
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.
The best outdoor timer for lights is the one that switches your porch, string and holiday lights on and off the way you actually want, without you walking outside in the cold. There are four main types. Mechanical timers use push-down pins on a 24-hour dial. Digital timers run programs by day of the week. Photocell timers turn on at dusk on their own. Wi-Fi smart plugs take schedules and voice commands from an app.
We compared six outdoor timers and smart plugs from BN-LINK, HBN, TiFFCOFiO, DEWENWILS, Kasa and Amazon Basics, one of each type or better. For each, we quote the outlet count, load rating, weather rating and any safety listing (ETL or CSA) exactly as the listing states it, and we flag where a listing leaves the load rating out.
Whatever you choose, plug it into a GFCI-protected outdoor outlet and keep the total load under its listed rating.
Our Top Outdoor Timer For Lights Picks at a Glance
| Product | Key features | Price | Action |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() Kasa Outdoor Smart Plug EP40Best Outdoor Smart Plug Overall · Wi-Fi smart plug, 2 outlets, IP64Best for: App schedules with sunset and sunrise timing |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() BN-LINK 7-Day Programmable Outdoor TimerBest 7-Day Outdoor Timer · Digital timer, 2 grounded outletsBest for: Different schedules on different days, no Wi-Fi |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() HBN Dusk-to-Dawn Outdoor Light TimerBest Photocell Outdoor Timer · Photocell + countdown dial, 2 grounded outletsBest for: Lights that switch on at dusk with no programming |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() TiFFCOFiO 24-Hour Mechanical Outdoor Timer (TF-1703)Best Mechanical Outdoor Timer · Mechanical pin dial, 2 grounded outletsBest for: Same time every day, no batteries or apps |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() DEWENWILS Outdoor Timer With 100 Ft Remote (ODT12B)Best Remote-Control Timer for Christmas Lights · RF remote + dusk sensor, 2 outletsBest for: Switching displays from indoors without Wi-Fi |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Amazon Basics Outdoor Smart PlugBest Outdoor Smart Plug for Alexa Homes · Wi-Fi smart plug, 2 outlets, IP65Best for: Alexa routines and voice control outdoors |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.
1. Kasa Outdoor Smart Plug EP40: Best Outdoor Smart Plug Overall
Kasa’s EP40 is an outdoor Wi-Fi smart plug with two AC outlets you can switch independently. One outlet might run the porch string lights while the other runs a fountain pump or an inflatable, each on its own schedule. A waterproof cover is attached to keep dirt out of the outlet you aren’t using.
Day to day, you control it from the Kasa app on your phone, from anywhere, or by voice through Alexa or Google Assistant. Schedules and a countdown timer turn devices on and off automatically, and the sunset/sunrise offset lets lights follow the actual daylight instead of a fixed clock time, so you don’t have to adjust it as the days shorten in December.
Kasa lists a load rating of 15A/1875W max for each outlet and IP64 weather resistance. It needs a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network, and Kasa says a built-in power amplifier gives it a Wi-Fi range of up to 300 feet in open space. The specs give the plug as 4.9 x 2.38 x 2.29 inches, and the warranty field reads 2 years.
It suits anyone who already uses a phone or voice assistant to run the house and wants outdoor lights to follow sunset automatically, with two outlets to split between lights and decorations.
Why we like it
- Sunset/sunrise scheduling
- Two independent outlets
- Two-year warranty field
Watch out for
It depends on a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi signal outdoors, and the listing names no UL, ETL or CSA safety listing.
Key Specifications
| Type | Wi-Fi smart plug, 2 outlets, IP64 |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 2, independently controlled |
| Load (listing) | 15A/1875W max for each |
| Weather rating | IP64, attached waterproof cover |
| Control | Kasa app, Alexa, Google; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi |
| Size | 4.9 x 2.38 x 2.29 in |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | 2 Years |
| Model | EP40; made by TP-Link |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #139 overall; #3 in Outlet Switches (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Sales rank makes the first case: #139 overall and #3 in Outlet Switches, the best overall rank among our six. Amazon.com sells it, and the warranty field reads “2 Years,” the longest stated warranty on this page.
The two outlets are “working and controlled independently,” rated “15A/1875W Max for each,” with “IP64 weather resistance.” The BN-LINK’s two outlets switch together, and neither the HBN nor the Amazon Basics states a load rating at all. Kasa also claims “Long Wi-Fi range up to 300 feet” in open space.
Scheduling is the practical win for holiday lights: “Use schedules or countdown timer,” plus a “Sunset/sunrise offset” so lights follow real daylight. The trade-offs: “2.4GHz Wi-Fi connection required,” no UL, ETL or CSA listing is named, and the Amazon Basics lists a higher IP65. The specs give 4.9 x 2.38 x 2.29 inches with no weight.
Phone and voice-assistant users with decent Wi-Fi at the porch should start here. Anyone who wants no app at all will be happier with the HBN or TiFFCOFiO.
Pros
- Best overall rank here: #139 overall, #3 in Outlet Switches
- Two outlets controlled independently
- 15A/1875W max for each outlet, per the listing
- IP64 weather resistance; sunset/sunrise offset
- Warranty field: 2 years; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- Needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- No UL, ETL or CSA listing stated
- Weight not listed
- Lower IP rating than the Amazon Basics (IP64 vs IP65)
Best for: A homeowner who wants porch and holiday lights on app schedules that follow sunset, with Alexa or Google voice control.
2. BN-LINK 7-Day Programmable Outdoor Timer: Best 7-Day Outdoor Timer
BN-LINK’s 7-day outdoor timer is a digital plug-in timer with two grounded outlets under a weatherproof cover. You program it on its own buttons and digital display, so it needs no Wi-Fi, no app and no account.
It holds up to eight on/off programs, and settings can be as short as one minute. You can pick individual days or one of the preset day combinations, which makes it easy to run lights later on weekends than on weeknights. A single button switches to daylight saving time. Random Vacation mode varies the programmed times so the house looks lived in while you’re away, and a built-in backup battery helps keep your settings after a power interruption.
The listing says the timer is ETL listed and gives a full rating: 125V, 60Hz, 15A max, 1875W resistive or general purpose, 8A tungsten lamp, 1/2HP and TV-5. Both outlets are controlled at the same time, so they share one schedule. The warranty field reads 1 year manufacturer, and the specs list 0.62 pounds.
It suits households that want a schedule that changes through the week, or anyone who wants programmable timing without putting another device on the home Wi-Fi. Program it indoors before the season, then plug it in outside once the lights are up.
Why we like it
- Day-by-day programs
- ETL listed
- Vacation mode
Watch out for
Both outlets share one schedule, and there’s no light sensor, so adjust the on-time as sunset moves.
Key Specifications
| Type | Digital timer, 2 grounded outlets |
|---|---|
| Programs | Up to 8 on/off, 1-minute steps, by day or preset day groups |
| Outlets | 2 grounded, switched together |
| Load (listing) | 125V, 15A max, 1875W resistive, 8A tungsten, 1/2HP, TV-5 |
| Listing / warranty | ETL listed / 1 year |
| Size | 3 x 2.25 x 11.5 in |
| Listed weight | 0.62 pounds |
| Warranty | 1 year manufacturer. |
| Model | BND-60/U58S |
| Seller | BN-LINK |
| Best Sellers Rank | #173 overall; #1 in Timers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Number one in Timers and #173 overall, the BN-LINK is the category leader among our picks, and its listing states it is “ETL listed,” one of only two picks naming a safety listing (the TiFFCOFiO is CSA Listed).
Programming is the point: “up to 8 on/off programs,” settings “as short as one minute,” and a choice of individual days or preset day combinations. No other pick runs a weekly schedule without an app. “Random Vacation mode” and a daylight saving button round it out, and a “built-in backup battery” keeps settings after an outage.
Its rating is the most detailed here: “125V, 60Hz, 15A Max, 1875W Resistive or General Purpose, 8A Tungsten Lamp, 1/2HP, TV-5.” The catch is that the “Outlets are controlled simultaneously,” unlike the Kasa and Amazon Basics. There’s no dusk sensor and no IP rating, just a protective cover. BN-LINK’s own store sells it; warranty field: “1 year manufacturer.” Specs list 0.62 pounds and 3 x 2.25 x 11.5 inches.
Households that want weekend-only or weeknight schedules without Wi-Fi will get the most from it. If you’d rather the lights simply follow sunset, the HBN is simpler.
Pros
- #1 in Timers, #173 overall
- ETL listed, per the listing
- Up to 8 on/off programs, as short as 1 minute
- Random vacation mode and daylight saving button
- Backup battery keeps settings; warranty field: 1 year
Cons
- Both outlets switch together
- No dusk sensor
- No IP rating stated (weatherproof cover only)
- Listed 11.5-inch length suggests a cord lead
Best for: Someone who wants day-by-day programs, such as weeknights only, without relying on Wi-Fi or an app.
3. HBN Dusk-to-Dawn Outdoor Light Timer: Best Photocell Outdoor Timer
HBN’s outdoor light timer pairs a photocell light sensor with a simple dial. The sensor detects dusk and turns your lights on, then either leaves them on until dawn or switches them off after the number of hours you choose. Two grounded outlets sit on the front.
There are seven settings in all: four countdown modes (on at dusk, off after 2, 4, 6 or 8 hours), always on, always off, and the photocell mode that runs from dusk to dawn. You turn the dial in either direction to pick one, and HBN says the design is easy enough for older users. Because it follows the light, you never need to reset it as the days get shorter.
The flat plug is meant to save space at a crowded outlet. HBN says the casing resists sun and water damage and advises mounting it vertically at least 2 feet above the ground for the best waterproof performance. The listing does not state a load rating in amps or watts, so check the packaging before connecting a heavy load. The bullets promise a 12-month warranty plus lifetime tech support.
It suits anyone who wants set-and-forget dusk lighting for holiday displays, string lights or a porch, and doesn’t want an app or a pin dial.
Why we like it
- Automatic dusk switching
- Simple dial
- Flat plug
Watch out for
With no amp or watt rating on the listing, confirm the rating on the device before plugging in anything heavier than light strings.
Key Specifications
| Type | Photocell + countdown dial, 2 grounded outlets |
|---|---|
| Modes | Dusk to dawn; on at dusk, off after 2/4/6/8 hours; always on; always off |
| Outlets | 2 grounded |
| Mounting (listing) | Vertical, at least 2 ft above ground |
| Listed size | 3.4 x 5.6 x 2.6 in |
| Size | 3.4 x 5.6 x 2.6 in |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | CP-U205LX |
| Seller | Official HBN |
| Best Sellers Rank | #4,464 overall; #6 in Timers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Dusk switching with zero programming is HBN’s pitch. The listing describes “1 Photocell Sensor function (ON at dusk, OFF at dawn)” and “4 countdown functions (ON at dusk, OFF after 2/4/6/8 hours),” all set by turning a dial.
The DEWENWILS offers the same mode set plus a remote; the HBN is the more compact option, with a “flat plug design” for “congested power outlets” and listed dimensions of 3.4 x 5.6 x 2.6 inches against the DEWENWILS’ 7 x 5.2 x 2.1. HBN advises mounting it “vertically at least 2ft above the ground.”
The gaps matter for a big display. The listing states no amp or watt rating, no UL, ETL or CSA listing and no IP rating; the casing is only described as resistant to “sun and water damage.” The warranty field is empty, though the bullets promise a “12-Month Warranty” with lifetime tech support. It ranks #6 in Timers but #4,464 overall, the weakest overall rank here. HBN’s official store sells it.
Porch and string-light setups that should switch on at dusk will suit it well. For heavy loads, choose a pick with a stated rating, such as the BN-LINK.
Pros
- Built-in photocell: on at dusk, off at dawn
- Countdown modes: off after 2, 4, 6 or 8 hours
- Flat plug design for crowded outlets
- 12-month warranty and lifetime tech support, per the listing
- #6 in Timers
Cons
- No load rating (amps or watts) stated
- No UL, ETL or CSA listing stated
- No IP rating stated
- Warranty field empty (warranty is in the bullets)
- Weakest overall rank here: #4,464
Best for: Someone who wants holiday or porch lights to come on at dusk and turn off after a few hours, set with one dial.
4. TiFFCOFiO 24-Hour Mechanical Outdoor Timer (TF-1703): Best Mechanical Outdoor Timer
TiFFCOFiO’s TF-1703 is a classic mechanical outdoor timer: a 24-hour dial ringed with pins, a 6-inch heavy dual cord and two grounded outlets. There’s nothing to program and no battery to replace.
Each pin covers 30 minutes, giving 48 on/off settings across 24 hours. Push a pin down for on time and pull it up for off time, and the timer repeats that schedule every day. For holiday lights, that might mean on at 5 p.m. and off at 11 p.m., set once for the season. The listing names Christmas lights, yard lights, home devices and garden decorative lights among its uses, and the title mentions pool pumps.
TiFFCOFiO says it’s made with waterproof materials to resist extreme weather and severe cold, and advises mounting it vertically at least 2 feet above the ground. The title gives a 15A, 1/2HP rating and the listing says it’s CSA Listed. The specs give it as 1.77 x 2.67 x 3.54 inches and 0.44 pounds, and TiFFCOFiO promises after-sales help within 6 hours.
It suits anyone who wants the simplest possible timer for porch or holiday lights and doesn’t mind adjusting the pins by hand if the schedule changes. With no screen or app, there’s no program to lose in an outage, though the dial stops while the power is off, so check its time afterward.
Why we like it
- No programming
- CSA Listed
- Compact
Watch out for
It runs on the clock, not the sun, so lights won’t track the earlier December sunsets unless you move the pins.
Key Specifications
| Type | Mechanical pin dial, 2 grounded outlets |
|---|---|
| Settings | 48 pins, 30 minutes each, daily repeat |
| Outlets | 2 grounded, 6-inch heavy dual cord |
| Rating (title) | 15A, 1/2HP |
| Listing / size | CSA Listed / 1.77 x 2.67 x 3.54 in, 0.44 lb |
| Size | 1.77 x 2.67 x 3.54 in |
| Listed weight | 0.44 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | TF-1703; made by TiFFCOFiO |
| Seller | TiFFCOFIO |
| Best Sellers Rank | #437 overall; #3 in Timers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Simplicity and a safety listing make the case: the TF-1703 is “CSA Listed,” per the listing, and works with “48 ON/OFF setting options in 24 hours,” where “each pins means 30 minutes interval.” No battery, app or sensor is involved.
It ranks #3 in Timers and #437 overall, third-best overall rank among our picks. The title gives “15A 1/2HP,” and the timer has “2 Grounded outlets with 6-inch heavy dual cord.” At a listed 0.44 pounds and 1.77 x 2.67 x 3.54 inches, it has the lightest listed weight and the smallest listed size here.
The limits come with the mechanical design. Steps are fixed at 30 minutes and the schedule repeats daily, so it can’t follow sunset like the HBN, DEWENWILS or Kasa, and it has no weekly programs like the BN-LINK. TiFFCOFiO says it resists “extreme weather and severe cold” but gives no IP rating, and no warranty term is listed. The brand’s own store sells it.
Anyone who wants the same lights-on window every night and trusts a pin dial over a screen will like it. If you want to change times by day, choose the BN-LINK.
Pros
- CSA Listed, per the listing
- #3 in Timers, #437 overall
- 48 on/off settings in 24 hours (30-minute pins)
- Title rating: 15A, 1/2HP
- Lightest listed weight here: 0.44 lb
Cons
- 30-minute steps only
- Repeats the same schedule daily; no dusk sensor
- No IP rating stated
- Warranty not stated
Best for: Someone who wants a simple daily on/off schedule they can set by hand, with no app, battery or sensor.
5. DEWENWILS Outdoor Timer With 100 Ft Remote (ODT12B): Best Remote-Control Timer for Christmas Lights
DEWENWILS pairs a light-sensor timer with a radio-frequency remote. The outdoor unit plugs into the outlet with a short grounded cord and offers two outlets, while the remote lets you switch it on or off from inside, which is handy when you want the display on early for guests.
The timer has several modes: always on or off, dusk to dawn, and on at dusk then off after 2, 4, 6 or 8 hours, with the schedule repeating daily. DEWENWILS says the RF signal reaches up to 100 feet in line of sight and isn’t blocked by doors, windows or walls, though real-world range depends on what sits between you and the timer.
The housing is PBT material described as waterproof, and the 6-inch SJTW14-3 grounded cord is rated up to 15 amps, according to the listing. Setup is simple: connect the included CR2032 battery and plug it in, with no programming or tools. The warranty field reads 1 year, and the specs list the unit at 7 x 5.2 x 2.1 inches and 1 pound.
It suits families with a big holiday display who want dusk timing most nights and the option to switch lights on or off from the living room without an app.
Why we like it
- 100-foot RF remote
- Dusk and countdown modes
- No app or Wi-Fi
Watch out for
The 100-foot range is a line-of-sight figure, so test the remote from where you’ll actually use it.
Key Specifications
| Type | RF remote + dusk sensor, 2 outlets |
|---|---|
| Modes | On/off, dusk to dawn, on at dusk then off after 2/4/6/8 hours, daily repeat |
| Remote | RF, up to 100 ft line of sight |
| Cord / rating | 6-inch SJTW14-3 grounded, up to 15 A |
| Listed size / weight | 7 x 5.2 x 2.1 in / 1 lb |
| Size | 7 x 5.2 x 2.1 in |
| Listed weight | 1 pounds |
| Warranty | 1 year manufacture. |
| Model | ODT12B; made by Dewenwils |
| Seller | Dewenwils |
| Best Sellers Rank | #922 overall; #8 in Timers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Remote control sets the DEWENWILS apart. Its RF remote reaches “as far as 100ft in line of sight,” and no other pick offers a handheld remote; the Wi-Fi plugs rely on a phone or voice instead.
The timer side matches the HBN’s: “ON/OFF, dusk to dawn, on at dusk and off after 2, 4, 6 or 8 hours,” with an option to “repeat schedule daily.” The cord is a “6 Inch SJTW14-3 grounded cord” with “up to 15 Amp ratings,” and the housing is “PBT material and is waterproof,” though no IP rating is given. The remote uses an included CR2032 battery.
It ranks #8 in Timers and #922 overall, and the warranty field reads “1 year manufacture.” At 7 x 5.2 x 2.1 inches and 1 pound in the specs, it carries the heaviest listed weight here. No UL, ETL or CSA listing is named, and DEWENWILS’ own store is the seller.
Big-display households that want dusk timing most nights and a quick switch from indoors will use the remote often. If you’d rather control lights from your phone, the Kasa EP40 does that and more.
Pros
- RF remote, up to 100 ft line of sight
- Dusk to dawn or on at dusk, off after 2/4/6/8 hours
- 6-inch SJTW14-3 grounded cord, up to 15 amps
- Warranty field: 1 year; #8 in Timers, #922 overall
- CR2032 remote battery included
Cons
- No UL, ETL or CSA listing stated
- No IP rating stated (described as waterproof)
- Heaviest listed weight here: 1 lb (7 x 5.2 x 2.1 in)
- Remote range is line of sight
Best for: A homeowner who wants dusk timing plus a remote to flip holiday lights on and off from inside the house.
6. Amazon Basics Outdoor Smart Plug: Best Outdoor Smart Plug for Alexa Homes
Amazon Basics’ outdoor smart plug adds Alexa voice control and scheduling to two outdoor outlets. Each outlet can be switched on its own, by voice or remotely, or grouped with other devices in the Alexa app.
Setup runs entirely through the Alexa app. Plug it in, open the app, and the listing says you’ll be notified when the device is found and connected; there are no hubs, third-party apps or skills to install. Schedules and routines live in the Alexa app, so the porch lights can turn on with an evening routine or when you say a phrase. It requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and works exclusively with Alexa.
The listing describes an IP65-rated enclosure that protects against low-pressure water jets from any direction, as well as condensation and water spray. The specs give it as 3.72 x 1.81 x 4.94 inches and 0.62 pounds. The listing doesn’t state a load rating in amps or watts or a warranty term, so check the packaging before connecting anything heavier than lights.
It suits homes already built around Echo speakers that want holiday and patio lights in the same routines as everything else. Google or Apple households should look elsewhere, since the listing says it works exclusively with Alexa and needs no other app.
Why we like it
- IP65 enclosure
- Two separate outlets
- Simple Alexa setup
Watch out for
It works only with Alexa, and the listing gives no amp or watt rating to plan your load against.
Key Specifications
| Type | Wi-Fi smart plug, 2 outlets, IP65 |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 2, individually controlled |
| Weather rating | IP65 enclosure |
| Control | Alexa app only; 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; no hub |
| Listed size / weight | 3.72 x 1.81 x 4.94 in / 0.62 lb |
| Size | 3.72 x 1.81 x 4.94 in |
| Listed weight | 0.62 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | HPPA52CWBAMZ; made by Amazon |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #1,476 overall; #3 in Modules (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Weather rating is the Amazon Basics plug’s strongest number: an “IP65 rated enclosure” against “low pressure water jets from any direction.” That’s the highest IP rating stated on this page, one step above the Kasa’s IP64; the other four picks state none.
Like the Kasa, it has “2 independently controllable outlets,” and you can control each “individually by voice or remotely” or group them. Setup is all in the Alexa app with “No hubs or 3rd party apps or skills required,” and schedules and routines live there too. It “works exclusively with Alexa.”
Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #1,476 overall and #3 in Modules. The specs give 3.72 x 1.81 x 4.94 inches and 0.62 pounds. The listing gives no amp or watt rating, unlike the Kasa’s 15A/1875W per outlet, and no warranty term or safety listing. It also lacks the Kasa’s stated sunset/sunrise offset.
Echo households that want outdoor lights in their existing routines should consider it. Google Home users, or anyone planning a heavy load, should choose the Kasa EP40.
Pros
- Highest IP rating stated here: IP65
- Two individually controlled outlets
- Sets up in the Alexa app; no hub
- Sold by Amazon.com
- #3 in Modules, #1,476 overall
Cons
- Works with Alexa only
- No load rating (amps or watts) stated
- No UL, ETL or CSA listing stated
- Warranty not stated
Best for: An Alexa household that wants voice control and Alexa routines for two outdoor outlets.
How We Chose the Best Outdoor Timer for Lights
We kept only timers and plugs that were in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store, one per brand, then compared what each listing states:
- Control type: mechanical pins, digital weekly programs, photocell (dusk to dawn), RF remote or Wi-Fi app.
- Load rating: amps and watts as listed, and whether a listing leaves them out.
- Outlets: how many, whether they’re grounded, and whether they switch separately.
- Weather resistance: an IP rating where one is stated, otherwise the maker’s own wording.
- Safety listing: ETL, CSA or UL only where the listing names it.
- Warranty and rank: the warranty field or bullet, and the Amazon sales rank.
All six picks land in our lowest price tier, so price didn’t separate them; features did.

Outdoor Light Timer Buying Guide
Best Outdoor Light Timer Type: Mechanical, Digital, Photocell or Smart
A mechanical timer like the TiFFCOFiO repeats the same pin schedule every day and needs no setup beyond pushing pins. A digital timer like the BN-LINK runs different programs by day. A photocell timer like the HBN turns on at dusk on its own, and the DEWENWILS adds a remote. Wi-Fi plugs like the Kasa EP40 and Amazon Basics take app schedules and voice commands. For indoor plugs and more smart options, see our best smart plug guide.
Best Photocell Outdoor Timer for Dusk to Dawn
Photocell timers follow the daylight, which is why they suit holiday lights: as sunset moves earlier through November and December, the lights move with it. The HBN and DEWENWILS both offer dusk-to-dawn and dusk-plus-hours modes (2, 4, 6 or 8 hours). The Kasa EP40 does something similar through its app with a sunset/sunrise offset. Mount a photocell where porch lights or streetlights won’t shine on the sensor.

Best Outdoor Timer for Christmas Lights
Count the strings and add up their wattage before you choose. The BN-LINK lists 1875W resistive, the Kasa lists 15A/1875W per outlet, the TiFFCOFiO lists 15A and the DEWENWILS cord is rated up to 15 amps; the HBN and Amazon Basics listings give no load rating at all. Then match the control to the display: a remote (DEWENWILS) for switching from the couch, a dusk sensor (HBN) for no-touch evenings, or an app (Kasa) for both. Planning the display itself? Our best outdoor string lights guide and best light clips guide cover the rest.

Best 7 Day Outdoor Timer
If you want lights later on Fridays and Saturdays, or off on weeknights entirely, you need a weekly schedule. The BN-LINK is the only dedicated weekly timer here, with up to eight programs, one-minute steps and a random vacation mode. Both Wi-Fi plugs can also run day-specific schedules through their apps.
Best Outdoor Smart Plug: IP Rating, Outlets and Platform
Both smart plugs have two separately controlled outlets. The Amazon Basics lists IP65 and works only with Alexa. The Kasa EP40 lists IP64, works with Alexa and Google, and adds sunset/sunrise scheduling and a 2-year warranty field. Both need 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so check your signal at the outdoor outlet first.

Outdoor Electrical Safety for Timers and Holiday Lights
NFPA’s Outdoor Electrical Safety tip sheet says to make sure all your outside electrical receptacles are GFCI (ground-fault circuit interrupter) protected to prevent electrical shock, to use lighting that is listed by a qualified test laboratory and made for outdoor use, and to use extension cords that are listed and marked for outdoor use. It also says to check lighting and extension cords for damage before using them and notes that extension cords are not meant for long-term use. If you aren’t sure an outlet is GFCI protected or wired correctly, an outlet tester can tell you.
NFPA’s Winter Holiday Safety tip sheet adds that some lights are only for indoor or outdoor use, not both, that you should read the manufacturer’s instructions for the number of light strands to connect, and that you should turn off all light strings and decorations before leaving home or going to bed. A timer handles that last step for you. The U.S. Fire Administration’s appliance and electrical fire safety page says not to overload power strips and to replace worn or damaged extension cords right away.
Two practical habits help too: keep the timer and every plug connection off the ground and out of puddles and snow, and never load a timer beyond the rating printed on it. The HBN and TiFFCOFiO listings both advise mounting the timer vertically at least 2 feet above the ground.

Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best outdoor light timer for holiday lights?
It depends on how you want to control them. The HBN photocell timer turns lights on at dusk with a dial, the DEWENWILS adds a 100-foot remote, the BN-LINK runs weekly programs, and the Kasa EP40 smart plug follows sunset through an app.
What is the best outdoor smart plug?
The Kasa EP40 has the best sales rank here, two independent outlets, IP64 weather resistance, a listed 15A/1875W per outlet and a 2-year warranty field. Alexa-only homes may prefer the Amazon Basics plug, which lists IP65.
How does a photocell outdoor timer work?
A light sensor detects dusk and switches the outlet on. Depending on the mode, it stays on until dawn or turns off after a set number of hours. The HBN and DEWENWILS both offer dusk to dawn and 2, 4, 6 or 8-hour modes.
Do outdoor timers need a GFCI outlet?
NFPA’s Outdoor Electrical Safety tip sheet says to make sure all outside electrical receptacles are GFCI protected to prevent electrical shock. Plug any outdoor timer into a GFCI-protected outlet and test it before the season.
Can a 7 day outdoor timer run different schedules each day?
Yes. The BN-LINK 7-Day timer holds up to eight on/off programs, lets you pick individual days or preset day groups, and has a random vacation mode. Its two outlets share the same schedule.
The Bottom Line
For most homes, the Kasa EP40 is the best outdoor timer for lights if you want app control, with two independent outlets and sunset scheduling. The BN-LINK 7-Day runs weekly programs without Wi-Fi, the HBN photocell switches on at dusk with a single dial, the TiFFCOFiO mechanical timer keeps it simple with pins, the DEWENWILS adds a 100-foot remote, and the Amazon Basics plug suits Alexa homes with an IP65 rating. Whichever you choose, use a GFCI-protected outlet and stay under the listed load.
Putting up a bigger display this year and wondering how your policy treats an electrical or decoration fire? Ask your agent: call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or set up a free coverage review, and see our Ohio homeowners insurance guide or renters insurance costs in Ohio.
Keep reading
More kitchen gear guides
- Wave, Press or Pump Through the Sink Deck? Best Soap Dispenser Styles Compared
- Upright, Apart and Dry: Best Toothbrush Holder Options for Counters, Walls and Travel
- Weight Only or 50+ Metrics? Best Bathroom Scale Picks, Simple Digital to Body Composition
- Darks, Lights or Delicates? Best Laundry Sorter Options by Sections and Space
- Pilled Sweater or Fuzzy Couch? Best Fabric Shaver Picks by Blade and Battery
- Shelf Cart or Folding Wagon? Why the Best Utility Cart Depends on Where It Rolls
- Extra Room Out Back: Best Hitch Cargo Carrier Baskets by Size, Rails and Weight
- Working Load or Break Strength? Best Ratchet Straps and Cam Buckles for Hauling
- Slide, Lift or Roll It: Best Furniture Sliders and Dollies for Carpet and Hardwood














