
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.
The best address plaque is the one a stranger can read from a moving car at night. That stranger might be a pizza driver, but it might also be an ambulance crew, and numbers that are small, faded, hidden behind a shrub or sitting in the dark cost them time.
We compared seven address signs that were in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store: custom reflective signs for the curb and mailbox, two solar-lit plaques, a do-it-yourself reflective kit, a decorative plaque and a paintable backer for numbers you choose yourself. For each, we note the material, how it’s lit or made reflective, how it mounts, and whether the listing actually states the number height, because many don’t.
Every pick lands in our lowest price tier, so the choice comes down to where your house sits, how dark your street gets and how big the numbers need to be.
Our Top Address Plaque Picks at a Glance
| Product | Key features | Price | Action |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() SignWays 911 Reflective Address Sign (6 x 18 in)Best Overall · Custom double-sided reflective aluminum signBest for: Curbside, mailbox or driveway visibility both ways |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() MAXvolador Solar Address Sign, 3 Light ModesBest Lighted Address Plaque · Solar-lit plaque, wall or stake, DIY stickersBest for: A glowing address by the door or walk |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() INDARUN Solar Lighted Address Sign, 39 inBest Solar Yard Address Sign · Solar-lit yard sign, poles or wall, DIY stickersBest for: Standing above shrubs in a front yard |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() SmartSign Reflective Address Sign Kit, 16 x 4.5 inBest DIY Reflective Kit · Plastic frame, reflective face, self-adhesive numbersBest for: A same-day reflective sign with no custom order |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() My Sign Center Victorian Address Plaque, 7 x 12 inBest Decorative Address Plaque · Decorative plaque, 22 colors, reflective optionBest for: Curb appeal by the front door |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() YipTour Custom Reflective Address Sign, 10 x 3.15 inBest Budget Custom Mailbox Sign · Custom reflective aluminum sign, smallBest for: Marking a mailbox or porch rail |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Hillman Paintable Address Plaque, 6 x 16 inBest Paintable Plaque for Your Own Numbers · Plastic backer plaque for 4-inch numbersBest for: Framing house numbers you choose yourself |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.
1. SignWays 911 Reflective Address Sign (6 x 18 in): Best Overall
SignWays’ 911 Address Sign is a custom, double-sided reflective sign built for the curb, a mailbox post or the end of a driveway. You order it with your house number, and it arrives printed on both faces, so drivers coming from either direction can read it. This listing is the green 6 x 18-inch version, and SignWays says its signs have been made in the USA for decades.
Night visibility is the main feature. The listing says it uses DOT-certified 3M reflective sheeting that shines when headlights or streetlights hit it, which SignWays says helps 911 responders, delivery drivers and guests find an address fast. The color field describes the build as 3M reflective sheeting on .080-gauge heavy-duty aluminum. The certification wording is the brand’s, and the listing doesn’t name a standard.
Installation is basic. Pre-drilled holes let you hang it on a mailbox, post, fence, porch, house wall or yard post, and SignWays says no special tools are needed. The aluminum is laminated for weather and UV resistance, and the brand says it won’t fade, warp or rust. The listing doesn’t state the height of the printed numbers, so check the preview when you customize it. The specs file lists 18 x 6 x 0.4 inches and 1 pound.
It suits rural and suburban homes where the house sits back from the road, or where the numbers on the house are hard to see, and anyone who wants a sign that reads from both directions of travel.
Why we like it
- Reads from both directions
- Heavy-gauge aluminum
- Custom printed for you
Watch out for
The listing never states the number height, so check the proof against the 3-inch guidance before you order.
Key Specifications
| Type | Custom double-sided reflective aluminum sign |
|---|---|
| Material (per listing) | 3M reflective sheeting, .080-gauge aluminum |
| Faces | Double-sided, custom printed |
| Mounting | Pre-drilled holes: mailbox, post, fence, wall |
| Listed size / weight | 18 x 6 in, 1 lb |
| Size | 18 x 6 x 0.4 in |
| Listed weight | 1 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | E1-AMSW3646-0618-EG |
| Seller | SignWays |
| Best Sellers Rank | #27,360 overall; #98 in House Numbers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Double-sided reflectivity is the core of this pick. The title promises “Custom Double-Sided House Numbers” that are “Seen Day & Night,” and the bullets explain that “Bold reflective house numbers on both sides mean your address is visible from either direction of travel.” YipTour also allows double-sided printing, but SignWays builds it in.
Material is spelled out more clearly than on most listings: “DOT-certified 3M reflective sheeting” and, in the color field, “.080 Gauge Heavy Duty Aluminum.” That’s twice the stated thickness of YipTour’s “.040 aluminum.” The DOT wording is SignWays’ own and names no standard number.
Gaps remain. The listing never states the number height, an important detail when the Avon Lake Fire Department recommends 3-inch numbers, so check the proof when you order. The warranty field is empty, and the sign isn’t lit, so it depends on headlights or a streetlight. SignWays, the brand’s store, sells it; it ranks #27,360 overall and #98 in House Numbers, and the specs list 18 x 6 inches and 1 pound.
Homes set back from the road, with a mailbox or post at the curb, are its best match. If your number needs to glow on its own on a dark street, a solar sign like the MAXvolador is the alternative.
Pros
- Custom, double-sided reflective printing
- 3M reflective sheeting on .080-gauge aluminum, per listing
- Pre-drilled holes for post, mailbox or wall
- Made in USA, per the title
- Sold by SignWays, the brand’s store
Cons
- Number height not stated
- “DOT-certified” wording names no standard
- Not lit; relies on headlights or streetlights
- Listing doesn’t mention a post or stake
- Warranty field empty
Best for: A home set back from the road that needs a sign drivers can read from either direction at night.
2. MAXvolador Solar Address Sign, 3 Light Modes: Best Lighted Address Plaque
MAXvolador’s Solar Powered Address Sign is a lighted plaque with a hollowed-out pattern along the bottom, so light shines out below the numbers and casts patterns on the ground or wall. A small solar panel charges it by day, and 22 energy-saving LED chips light it at night.
Day to day, a built-in dusk-to-dawn sensor turns it on and off. MAXvolador says 5 to 6 hours of direct sunlight gives a full charge and that it can glow for up to 20 hours after that, both brand figures. A switch picks one of three color temperatures: warm white 2700K, cool white 6500K or daylight white 4000K. The listing notes the switch must be on for the sign to charge, and warns not to take apart the waterproof cover over the switch.
You build the address yourself with the DIY stickers, which include numbers, letters and blank stickers you can cut into patterns. The sign hangs on a wall or goes into the ground on a stake, and MAXvolador suggests digging a starter hole with a tool first. It’s made of ABS and PS plastic with an IP65 rating, and the brand says the large plaque and numbers help visitors, emergency vehicles and couriers find a home. The listing doesn’t give the number height. The specs file lists 5.91 x 9.92 x 0.4 inches and 1.57 pounds.
It suits homes on dark streets where a reflective sign won’t catch much light, and owners who want a decorative glow by the front door, a walkway or a garden bed facing the street.
Why we like it
- Lights itself at dusk
- Three color choices
- Letters included as well as numbers
Watch out for
A shaded porch may cut the run time, since the listing calls for 5 to 6 hours of direct sun.
Key Specifications
| Type | Solar-lit plaque, wall or stake, DIY stickers |
|---|---|
| Light (per listing) | 22 LED chips; 2700K / 4000K / 6500K |
| Charging (per listing) | 5–6 h direct sun; up to 20 h light |
| Numbers | DIY stickers: numbers, letters, blanks |
| Rating / listed size | IP65; 5.91 x 9.92 x 0.4 in, 1.57 lb |
| Size | 5.91 x 9.92 x 0.4 in |
| Listed weight | 1.57 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | HNX-DC05 |
| Seller | Maxvolador Direct |
| Best Sellers Rank | #1,947 overall; #5 in House Numbers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Shoppers choose this sign more than any other here: #1,947 overall and #5 in House Numbers, well ahead of the next-best rank, My Sign Center at #7,308. Maxvolador Direct, the brand’s store, sells it.
It lights itself, which reflective signs can’t do. The listing describes “22 pcs energy-saving LED chips,” “Built-in sensitive dusk to dawn sensors” and up to “20 hours at night after being fully charged,” with three colors: “Warm White 2700K,” “Cool White 6500K” and “Daylight White 4000K.” INDARUN offers two color temperatures; MAXvolador offers three, and its stickers include letters, which INDARUN’s don’t.
Consider the limits. Charging needs “direct sunlight for 5-6 hours,” so a shaded porch may cut the run time, and the switch must be on for it to charge. The body is “ABS & PS material,” not metal, and the listing never gives a number height. The warranty field is empty. Listed size is 5.91 x 9.92 inches at 1.57 pounds.
A sunny front wall or bed on a dark street suits it best. For a sign that stands taller than hedges, consider the INDARUN; for curbside reflectivity, the SignWays.
Pros
- Best rank here: #1,947 overall, #5 in House Numbers
- Three color temperatures: 2700K, 4000K, 6500K
- Dusk-to-dawn sensor; up to 20 hours, per MAXvolador
- Wall or stake mounting
- IP65; sold by Maxvolador Direct
Cons
- Number height not stated
- Plastic (ABS and PS), not metal
- Needs 5–6 hours of direct sun, per the listing
- Warranty field empty
Best for: A homeowner on a dark street who wants the address to light itself at night.
3. INDARUN Solar Lighted Address Sign, 39 in: Best Solar Yard Address Sign
INDARUN’s Solar Lighted Address Sign is built for the front yard. It ships with four 12.2-inch extension poles and two 8.3-inch ground stakes, and INDARUN says the full stack reaches 39 inches, tall enough to clear the bushes that often bury short stake signs. You can also skip the poles and mount the 12.8 x 6.4-inch face on a wall or fence.
Behind the face are 45 LEDs and a large-capacity battery, and INDARUN claims up to 500 lumens of output. A mono-crystalline panel, which the brand rates at 22% conversion, charges it by day, and the sign turns on at dusk and off at dawn. INDARUN says 6 to 8 hours of direct sunlight gives a full night of light. A WARM/WHITE button switches between 3200K warm white and 6500K cool white, and the brand notes the switch must be on before charging.
Numbers are DIY: three sets of 0–9 stickers and aligned templates for 3, 4 or 5 digits. There are no letters, and INDARUN says the stickers work as long as your address uses fewer than four of the same numeral. The sign is rated IP65 with a sealed switch. The specs file lists 1.74 pounds and a size of 3 x 1 x 0.4 inches, which doesn’t match the listing’s own 12.8 x 6.4-inch face.
It suits homes with hedges, flower beds or a long lawn between the house and the street, where a tall, lit sign near the road will be seen before the numbers on the house are.
Why we like it
- Tallest yard setup here
- Stated lumen figure
- Templates keep digits aligned
Watch out for
Addresses with letters, or with four or more of the same digit, won’t work with the included stickers.
Key Specifications
| Type | Solar-lit yard sign, poles or wall, DIY stickers |
|---|---|
| Height (per listing) | Up to 39 in: four 12.2-in poles + two 8.3-in stakes |
| Light (per listing) | 45 LEDs, up to 500 lm; 3200K / 6500K |
| Face (per listing) | 12.8 x 6.4 in |
| Rating / weight | IP65; 1.74 lb |
| Size | 3 x 1 x 0.4 in |
| Listed weight | 1.74 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | WS156 |
| Seller | INDARUN Technology |
| Best Sellers Rank | #18,063 overall; #65 in House Numbers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Height is the headline. INDARUN includes “four 12.2-inch extension poles and two 8.3-inch grounding stakes spikes” for “a total height of 39 inches,” the tallest yard setup here, aimed at “the common complaint of short stakes being buried by bushes.”
It’s also the brightest lit sign on paper: “45 LEDs and large capacity battery, which can produce up to 500 Lumen.” MAXvolador lists 22 LED chips and no lumen figure. You get two color temperatures, “3200K Warm White” and “6500K Cool White,” to MAXvolador’s three.
Read the fine print. The stickers only work if your address has “LESS than 4 of the same numerals and contains no letters,” and there’s no stated number height. The specs file lists a size of 3 x 1 inches, which contradicts the listing’s 12.8 x 6.4-inch face. The warranty field is empty. INDARUN Technology, the brand’s store, sells it, ranked #18,063 overall and #65 in House Numbers.
Front yards with hedges, a deep setback or a wide lawn are its target. Anyone with letters in the address, such as a unit letter, should look at the MAXvolador or a custom sign instead.
Pros
- Stands up to 39 in tall with included poles
- 45 LEDs, up to 500 lumens, per INDARUN
- 3200K or 6500K light
- Stake or wall mounting
- IP65; sold by INDARUN Technology
Cons
- No letters; fewer than four of any one numeral
- Number height not stated
- Specs-file size (3 x 1 in) is wrong
- Needs 6–8 hours of direct sun, per the listing
- Warranty field empty
Best for: A homeowner whose house numbers are hidden by landscaping or a deep front yard.
4. SmartSign Reflective Address Sign Kit, 16 x 4.5 in: Best DIY Reflective Kit
SmartSign’s Home Address Sign is a do-it-yourself kit: a 16 x 4.5-inch plastic frame with a reflective face, 52 self-adhesive plastic numbers, alignment templates for 3, 4 and 5 digits, and the mounting hardware. You stick your own numbers on the face, so there’s no custom order and no waiting on a proof.
The frame is ABS plastic that SmartSign says resists fading, chipping and rust. Pre-drilled holes and the included hardware let you mount it on a wall or on a lawn post, vertically or horizontally, so it works beside a door or on a post at the end of a walk. The reflective face is meant to keep the numbers readable in the dark when light hits it, and SmartSign names guests, delivery drivers and emergency services among the people it helps.
The key number is digit size: the title lists 2-inch numbers. That’s smaller than the 3-inch height recommended by the Avon Lake Fire Department, so this kit works best close to the street or on a post near the curb, not on a house set far back from the road. The sign isn’t lit, so it relies on headlights or a porch light. SmartSign says it’s made in the USA. The specs file lists 16 x 4.5 x 0.4 inches and 1.4 pounds.
It suits renters and homeowners who want a tidy reflective sign up the same day, and whose door or post sits close enough to the street for smaller digits.
Why we like it
- Everything in one box
- Templates for straight digits
- Vertical or horizontal layout
Watch out for
Its 2-inch digits are small for a house set back from the street.
Key Specifications
| Type | Plastic frame, reflective face, self-adhesive numbers |
|---|---|
| Numbers (per title) | 2 in self-adhesive plastic, 52 included |
| Frame | ABS plastic, reflective face |
| Mounting | Wall or lawn; vertical or horizontal |
| Listed size / weight | 16 x 4.5 in, 1.4 lb |
| Size | 16 x 4.5 x 0.4 in |
| Listed weight | 1.4 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | WP-0046 |
| Seller | SmartSign |
| Best Sellers Rank | #51,165 overall; #154 in House Numbers (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Speed is the appeal: there’s no customization step. The kit contains “a plastic frame with reflective face, 52 self-adhesive numbers, 3, 4, and 5 digit number templates, and all the necessary mounting hardware for vertical or horizontal installation.” The other DIY picks, INDARUN and MAXvolador, are both solar signs.
Mounting is flexible, with “wall mounting or lawn mounting,” vertical or horizontal. The frame is “weather-resistant ABS polymers” that SmartSign says resist “fading, chipping, and rusting,” and the title says “Made in USA,” as SignWays and My Sign Center also claim.
Digit size is the catch. The title lists “2” Self-Adhesive Plastic Numbers,” the smallest stated number height on the page; the Avon Lake Fire Department recommends 3-inch numbers. It isn’t lit, the warranty field is empty, and it ranks #51,165 overall and #154 in House Numbers. SmartSign, the brand’s store, sells it, and the listed size is 16 x 4.5 inches at 1.4 pounds.
Pick it for a door or post close to the street, where small digits will still read. If your house sits far back, a custom sign with bigger numbers, like the SignWays, is the better buy.
Pros
- 52 self-adhesive numbers and 3/4/5-digit templates
- Reflective face
- Vertical or horizontal mounting hardware included
- Made in USA, per the title
- Sold by SmartSign
Cons
- 2-inch numbers, under the 3-inch guidance cited below
- Plastic frame, not metal
- Not lit
- Warranty field empty
- #51,165 overall
Best for: A renter or homeowner close to the street who wants a reflective sign without waiting on a custom print.
5. My Sign Center Victorian Address Plaque, 7 x 12 in: Best Decorative Address Plaque
My Sign Center’s House Address Plaque is a decorative sign in a Victorian-style shape, made in the USA and offered in 22 colors, with a reflective option. The title gives the size as 7 x 12 inches and says it works indoors or out, so it can hang beside a front door, on a porch column or on a fence by the walk.
My Sign Center lists aluminum, vinyl and polyethylene among its sign materials and says its signs use 3M EGP reflective material for visibility, printed with fade- and scratch-resistant OEM inks. Pre-drilled holes make it a quick screw-up install. The bullets frame it as a safety item as well as decor, saying a proper sign makes it easier for guests, mail carriers and first responders to reach your home in an emergency.
Some details take a closer look. The bullets don’t explain how you enter your house number or which material and reflective option this exact listing ships with, so check the choices on the product page before you order, and pick the reflective version if night visibility matters. Number height isn’t stated. The specs file lists 12 x 18 x 0.39 inches, which doesn’t match the 7 x 12 inches in the title, and the manufacturer field is empty; the seller is My Sign Center, the brand’s own store.
It suits homeowners who want an address plaque that looks like part of the house, chosen in a color that contrasts with the siding so the numbers stand out by day and, with the reflective option, by night.
Why we like it
- Decorative Victorian shape
- Wide color choice
- Reflective option
Watch out for
Reflectivity is an option, not standard, so make sure you select it.
Key Specifications
| Type | Decorative plaque, 22 colors, reflective option |
|---|---|
| Shape / size (title) | Victorian, 7 x 12 in |
| Materials (per listing) | Aluminum, vinyl, polyethylene |
| Reflective | 3M EGP, as an option |
| Mounting | Pre-drilled holes; indoor or outdoor |
| Size | 12 x 18 x 0.39 in |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | SUVELAM |
| Seller | My Sign Center |
| Best Sellers Rank | #7,308 overall; #3 in Plaques & Wall Art (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Looks are the draw: a “Victorian” shape in “22 Colors” with a “Reflective Option,” per the title, “USA Made by My Sign Center.” It’s the most decorative plaque here and the second most popular, at #7,308 overall and #3 in Plaques & Wall Art.
The bullets promise “3M EGP Reflective material for optimal visibility,” “pre-drilled holes for easy installation” and “fade- and scratch-resistant OEM inks.” That’s a similar reflective approach to SignWays’ 3M sheeting, though here reflectivity is an option rather than standard.
Details are thin. The bullets don’t say how you enter your number or which of the listed materials, “aluminum, vinyl, and polyethylene,” this listing uses, and the number height isn’t stated. The specs file lists 12 x 18 inches against the title’s 7 x 12, and the manufacturer and warranty fields are empty. My Sign Center, the brand’s own store, is the seller.
Choose it for a front door or porch where curb appeal matters as much as visibility, and select the reflective option. For a curbside sign that reads from both directions, SignWays is stronger.
Pros
- 22 colors and a reflective option, per the title
- 3M EGP reflective material, per the bullets
- Pre-drilled holes
- USA made, per the title
- Second-best rank here: #7,308 overall, #3 in Plaques & Wall Art
Cons
- Bullets don’t explain how you enter your number or which material ships
- Number height not stated
- Specs-file size (12 x 18 in) conflicts with the 7 x 12 in title
- Manufacturer and warranty fields empty
Best for: A homeowner who wants a decorative plaque that suits the house, with the reflective option for night.
6. YipTour Custom Reflective Address Sign, 10 x 3.15 in: Best Budget Custom Mailbox Sign
YipTour’s Custom Reflective Address Sign is a small, personalized plaque, 10 x 3.15 inches, for a mailbox, a porch rail or a driveway post. You click the customize button on the listing, type your house number and choose your options, and YipTour prints the sign for you. The brand says it has already worked out the maximum number of characters for each size.
The sign is heavy-duty .040 aluminum laminated with reflective sheeting, which YipTour says is waterproof and fade resistant. Double-sided printing is allowed, so a mailbox sign can read from both directions along the road. YipTour suggests it for mailboxes, front porches, driveways or as a 911 address sign.
Installation is decided when you order. You pick the pre-drilled hole layout and whether to mount with screws, zip ties or double-sided adhesive, and those accessories are offered through the customization page. The smooth surface cleans up with a spray and a wipe, per the listing. Number height isn’t stated, and on a sign only 3.15 inches tall, the digits can’t be much taller than the 3 inches the Avon Lake Fire Department recommends, and may be shorter. The specs file lists 10 x 3.15 x 0.4 inches and 0.12 pounds.
It suits mailbox posts and porch rails, and anyone who wants a second, low-cost reflective marker at the curb to back up the numbers on the house.
Why we like it
- Custom and reflective
- Double-sided option
- Mounting style chosen at checkout
Watch out for
Its small size limits digit height, so don’t make it your only address marker on a house far from the road.
Key Specifications
| Type | Custom reflective aluminum sign, small |
|---|---|
| Material (per listing) | .040 aluminum, reflective sheeting |
| Faces | Single or double-sided printing |
| Mounting | Screws, zip ties or double-sided adhesive |
| Listed size / weight | 10 x 3.15 in, 0.12 lb |
| Size | 10 x 3.15 x 0.4 in |
| Listed weight | 0.12 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | YT159 |
| Seller | YipTour |
| Best Sellers Rank | #29,539 overall; #6 in Address Signs (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Mailboxes are where this small sign fits: the listing calls it “ideal for mailbox, front porch, driveway, or as 911 address sign.” At 10 x 3.15 inches and 0.12 pounds, it’s the smallest and lightest pick here, and it ranks #6 in Address Signs (#29,539 overall).
It’s custom and reflective at once, “made of heavy-duty .040 aluminum and laminated with a reflective sheeting,” with “Double sided printing also allowed.” You choose holes and mounting, “screws, zip ties or double sided adhesive,” when you customize it.
Size limits it. On a sign 3.15 inches tall, the digits can’t be much taller than the 3 inches the Avon Lake Fire Department recommends, and the listing doesn’t state the actual number height. Its .040 aluminum is half the stated .080 gauge of the SignWays. The warranty field is empty. YipTour, the brand’s store, sells it.
Buy it as a mailbox or post marker that backs up the numbers on your house. As the only address marker for a home set far back from the road, something larger, like the SignWays, will serve better.
Pros
- Custom printed with your number
- .040 aluminum with reflective sheeting
- Double-sided printing allowed
- Screws, zip ties or adhesive, chosen at checkout
- Lightest listed weight: 0.12 lb
Cons
- Small: 10 x 3.15 in
- Number height not stated
- Thinner metal than SignWays’ .080 gauge
- Warranty field empty
Best for: Someone who wants a small, custom reflective marker for a mailbox or post.
7. Hillman Paintable Address Plaque, 6 x 16 in: Best Paintable Plaque for Your Own Numbers
Hillman’s Paintable Address Plaque is a plain 6 x 16-inch panel that gives your house numbers a clean backdrop. It holds up to five 4-inch numbers in a row, which you attach to it before fixing the plaque to a flat surface by the door, on a garage, fence, column or mailbox post.
The panel is molded from weather-resistant plastic that comes white and can be painted any color to match the trim or the door. Hillman says it stands up to sun, rain and changing seasons without warping or fading. Because the plaque is only the backing, you choose the numbers: brass, black, reflective or anything else sized at 4 inches, so the final look and night visibility depend on what you add.
The listing doesn’t say that numbers come in the box, so plan to buy 4-inch numbers separately. Four-inch digits exceed the 3-inch height the Avon Lake Fire Department recommends, and a plain panel lets you set up the contrasting background that page also calls for, such as dark numbers on white. The plaque isn’t lit or reflective by itself. The specs file’s weight reads 0 pounds and its size 17 x 0.62 x 0 inches, placeholder-looking values; the title’s 6 x 16 inches is the figure to trust.
It suits homeowners who already like a particular style of house numbers, or want to match existing door hardware, and need a tidy, paintable panel to group them on.
Why we like it
- Room for 4-inch digits
- Paint it to match
- Sold by Amazon.com
Watch out for
You’ll need to buy the numbers separately, and the panel won’t reflect or glow on its own.
Key Specifications
| Type | Plastic backer plaque for 4-inch numbers |
|---|---|
| Size (title) | 6 x 16 in |
| Capacity | Up to five 4-inch numbers |
| Material | Weather-resistant plastic, paintable |
| Mounting | Any flat surface |
| Size | 17 x 0.62 x 0 in |
| Listed weight | 0 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | 848711; made by The Hillman Group |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #152,053 overall; #55 in Address Plaques (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Number size is Hillman’s strength: the panel “holds up to five four-inch numbers,” the largest stated digit height on the page and above the 3-inch guidance from the Avon Lake Fire Department. SmartSign’s kit, by contrast, uses 2-inch numbers.
It’s also the only pick sold by Amazon.com, and the most flexible on style. “Molded from tough weather-resistant plastic,” it “can be left crisp white or painted any color.” You choose the numbers, so you can go reflective or match existing brass hardware.
The trade-offs are real. The listing doesn’t say numbers are included, the plaque has no light or reflective face of its own, and its rank of #152,053 overall (#55 in Address Plaques) is the weakest here. The specs file shows 0 pounds and a 0-inch dimension, so rely on the title’s 6 x 16 inches. The warranty field is empty.
Choose it to frame numbers you already own or want to pick yourself. Shoppers who want a finished, night-readable sign in one box should look at the SignWays or SmartSign.
Pros
- Sold by Amazon.com
- Holds up to five 4-inch numbers
- Paintable white plastic
- Mounts by a door, on a column or a mailbox post
- Works with any number style
Cons
- Numbers not listed as included
- Not lit or reflective on its own
- Weight and size fields are placeholders
- Weakest rank here: #152,053 overall
- Warranty field empty
Best for: A homeowner who wants a neat, paintable panel for 4-inch numbers they pick out separately.
How We Chose the Best Address Plaques
We limited our picks to in-stock listings sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store, then compared what each listing states:
- Night visibility: reflective sheeting, solar lighting or neither, quoted as the brand describes it.
- Number height: whether the listing states it, and how it compares with fire department guidance.
- Material: aluminum, steel or plastic, and any stated gauge.
- Mounting: wall, yard stake, post or mailbox, and what hardware is included.
- Custom or DIY: printed to order, stick-on numbers, or a backer for numbers you buy yourself.
- Seller and popularity: the seller, the warranty field and Amazon sales rank.

Address Plaque Buying Guide
Best House Numbers: Height, Contrast and Facing the Street
Start with what responders need. The Avon Lake Fire Department’s reflective address plaque page says police, fire and rescue crews depend on house numbers to find you quickly, and that finding a home, especially at night, can be hard when numbers are unreadable, hidden, unlit or missing. It recommends numbers that are 3 inches tall, visible from the street, set on a contrasting background and facing the street named in your address. Your own city or township may set its own rules, so check with your local fire or building department.
Only two picks state a number height. Hillman’s plaque holds 4-inch numbers, and SmartSign’s kit uses 2-inch numbers. The others leave it out, so check the customization preview or measure the stickers before you mount anything.
Best Reflective Address Sign
Reflective signs need no power; they bounce headlights back toward the driver. The SignWays sign lists 3M reflective sheeting on .080-gauge aluminum and prints on both faces, and the YipTour uses reflective sheeting on .040 aluminum with double-sided printing as an option. SmartSign’s kit has a reflective face, and My Sign Center offers 3M reflective material as an option. Avon Lake’s own plaques are reflective and, in green, double-sided, which is a good model for a curbside sign.

Best Lighted Address Plaque
A lit sign glows whether or not a car’s lights hit it. The MAXvolador and INDARUN both turn on at dusk and off at dawn, with color temperatures you can switch. If you prefer a metal or custom plaque, you can light it instead: a stake spotlight from our solar spotlight guide or a fixture from our motion sensor light guide aimed at the numbers does the same job.
Best Solar Address Sign: The Sun Comes First
Solar signs only glow as long as their charge lasts. MAXvolador calls for 5 to 6 hours of direct sun and INDARUN for 6 to 8 hours, and both runtime figures are brand claims. A north-facing wall, a deep porch roof or a winter of short, cloudy days can leave a solar sign dim by late evening, so mount it where the panel sees open sky.

Best Yard Address Sign: Stakes, Posts and Mailboxes
If shrubs, a deep setback or a hill hide the house, put the address near the road. The INDARUN stands up to 39 inches with its included poles, the MAXvolador goes into the ground on a stake, and SmartSign’s kit includes hardware for lawn mounting. For a mailbox post, the SignWays and YipTour come with pre-drilled holes, and the YipTour can be zip-tied. Replacing the mailbox itself? See our locking mailbox guide.
Custom vs. DIY Numbers
Custom signs (SignWays, YipTour and, by the look of its listing, My Sign Center) are printed to order, so spacing and alignment are done for you. DIY kits (SmartSign, MAXvolador, INDARUN) ship with stickers and templates, which is faster but leaves the layout to you, and INDARUN’s stickers don’t cover letters or four of the same digit. Hillman’s panel holds numbers you buy separately.

Helping Emergency Crews Find Your Door
A sign only helps if it can be seen. Trim shrubs and branches that grow over it, keep snow and leaves off yard signs, and replace numbers that have faded or fallen off. Put numbers near the door and, if the house sits back from the road, add a second sign at the driveway or mailbox. A porch light on a timer or a motion light keeps the entry readable too, and if you’re updating the front door, our video doorbell guide covers cameras that also let you see who’s arriving. Some fire departments, Avon Lake among them, offer reflective plaques to residents, so it’s worth asking yours.

Frequently Asked Questions
How big should house numbers be?
The Avon Lake Fire Department recommends numbers 3 inches tall, visible from the street, on a contrasting background and facing the street named in your address. Local rules vary, so check with your fire or building department. Hillman’s plaque holds 4-inch numbers; SmartSign’s kit uses 2-inch numbers.
Is a reflective or a lighted address sign better?
Reflective signs need no power but only shine when headlights or a streetlight hit them. Solar-lit signs, like the MAXvolador and INDARUN, glow on their own but depend on a good daily charge. A reflective sign at the curb plus a lit sign or porch light by the door covers both cases.
Do solar address signs stay lit all night?
They can on a full charge. MAXvolador says up to 20 hours after 5 to 6 hours of direct sun, and INDARUN says a full night after 6 to 8 hours. Both are brand figures; shade, short winter days and clouds can shorten them.
What is the best yard address sign for a house hidden by shrubs?
The INDARUN stands up to 39 inches tall with its included poles and lights itself at dusk, which helps it rise above landscaping. A reflective double-sided sign on a mailbox post, like the SignWays, is another good option near the road.
Can I use my own house numbers on a plaque?
Yes. Hillman’s paintable plaque holds up to five 4-inch numbers that you buy separately, so you can choose reflective, brass or black numbers and paint the panel to contrast with them.
The Bottom Line
For most homes, the SignWays 911 Reflective Sign is the best address plaque to start with: custom, double-sided and built on heavy-gauge aluminum for curbside visibility. If your street is dark, the MAXvolador lights itself, and the INDARUN stands tall enough to clear front-yard shrubs. The SmartSign kit goes up the same day, the My Sign Center plaque dresses up the front door, the YipTour marks a mailbox, and the Hillman panel frames 4-inch numbers you choose. Whatever you buy, make the numbers big, high-contrast and easy to see from the street.
Making your home easier to find and wondering how your policy fits? Ask your agent, read our Ohio homeowners insurance guide, or call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 to book a free coverage review.
Keep reading
More kitchen gear guides
- Slush Stays in the Tray: Best Boot Tray Picks by Lip Height, Length and Material
- Floor Bumps or Wall Raceways? Best Cord Cover Kits That Keep Cables Off Walkways
- Stick-On Silicone or Slide-Under Foam? Best Door Sweep Choices for Drafty, Buggy Gaps
- Platform, Hanging or Trunk Straps? How to Land the Best Hitch Bike Rack
- Rain Cup or Thermometer Alone? The Best Weather Station for Freeze and Storm Alerts
- Sidewalls, Sandbags or Wheels? Fitting the Best Pop Up Canopy to Your Party or Booth
- Ounces per Square Yard, Not Hype: Best Landscape Fabric Under Mulch, Gravel and Garden Rows
- Round, Square or Snap-Together? The Best Tomato Cage for Tall Vines and Raised Beds
- Wick Pots, Window Boxes or Wheeled Tubs? The Best Self Watering Planter for Each Plant















