heads spread light across a 270-degree area.
Daily use is set-and-forget. The panel charges during the day, and MIHANI claims a 30% conversion rate, higher than standard plastic panels. At night, the PIR sensor watches a 180-degree range up to 30 feet. You choose one of three modes with a button: Bright Light (full brightness only on motion), Permanent On (on all night) or Smart Brightness (a soft glow that brightens on motion).
The body is high-strength ABS plastic, and both the light and its mode button cover are rated IP65 against rain, sleet, snow and extreme temperatures. The pack includes two sets of screws and expansion anchors, and MIHANI says installation takes minutes without professional help. The specs list 2.05 pounds, and the warranty field reads 1 year. The listing doesn’t give battery capacity or a runtime figure.
It suits homeowners and renters lighting a detached garage, shed, fence line or patio where running wire isn’t practical. Mount the panel where it gets direct sun during the day.
Why we like it
- No wiring needed
- Three modes, including all-night
- Two lights per pack
Watch out for
Range is 30 feet, and the listing doesn’t say how long the lights run on a full charge.
Key Specifications
| Type | Solar, 3 heads, 2 pack |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 2,500 lumens, 6500K cool white |
| Detection | PIR, 180°, up to 30 ft |
| Modes | Bright on motion, Permanent On, Smart Brightness |
| Weather | IP65 |
| Size | 6.1 x 7.1 x 7.6 in |
| Listed weight | 2.05 pounds |
| Warranty | 1 year warranty. |
| Model | 232N |
| Seller | Mihani-US |
| Best Sellers Rank | #297 overall; #1 in Deck Lights (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Shoppers buy this pair more than anything else on the page: #297 overall and #1 in Deck Lights. Mihani-US, the brand’s storefront, is the seller.
MIHANI lists “2500 lumens of 6500K cool white light,” “3 adjustable lamp heads” for “270° wide-angle illumination,” and a PIR sensor that “detects movement within a 180° range up to 30 feet.” It offers “3 Smart Lighting Modes,” including “Permanent On Mode (stays on all night),” and an “IP65 waterproof rating” with a covered mode button. You get two lights, and the warranty field reads “1 year.”
Solar has limits. Thirty feet is less than half the reach of the LUTEC or LEPOWER. MIHANI promises “extended illumination time” but gives no hours or battery capacity, and no timer length is listed. At 6500K, the light is the coolest color temperature stated here.
Homeowners lighting a shed, fence line or detached garage without power should look here first. For a long driveway, a hardwired fixture reaches farther.
Pros
- Best rank here: #297 overall, #1 in Deck Lights
- 2,500 lumens, 6500K, per listing
- 270° light from three adjustable heads
- Three modes, including all-night
- IP65, with a covered mode button
- Two lights per pack, screws and anchors included
Cons
- Shorter range than the hardwired picks: 30 ft
- Runtime and battery capacity not stated
- No timer setting described
- Warranty field: “1 year”
Best for: A homeowner who wants bright light over a shed, fence or garage where there is no power.
5. Aootek Solar Motion Sensor Lights, 120 LEDs (6 Pack): Best Solar Step and Path Lights
Aootek’s solar motion lights are small wall-mounted units with 120 LEDs each, sold here as a six pack. Aootek pitches them as outdoor step lights and security night lights for steps, patios, gardens, porches, lawns, pathways and gutters.
Each light charges from a 1.2-watt monocrystalline panel, which Aootek says reaches up to a 20.5% conversion rate, and stores power in a rechargeable lithium-ion battery. The PIR sensor detects people up to 26 feet away within a 120-degree angle. In Motion Sensor mode the light stays dark until it senses movement, then shines bright for 15 seconds. Permanent On mode glows at 10% brightness for 8 hours, and Smart Brightness mode stays dim all night and brightens for 15 seconds on motion.
The lights are rated IP65 and described as heatproof. Each unit measures 4.13 by 2.75 inches, per the listing, and mounts with one screw and a wall plug. Aootek recommends charging in direct sunlight for 6 to 8 hours before first use and keeping the panel clean. The listing doesn’t give a lumen figure or color temperature beyond bright white.
It suits anyone who wants to light the edges of outdoor steps, a garden path or a side yard in several places at once, so nobody misses a step after dark.
Why we like it
- Six lights for wide coverage
- Dim-glow mode for paths
- Top-ranked in Step Lights
Watch out for
The listing gives no brightness figure, and the 15-second on-time is short for slow walkers.
Key Specifications
| Type | Solar wall lights, 6 pack |
|---|---|
| Power | Solar, 1.2W panel, rechargeable lithium-ion battery |
| Detection | PIR, 120°, up to 26 ft |
| Modes | Motion, Permanent On (10% for 8 hrs), Smart Brightness |
| Size | 4.13 x 2.75 in each, per listing |
| Size | 5.1 x 2.11 x 3.5 in |
| Listed weight | 1.83 pounds |
| Warranty | 1 year. |
| Model | AK06 |
| Seller | Aootek-US |
| Best Sellers Rank | #344 overall; #1 in Step Lights (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Six lights in one box makes this the coverage pick for steps and paths. Aootek’s pack ranks #1 in Step Lights and #344 overall, and Aootek-US, the brand’s store, is the seller.
The listing describes three modes: motion-only, where lights “stay on at high brightness for 15 seconds,” a “Permanent On Mode” at “10% brightness for 8 hours,” and a “Smart Brightness Control Mode” that stays slightly bright and boosts on motion. The sensor “detects people up to 26 feet within angle of 120” degrees, and each unit is “Waterproof IP65.” The warranty field reads “1 year,” and the specs list 1.83 pounds for the pack.
Brightness is the unknown: no lumen or kelvin figure appears, unlike MIHANI’s 2,500 lumens. The 15-second on-time is fixed and the shortest stated on-time here, and Aootek advises charging “in direct sunlight for 6–8 hours before use.”
Families with exterior steps, garden paths or a dark side yard will get the most from several small lights. If you need one bright light over a garage, choose the MIHANI or a hardwired flood.
Pros
- Six lights per pack
- #1 in Step Lights, #344 overall
- PIR range up to 26 ft at 120°
- Three modes, including a 10% glow for 8 hours
- IP65 waterproof
- Warranty field: “1 year”
Cons
- Lumens and color temperature not stated
- On-time after motion fixed at 15 seconds
- Needs 6–8 hours of direct sun before first use
- Drilling required for each light
Best for: A homeowner who wants several small lights along steps, a path or a fence without wiring.
6. Lyridz Plug-In Night Light with 360° Motion Sensor (2 Pack): Best Plug-In Night Light for Hallways
Lyridz’s plug-in night light is a small cylinder that plugs into a wall outlet and turns on when it detects movement in the dark. It comes as a two pack and is sold for bathrooms, bedrooms, hallways, stairs and pet areas.
The sensor covers 360 degrees and up to 23 feet, per the listing, so it can catch you coming from either direction down a hallway. Light shines both up and down: the top half lights farther, and the bottom half lights the floor right in front of your feet. You can pick a 60-second or 120-second auto-off, and the light also switches off by itself during the day or when the room is bright enough.
Brightness is adjustable. A short press steps through five levels, and a long press dims smoothly between 1 and 150 lumens. Lyridz says it remembers your last setting as long as it stays plugged in. At 1.77 by 2.56 by 3.62 inches, it is sized to leave the second outlet free, and the warranty field reads 1 year manufacturer.
It suits older adults, parents checking on kids and anyone who walks to the bathroom at night. A low setting keeps the path visible without glare that wakes you fully.
Why we like it
- 360° detection
- Dimmable 1–150 lumens
- Lights the floor ahead of you
Watch out for
It needs an outlet where you want light, and it has the weakest sales rank of our picks.
Key Specifications
| Type | Plug-in LED night light, 2 pack |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 1–150 lumens, dimmable |
| Detection | 360°, up to 23 ft |
| Auto-off | 60 or 120 seconds |
| Size | 1.77 x 2.56 x 3.62 in |
| Size | 2.56 x 3.62 x 1.77 in |
| Listed weight | 0.13 pounds |
| Warranty | 1 year manufacturer. |
| Model | A5103-2R; made by Dongguan Nuomi Innovation Technology Co., Ltd |
| Seller | LyridzHK |
| Best Sellers Rank | #11,680 overall; #205 in Night Lights (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Hallways are where the Lyridz shines. Its “Sensing range after upgraded: 23 feet, 360°” is the widest detection angle on the page, so it catches you from either end.
Lyridz lists “5-step dimming” and “step-less dimming within 1-150 lm,” the only indoor pick with a stated lumen range, and “Dual Light Sources” so “the lower half more clearly illuminates the path beneath your feet.” It shuts off after “60 seconds/120 seconds” with no motion, and the listing says it “can leave the 2nd outlet free.” The warranty field reads “1 year manufacturer.”
Rank is the soft spot: #11,680 overall, the weakest of our picks. It needs an outlet near the spot you want lit. The seller is LyridzHK, a brand-named storefront rather than Amazon.com, and the manufacturer field names Dongguan Nuomi Innovation Technology.
Older adults, families with young children and anyone who walks to the bathroom at night will find it useful. For stairs with no outlet, the GOODEA lights fit better.
Pros
- Widest detection here: 360°, up to 23 ft
- Dimmable from 1 to 150 lumens
- Lights up and down to show the floor
- Auto-off after 60 or 120 seconds
- Leaves the second outlet free, per listing
- Warranty field: “1 year manufacturer”
Cons
- Weakest rank here: #11,680 overall
- Needs an outlet near the spot you want lit
- Kelvin not stated (color field: warm white)
- Sold by LyridzHK, a brand-named seller rather than Amazon.com
Best for: Anyone who gets up at night and wants a hallway or bathroom path lit without touching a switch.
7. GOODEA Rechargeable Motion Sensor Night Lights (4 Pack): Best Rechargeable Stair Lights
GOODEA’s stair lights are slim, rechargeable motion night lights sold in a pack of four. Each one sticks to the wall with an included magnetic sticker, so you can put light exactly where you need it on a staircase or in a hallway without an outlet.
They switch on only when the sensor detects movement in low light and stay off when the room is bright. A built-in battery lasts 35 to 70 days per charge with 10 to 15 activations a day, per the listing. Each light comes with a 2-in-1 charging cable and charges fully in about two hours; a red indicator means charging and green means ready. Because the light lifts off its magnetic mount, recharging doesn’t mean unscrewing anything.
GOODEA describes a layered anti-glare design that is comfortable even when you look straight at it, with three brightness levels to choose from. It quotes power use of 0.7 kWh per 1,000 hours. The specs list each light at 4.49 by 0.55 by 2.76 inches and 0.15 pounds, and the warranty field reads 1 year. The listing doesn’t state lumens, detection range or how long the light stays on.
It suits homes with stairs that lack outlets, and anyone who wants a few lights along a hallway, closet or bathroom route without cords.
Why we like it
- Four lights, no outlet needed
- Magnetic, tool-free mounting
- Anti-glare design
Watch out for
Expect to recharge them every few weeks, and the listing doesn’t give lumens or sensing range.
Key Specifications
| Type | Rechargeable, magnetic, 4 pack |
|---|---|
| Power | Built-in rechargeable battery, 2-hour charge |
| Runtime | 35–70 days (10–15 activations a day) |
| Mounting | Magnetic stickers, tool-free |
| Brightness | 3 levels; lumens not stated |
| Size | 4.49 x 0.55 x 2.76 in |
| Listed weight | 0.15 pounds |
| Warranty | 1 year manufacture. |
| Model | GDNL004; made by Goodea |
| Seller | GoodeaDirect US |
| Best Sellers Rank | #3,891 overall; #72 in Night Lights (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Stairs rarely have outlets, which is why GOODEA’s rechargeable lights stand out. The listing promises “tool-free setup” with “magnetic stickers to place this motion sensor light indoor anywhere—no outlet needed.”
GOODEA lists a “built-in rechargeable battery providing 35-70 days of use (with 10-15 activations daily)” and “only 2 hours to full charge” with the included cable. The light “detects movement in low light only,” and offers “three brightness levels” with a “layered anti-glare design.” You get four lights, the warranty field reads “1 year,” and GoodeaDirect US sells it. It ranks #3,891 overall and #72 in Night Lights.
Several numbers are missing. There is no lumen figure, detection range or auto-off time, all of which the Lyridz states. Batteries also mean a recharge every several weeks.
Households with a dark staircase, a long hallway or a closet with no outlet should consider these. Where an outlet is handy, the Lyridz states its brightness and never needs charging.
Pros
- No outlet needed: magnetic stickers included
- Four lights per pack
- 35–70 days per charge (10–15 activations daily), per listing
- 2-hour charge with included 2-in-1 cable
- Three brightness levels, anti-glare design
- Warranty field: “1 year”
Cons
- Lumens and detection range not stated
- Auto-off time not stated
- Needs recharging every few weeks
- #3,891 overall, #72 in Night Lights
Best for: A household that wants gentle motion lights on the stairs or in a hallway with no outlet nearby.
How We Chose the Best Motion Sensor Lights
We compared each light’s Amazon listing, specs and sales rank and quoted only what the listings say:
- Power type: hardwired, solar, screw-in bulb, plug-in or rechargeable.
- Brightness and color: lumens and color temperature (kelvin) where listed.
- Detection: sensing range and angle, plus any sensitivity control.
- Timer and modes: how long the light stays on and whether there is a dusk-to-dawn or all-night mode.
- Weather and safety marks: IP ratings and UL or ETL only when the listing states them.
- Availability: every pick was in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store when we checked.

Motion Sensor Light Buying Guide
Best Motion Sensor Flood Light: Hardwired Brightness
Hardwired fixtures give the most light and never need charging. The LUTEC lists 7,500 lumens and the LEPOWER 4,000 lumens, and both list a 180° sensing angle with range up to 69 and 72 feet. They replace an existing outdoor fixture on a junction box. If you aren’t comfortable with household wiring, hire a licensed electrician. Only the LEPOWER listing states an ETL certification.
Best Solar Motion Sensor Light: No Wiring, Some Sun Needed
Solar lights mount anywhere the panel sees the sun. The MIHANI pair lists 2,500 lumens each and reaches 30 feet, while the Aootek six pack is built for steps and paths at up to 26 feet. Neither listing gives a runtime per charge, so expect less light after a run of cloudy days and keep the panels clean.

Best Motion Sensor Light Bulb for an Existing Fixture
A motion bulb like the GE LED+ screws into an E26 fixture and adds motion sensing without new wiring, which suits renters. The trade-off is reach: GE lists 24 feet at a 90° view, shorter than any of the fixtures or solar floods.
Lumens, Range, Timers and Dusk-to-Dawn Modes
Match brightness to the job: a driveway needs a bright flood, while a step only needs a glow. Range and angle decide what triggers the light. LEPOWER’s sensitivity switch (10, 20, 50 or 72 feet) helps avoid street-traffic triggers. Timers vary: LUTEC offers 1, 3 or 10 minutes, LEPOWER 1, 5 or 10 minutes, and the Aootek stays bright for 15 seconds. LUTEC lists a Dusk to Dawn mode, and the MIHANI and Aootek lights have all-night modes.
Color Temperature and Weather Ratings
Lower kelvin numbers look warmer. LUTEC lists 5000K daylight and MIHANI 6500K cool white, while GE and Lyridz are sold in warm white. The LUTEC, LEPOWER, MIHANI and Aootek lights list IP65, and GE describes its bulb as wet-rated. Check the rating before mounting a light where it will take direct rain.

Best Indoor Motion Sensor Light and Night Light for Stairs
Indoors, choose by power source. The Lyridz plugs into an outlet and senses 360°, which suits hallways and bathrooms. The GOODEA lights are rechargeable and stick on with magnets, which suits stairs without an outlet.

Lighting, Falls and Home Security
Good lighting is one of the simplest safety upgrades:
- Light the stairs and the path to the bathroom. The National Institute on Aging’s room-by-room fall prevention guide suggests motion-activated lights that plug into outlets to illuminate stairwells and pathways, and a night light that turns on automatically in the bathroom.
- Put light where cameras look. Motion lighting makes night clips easier to use. See our guides to the best outdoor security camera and the best video doorbell.
- Work safely with wiring. Turn off the breaker before swapping a fixture, follow the instructions, and call an electrician if you aren’t sure.
- Talk to your agent. Lighting and security devices won’t change every policy, so ask your agent. Our tips for first-time Ohio homeowners and Ohio homeowners insurance guide explain what to review.

Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best motion sensor light outdoor for most homes?
The LUTEC 72W security light is our overall pick: its listing gives 7,500 lumens, a 180° sensor reaching up to 69 feet, a 1, 3 or 10-minute timer, a Dusk to Dawn mode, IP65 and a 3-year warranty field. It needs a wired installation.
What is the best solar motion sensor light?
For bright yard lighting, the MIHANI pair lists 2,500 lumens each, three modes and IP65. For steps and paths, the Aootek six pack lists a 26-foot sensor and a dim all-night mode.
Do I need an electrician to install a motion sensor flood light?
Hardwired fixtures like the LUTEC and LEPOWER connect to household wiring. If you aren’t confident turning off the right breaker and making the connections, hire a licensed electrician. Solar lights, plug-in night lights and the GE screw-in bulb need no wiring.
What is the best indoor motion sensor light for stairs?
The GOODEA rechargeable lights stick on with magnets, so they work on stairs with no outlet. Where there is an outlet, the Lyridz plug-in light senses 360° up to 23 feet and dims from 1 to 150 lumens.
Do motion sensor night lights help prevent falls?
The National Institute on Aging suggests motion-activated plug-in lights for stairwells and pathways, and an automatic night light in the bathroom, as part of making a home safer against falls.
The Bottom Line
The LUTEC 72W is the best motion sensor light outdoor pick for most homes, with 7,500 lumens, a Dusk to Dawn mode and a 3-year warranty field. The LEPOWER is the certified, adjustable-range alternative, and the GE LED+ bulb adds motion sensing with no wiring at all. For spots without power, the MIHANI solar floods and Aootek step lights do the job. Indoors, the Lyridz night light covers hallways and bathrooms, and the GOODEA lights handle stairs with no outlet.
Wondering whether new lighting or security devices change anything on your homeowners policy? Call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or schedule a free coverage review.
Keep reading
More kitchen gear guides
- Keep the Fridge and CPAP Running: Best Portable Power Station Picks, 245 Wh to 2 kWh
- Brace, Track Bar or Bolt-On Plate? The Best Door Security Bar for Hinged and Sliding Doors
- Guest Codes, Thumbprints and Matter: The Best Smart Lock for a Front Door Deadbolt
- Best Heat Tape for Water Pipes, Plus the Insulation and Fire Rules to Follow
- Best Gutter Guard Picks by Debris Type: Leaves, Pine Needles and Roof Grit
- Twist-Lock, Splitter or Inlet Kit: The Best Generator Cord for a Safe Outage Hookup
- S.A.M.E. Alerts or a Crank Handle? The Best Weather Radio for Storms and Blackouts
- Bandages, Burn Gel and a Wall Case: The Best First Aid Kit for Home, Car and Travel
- Motion Sensor Light Outdoors and on the Stairs: Solar, Hardwired and Plug-In Options















