
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.
The best carbon monoxide detector is the one you’ll keep powered and placed where it can wake you. Carbon monoxide (CO) has no color or smell, so an alarm is the only warning most households get when a furnace, water heater, gas range, fireplace or idling car starts filling the house with it.
We compared seven alarms sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store: two plug-in units with battery backup, a plug-in with a digital CO readout, three battery models (one with a peak-level display and one with a low-level early warning), and a hardwired smoke and CO combination alarm with voice alerts.
For each one, we quote the UL 2034 wording exactly as the listing states it, and flag listings that say only “UL standards” or name no standard at all. Placement and what-to-do advice comes from the EPA, the NFPA and the U.S. Fire Administration. Smoke-only alarms are covered in our separate smoke detector guide.
Our Top Carbon Monoxide Detector Picks at a Glance
| Product | Key features | Price | Action |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() First Alert CO605 Plug-In CO AlarmBest Overall Plug-In · Plug-in, battery backupBest for: Simple CO coverage near bedrooms |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Kidde COPD Plug-In CO Alarm With DisplayBest Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display (Plug-In) · Plug-in, 2 AA backup, backlit displayBest for: Seeing CO levels at a glance |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() First Alert CO710 10-Year Digital CO AlarmBest 10-Year Battery With Peak Level · Sealed 10-year lithium battery, digital displayBest for: Anywhere without a handy outlet |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Heiman Low-Level Digital Mini CO Alarm (10-Year Sealed)Best Low-Level Early Warning · Sealed 10-year battery, low-level ppm displayBest for: Spotting slow CO buildup early |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Kidde AA Battery CO Alarm (KN-COPP-B-LPM)Best Budget Battery CO Detector · Battery-powered, 2 AABest for: Low-cost coverage on every level |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() SITERWELL A4602A Plug-In CO DetectorBest Plug-In With 10-Year Backup · Plug-in, 10-year backup batteryBest for: Outlet power with a long-life backup |
|
$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Kidde 30CUA10-V Hardwired Smoke & CO AlarmBest Smoke and CO Combo (Hardwired) · Hardwired 120V AC, 10-year battery backup, voiceBest for: Replacing wired alarms with smoke and CO in one |
|
$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.
1. First Alert CO605 Plug-In CO Alarm: Best Overall Plug-In
First Alert’s CO605 is a plug-in carbon monoxide alarm that goes straight into a standard wall outlet. Household power runs it day to day, and a battery backup keeps it monitoring if the power fails, which matters because outages are exactly when people run generators, space heaters and other fuel-burning equipment.
Inside is what First Alert calls an “advanced electrochemical carbon monoxide sensor” that “accurately detects carbon monoxide levels, no matter where the detector is placed in the room.” When CO reaches dangerous levels, it sounds an 85-decibel alarm. The listing says all First Alert CO alarms are “rigorously tested to meet UL standards,” but it doesn’t name UL 2034 specifically.
Daily use comes down to one test/silence button. A low-battery mute quiets the low-battery signal for up to 8 hours, and an end-of-life chirp tells you when the alarm itself needs replacing. First Alert advises placing one on each level of your home and in each bedroom. The listing gives its size as 3.4 by 1.38 by 5 inches, and the warranty field reads “7-Year Limited Warranty.”
It suits most households with a gas furnace, water heater or range that want an affordable alarm for the hallway outlet outside the bedrooms, and anyone adding a second or third unit to cover each level.
Why we like it
- Plugs into any standard outlet
- Backup power during outages
- End-of-life chirp
Watch out for
There’s no CO readout, and the listing’s “UL standards” wording doesn’t name UL 2034, so check the package label.
Key Specifications
| Type | Plug-in, battery backup |
|---|---|
| Power | Plug-in with battery backup |
| Sensor | Electrochemical |
| Alarm | 85 dB |
| Listed size / weight | 3.4 x 1.38 x 5 in / 0.26 lb |
| Size | 3.4 x 1.38 x 5 in |
| Listed weight | 0.26 pounds |
| Warranty | 7-Year Limited Warranty |
| Model | CO606 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #403 overall; #4 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Popularity and simplicity make the CO605 the default pick. It ranks #4 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors and #403 overall, the best rank on this page, and Amazon.com sells it.
The essentials are covered: an “advanced electrochemical carbon monoxide sensor,” a “battery backup for continuous monitoring,” an 85-decibel alarm, a low-battery mute of “upto 8 hours” and an “end of life signal chirp.” The listing’s standards line is vague, though: “rigorously tested to meet UL standards,” with no UL 2034 named, unlike the Kidde COPD, Kidde 30CUA10-V and Heiman.
The warranty field reads “7-Year Limited Warranty,” the shortest stated here; the Kidde and First Alert CO710 fields say 10 years. Its listed 3.4 x 1.38 x 5 inches and 0.26 pounds make it the slimmest plug-in. One oddity: the model field reads “CO606” while the title says CO605, so check the box when it arrives. There’s no display.
First-time CO buyers wanting a plug-in for each level should start here. Anyone who wants to see actual CO numbers should step up to the Kidde COPD or First Alert CO710.
Pros
- Best rank here: #4 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors, #403 overall
- Electrochemical CO sensor
- Battery backup during outages
- End-of-life chirp
- Warranty field: “7-Year Limited Warranty”
Cons
- No digital display
- Listing says “tested to meet UL standards” without naming UL 2034
- Shortest warranty here at 7 years
- Model field reads “CO606” though the title says CO605
Best for: A household that wants a reliable, no-fuss CO alarm plugged in outside each sleeping area.
2. Kidde COPD Plug-In CO Alarm With Display: Best Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display (Plug-In)
Kidde’s COPD is a plug-in carbon monoxide alarm with a backlit digital display. It runs on 120V household power, with two AA batteries (included) as backup so it keeps detecting during outages. The plug rotates, so it fits outlets mounted either vertically or horizontally, and Kidde says it includes power surge immunity.
The display is the reason to choose it. Kidde says it “shows CO levels,” so you can see a reading rather than relying only on the alarm. When CO is detected, it sounds an 85-decibel alarm with an LED warning light. On standards, the listing is specific: the alarm is “rigorously tested to meet UL 2034 5th Edition standards, and is ETL Listed.”
In daily use, a Test/Hush button handles monthly checks, and Kidde says you can “sleep peacefully with no nighttime chirps.” Kidde also calls it travel-ready, compact enough to take to a hotel or vacation rental. The warranty field reads “10-Year Limited Warranty,” and the listing says that warranty applies to the alarm.
It suits homeowners with gas appliances who like to see a number, renters who want something they can unplug and take with them, and families who travel to rentals with unknown heating systems. Choose an outlet outside the bedrooms that furniture won’t block, so both the display and the alarm stay easy to see and hear.
Why we like it
- Readable CO display
- Fits sideways outlets
- UL 2034 wording plus ETL listing
Watch out for
Its backup runs on AA batteries, so add them to your battery-change routine.
Key Specifications
| Type | Plug-in, 2 AA backup, backlit display |
|---|---|
| Power | 120V AC with 2 AA backup |
| Display | Backlit, shows CO levels |
| Standard (listing) | Tested to meet UL 2034 5th Edition; ETL Listed |
| Listed size / weight | 1.52 x 5.47 x 5.47 in / 0.43 lb |
| Size | 1.52 x 5.47 x 5.47 in |
| Listed weight | 0.43 pounds |
| Warranty | 10-Year Limited Warranty |
| Model | COPD |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #958 overall; #8 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
A number on the wall is what the COPD adds over the First Alert plug-in. Kidde says its “backlit display … shows CO levels,” and it’s the only plug-in here with a display.
Its standards wording is among the most specific on the page: “rigorously tested to meet UL 2034 5th Edition standards, and is ETL Listed.” Practical touches include a “rotating plug” that “fits vertical or horizontal outlets,” “power surge immunity” and “2 AA backup batteries (included).” Kidde also calls it “TRAVEL-READY.”
Amazon.com is the seller, and it ranks #8 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors and #958 overall. The warranty field reads “10-Year Limited Warranty.” At a listed 1.52 x 5.47 x 5.47 inches and 0.43 pounds, it’s bulkier than the First Alert CO605. The listing doesn’t mention peak memory, which the First Alert CO710 and Kidde AA models do.
Gas-appliance homes that want a readout from an outlet are its target. If your best spot has no outlet, the First Alert CO710 does the same job on a sealed battery.
Pros
- Backlit display shows CO levels
- Listing: “tested to meet UL 2034 5th Edition standards, and is ETL Listed”
- Rotating plug fits vertical or horizontal outlets
- 2 AA backup batteries included
- Warranty field: “10-Year Limited Warranty”
Cons
- AA backups need replacing
- Bulkier than the First Alert plug-in
- No interconnect
- Listing doesn’t mention peak-level memory
Best for: A homeowner who wants to see a CO number on the wall, not just hear an alarm, from an outlet-powered unit.
3. First Alert CO710 10-Year Digital CO Alarm: Best 10-Year Battery With Peak Level
First Alert’s CO710 is a battery-powered carbon monoxide alarm with a sealed 10-year lithium battery and a backlit digital display. With no outlet to find and no battery to change, it can go on a wall or shelf wherever the placement guidance says it should be, not just where the plugs are.
The display shows both CO concentration and temperature. Its Peak Level feature “displays the highest concentration of carbon monoxide measured,” which is useful if you come home to a normal reading and want to know whether something happened while you were out. When CO reaches dangerous levels, an 85-decibel alarm sounds. The listing says all First Alert CO alarms are “rigorously tested to meet UL standards,” without naming UL 2034.
Upkeep is minimal. The 10-year battery “offers continuous protection for the life of the carbon monoxide detector,” and an end-of-life chirp tells you when to replace the whole unit. The warranty field reads “10-Year Limited Warranty,” and First Alert says the warranty runs ten years from purchase with proof of the original sales receipt, so keep yours.
It suits bedrooms and hallways without a convenient outlet, homes where plug-in units would sit too low behind furniture, and anyone who wants a peak reading after a night with the furnace running hard.
Why we like it
- No battery changes for a decade
- Peak Level memory
- Mounts away from outlets
Watch out for
Hang on to the receipt: the warranty depends on proof of the original purchase.
Key Specifications
| Type | Sealed 10-year lithium battery, digital display |
|---|---|
| Power | Built-in 10-year lithium battery |
| Display | Backlit: CO concentration, temperature, peak level |
| Alarm | 85 dB |
| Listed size / weight | 0.94 x 4.75 x 2.63 in / 0.4 lb |
| Size | 0.94 x 4.75 x 2.63 in |
| Listed weight | 0.4 pounds |
| Warranty | 10-Year Limited Warranty |
| Model | CO710; made by First Alert / BRK Brands, Inc. |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #4,523 overall; #11 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Ten years on one battery, plus a screen: the CO710’s listing describes a “Built-in 10-year lithium battery” and a “backlit digital display” showing “temperature and CO concentration.”
Its Peak Level feature “displays the highest concentration of carbon monoxide measured,” a more useful history than the Kidde AA unit’s memory, which records when CO was last detected. The only other sealed 10-year pick is the Heiman, which reads lower levels. Standards wording is general: “rigorously tested to meet UL standards.”
Amazon.com sells it, and the warranty field reads “10-Year Limited Warranty.” The bullets add that the warranty “extends ten years from the date of purchase with proof of the original sales receipt.” It ranks #11 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors and #4,523 overall, well behind its CO605 sibling. Listed at 0.94 x 4.75 x 2.63 inches and 0.4 pounds, it’s slim enough for a shelf.
Households placing alarms away from outlets will get the most from it. Shoppers who want the clearest UL 2034 wording should compare the Kidde COPD or Heiman.
Pros
- Built-in 10-year lithium battery
- Display shows CO concentration and temperature
- Peak Level shows the highest CO measured
- Warranty field: “10-Year Limited Warranty”
- Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- Listing says “tested to meet UL standards” without naming UL 2034
- Warranty needs proof of the original receipt
- Whole unit is replaced at end of life
- Rank #4,523 overall trails the other First Alert
Best for: A household that wants a battery CO alarm with a readout and no battery changes for a decade.
4. Heiman Low-Level Digital Mini CO Alarm (10-Year Sealed): Best Low-Level Early Warning
Heiman’s HM-735ESY-T is a compact carbon monoxide alarm built around low-level readings. Its LCD shows live CO readings starting at 20 ppm, across a 20 to 999 ppm range, and the listing describes a graded alert system: a 30 ppm early warning for slow, low-level buildup, then a loud 85-decibel danger alarm.
A sealed 10-year lithium battery powers it. You activate it by sliding the included bracket into a groove on the back, after which it runs a 100-second warm-up and stays on until a low-battery or end-of-life alert. Heiman says it “cannot be manually turned off.” The listing states “UL 2034 5th Edition Certified & CSFM Approved,” and calls it compliant with NFPA installation codes.
Day to day, a single Test/Hush button handles weekly self-tests and silences nuisance CO alarms for 4 minutes, low-battery chirps for 12 hours and end-of-life alerts for 48 hours, while monitoring continues. A 12-hour alarm memory flags CO events that happened while you were away. It sits on a table or mounts on a wall with the included hardware, and Heiman lists it at 4.09 by 2.89 by 1.43 inches and 4.37 ounces.
It suits households that want earlier notice of low CO levels and anyone traveling to cabins or RVs. Heiman says it is not for garages, workshops or spots directly under vehicle exhaust, and gives an operating range of 40°F to 100°F.
Why we like it
- Readings from 20 ppm
- 30 ppm early warning
- Stated UL 2034 certification
Watch out for
Keep it out of garages and unheated spaces: the listing sets a 40°F to 100°F operating range.
Key Specifications
| Type | Sealed 10-year battery, low-level ppm display |
|---|---|
| Power | Sealed 10-year CR-2/3AZ lithium battery |
| Display | LCD, 20–999 ppm |
| Alerts | 30 ppm early warning; 85 dB alarm; 12-hour memory |
| Listed size / weight (bullets) | 4.09 x 2.89 x 1.43 in / 4.37 oz |
| Size | 1.38 x 2.76 x 2.76 in |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | HM-735ESY-T; made by Shenzhen Heiman Technology Co., Ltd. |
| Seller | Heiman US Official |
| Best Sellers Rank | #24,456 overall; #38 in Combination Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Detectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Low-level sensitivity is Heiman’s pitch. The display shows “live CO readings starting at 20ppm (20–999ppm measuring range),” with a “30ppm early warning for slow low-level buildup” before the 85-decibel alarm. No other pick here lists a staged early warning.
Its standards line is the most explicit: “UL 2034 5th Edition Certified & CSFM Approved.” Power is a sealed “10-Year CR-2/3AZ lithium battery,” and a “12-hour alarm memory” flags events you missed. The listing also sets limits: “NOT for use in garages, workshops, or directly under vehicle mufflers/exhaust pipes,” and an operating range of 40°F to 100°F.
Heiman US Official, the brand’s own store, sells it, not Amazon.com. The warranty and weight fields are empty, though the bullets say 4.37 ounces and 4.09 x 2.89 x 1.43 inches. It ranks #24,456 overall and #38 in Combination Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Detectors, an odd category for a CO-only alarm, and it’s the weakest seller here.
Cautious households and travelers who want early, visible readings will value it. Buyers who prefer Amazon.com as the seller or a plug-in should look at the Kidde COPD.
Pros
- Live readings from 20 ppm (20–999 ppm range)
- 30 ppm early warning stage
- Listing: “UL 2034 5th Edition Certified & CSFM Approved”
- Sealed 10-year lithium battery
- 12-hour alarm memory
Cons
- Warranty and weight fields empty
- Sold by Heiman US Official, not Amazon.com
- Not for garages, per the listing
- Rank #24,456 overall, in a combination-alarm category
Best for: A cautious household, including anyone with heart or breathing conditions, that wants to see low CO readings before a full alarm.
5. Kidde AA Battery CO Alarm (KN-COPP-B-LPM): Best Budget Battery CO Detector
Kidde’s battery CO alarm is a no-wiring, no-outlet carbon monoxide detector that runs on two included AA batteries. You can screw it to a wall or set it on a table or dresser, and because it never depended on household power, it keeps detecting through outages.
Inside is an electrochemical sensor. A green LED shows the unit has power, and an 85-decibel alarm with a red LED signals carbon monoxide. The listing describes Peak Level Memory that “records the last time carbon monoxide was detected or when the unit was last tested,” and a Test-Hush button for testing or temporarily silencing the low-battery chirp.
On standards, the listing says “UL listed,” without naming UL 2034, and adds a “10-Year limited manufacturer warranty on the alarm only (not a battery performance claim).” Kidde notes that the warranty begins when the alarm is powered on, and that if that date is unknown, replacement should be assumed necessary. One listing bullet calls the power LED a “smoke detector” light, a copy error, since this unit detects only CO.
It suits households adding CO alarms to several levels on a budget, renters who can’t wire anything, and anyone who wants a portable unit for a cabin or vacation rental.
Why we like it
- Low-cost, wire-free
- Peak Level Memory
- Works through outages
Watch out for
You’ll change AA batteries over its life, and the listing’s weight figure is unusable.
Key Specifications
| Type | Battery-powered, 2 AA |
|---|---|
| Power | 2 AA batteries (included) |
| Sensor | Electrochemical |
| Features | Peak Level Memory; Test-Hush button |
| Listed size | 4.5 x 1.5 x 2.75 in |
| Size | 4.5 x 1.5 x 2.75 in |
| Listed weight | 0.01 lb in the specs is clearly a data error; weight not stated reliably |
| Warranty | 10 Year Limited |
| Model | KN-COPP-B-LPM; made by Kidde Safety |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #415 overall; #5 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Low cost and a strong rank make this Kidde the budget choice. It ranks #5 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors and #415 overall, just behind the First Alert CO605, and Amazon.com sells it.
Features are basic: an “Electrochemical sensor,” “2-AA batteries (included),” an 85-decibel alarm with a red LED, a Test-Hush button and “Peak Level Memory,” which Kidde says “records the last time carbon monoxide was detected or when the unit was last tested.” There’s no display, unlike the COPD, CO710 and Heiman.
The listing says “UL listed” without naming UL 2034, and the warranty is a “10-Year limited manufacturer warranty on the alarm only.” Kidde says the warranty starts at power-on and that replacement should be assumed if that date is unknown. Two listing errors: the specs weight of 0.01 pounds can’t be right, and a bullet calls the green LED a “smoke detector” light. The listed size is 4.5 x 1.5 x 2.75 inches.
Households filling every level on a budget should consider it. Those who don’t want to buy AA batteries should spend a bit more on the First Alert CO710.
Pros
- #5 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors, #415 overall
- Electrochemical sensor
- Peak Level Memory
- Listing: “UL listed,” 10-year limited warranty on the alarm
- Wall or tabletop placement
Cons
- No digital display
- AA batteries need replacing
- Listing says “UL listed” without naming UL 2034
- Listed weight of 0.01 lb is obviously wrong
Best for: A budget-minded household that needs a CO alarm on every level and is comfortable changing AA batteries.
6. SITERWELL A4602A Plug-In CO Detector: Best Plug-In With 10-Year Backup
SITERWELL’s A4602A is a plug-in carbon monoxide detector with a 10-year backup battery. It runs from a wall outlet, and the listing says the backup batteries keep it working during power outages or when the main power source fails. That pairing removes the yearly backup-battery swap that AA-backed plug-ins need.
A “breathing light” shows status at a glance: green for normal operation, yellow for a fault and red for an alarm. SITERWELL describes the light as gentle enough not to disturb sleep, and a one-touch silence function quiets the alarm. The listing says it detects CO from gas or wood-burning fireplaces, gas appliances, boilers, heaters, clogged chimneys and running vehicles.
SITERWELL also pitches it as portable, at 4.72 by 2.76 by 1.65 inches, small enough for a suitcase or backpack. The listing doesn’t mention a digital display, a UL 2034 listing or a warranty, and the warranty field is empty, so check the box label for a recognized testing laboratory mark before relying on it.
It suits households that prefer outlet power with a long-life backup and a simple color status light, especially in a bedroom where a bright display would be a nuisance. Plug it into an outlet in a central spot outside the sleeping area, as the placement guidance below describes, rather than behind a dresser where the light and alarm are muffled.
Why we like it
- 10-year backup battery
- Sleep-friendly status light
- Compact enough to travel
Watch out for
The listing names no testing standard. The NFPA advises choosing a CO alarm with a recognized testing laboratory’s label, so confirm it on the package.
Key Specifications
| Type | Plug-in, 10-year backup battery |
|---|---|
| Power | AC plug-in with 10-year backup battery |
| Status light | Green normal, yellow fault, red alarm |
| Sources named | Fireplaces, gas appliances, boilers, heaters, vehicles |
| Listed size / weight | 4.72 x 2.76 x 1.65 in / 0.4 lb |
| Size | 4.72 x 2.76 x 1.65 in |
| Listed weight | 0.4 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | A4602A-7; made by SITERWELL ELECTRONICS CO.,LIMITED |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #10,495 overall; #21 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Outlet power with a decade-long backup is SITERWELL’s angle. The listing says it’s “equipped with 10-year battery” so the detector “remains operational even during power outages,” while the Kidde COPD uses AA backups and the First Alert CO605 doesn’t state its battery type.
A “BREATHING LIGHT” uses “Green=Normal Operation, Yellow=Fault, Red=Alarm,” and there’s a “one-touch silence function.” The listing names fireplaces, gas appliances, boilers, heaters, clogged chimneys and running vehicles as sources it detects. It doesn’t mention a display, and it names no UL standard, the only pick here with no standard wording at all.
Amazon.com sells it. The warranty field is empty, and Amazon files it under Automotive Parts and Accessories, ranked #21 in Carbon Monoxide Detectors and #10,495 overall. Listed at 4.72 x 2.76 x 1.65 inches and 0.4 pounds, it’s compact. Its price puts it in a higher tier than every other CO-only pick here.
Bedrooms where a bright display would be distracting suit its soft status light. Anyone who wants a stated UL 2034 listing should pick the Kidde COPD or Heiman instead.
Pros
- Plug-in power with a 10-year backup battery
- Color status light: green, yellow, red
- One-touch silence
- Compact 4.72 x 2.76 x 1.65 in
- Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- Listing names no UL standard
- Warranty field empty
- No digital display mentioned
- Rank #10,495 overall; filed under Automotive
Best for: A household that wants outlet power with a backup battery it won’t have to replace, and doesn’t need a CO readout.
7. Kidde 30CUA10-V Hardwired Smoke & CO Alarm: Best Smoke and CO Combo (Hardwired)
Kidde’s 30CUA10-V is a hardwired combination alarm that detects both smoke and carbon monoxide. It runs on 120V household power with a built-in 10-year battery backup, so there’s no backup battery to replace during its life, and it interconnects with other Kidde alarms so that when one detects danger, all of them sound.
Voice alerts are the headline feature. The listing says it announces “Fire” when it detects smoke and “Warning, Carbon Monoxide” when CO is present, so everyone knows which emergency they’re facing. That matters, because the right response is different: get out fast for a fire, and get to fresh air and call for help for CO. It sounds at 85 decibels with a red LED.
Kidde says it was “Tested to meet UL 217 10th Edition, UL 2034 5th Edition, and FCC standards,” and that its sensing technology helps tell real smoke from cooking or steam. The warranty field reads “10-Year Limited Warranty,” from the date of purchase.
It suits homeowners replacing hardwired smoke alarms outside bedrooms who also want CO coverage in the same spot. If you’re choosing smoke alarms for the rest of the house, our best smoke detector guide covers sensor types, sealed batteries and smart options.
Why we like it
- Voice names the hazard
- Smoke and CO in one wired unit
- No backup battery swaps
Watch out for
Hardwired installs belong to a qualified electrician, and the interconnect promise covers Kidde alarms.
Key Specifications
| Type | Hardwired 120V AC, 10-year battery backup, voice |
|---|---|
| Detects | Smoke and carbon monoxide |
| Power | 120V AC with built-in 10-year battery backup |
| Standards (listing) | Tested to meet UL 217 10th Ed., UL 2034 5th Ed., FCC |
| Listed size / weight | 1.88 x 5 x 5 in / 0.66 lb |
| Size | 1.88 x 5 x 5 in |
| Listed weight | 0.66 pounds |
| Warranty | 10-Year Limited Warranty |
| Model | 30CUA10-V |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #1,116 overall; #7 in Combination Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Detectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Two hazards and a spoken warning set the 30CUA10-V apart. It’s the only pick here that detects smoke as well as CO, and it “says ‘Fire’ when smoke is detected or ‘Warning, Carbon Monoxide’ when CO is present.”
Kidde says it was “Tested to meet UL 217 10th Edition, UL 2034 5th Edition, and FCC standards.” It “operates on 120V AC power with 10-year built-in battery backup” and “Connects with other Kidde alarms.” None of the CO-only picks interconnect, so this is the one to choose if you want a CO alarm that sets off others.
Amazon.com sells it, and the warranty field reads “10-Year Limited Warranty.” It ranks #7 in Combination Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Detectors and #1,116 overall. Listed at 1.88 x 5 x 5 inches and 0.66 pounds, it’s a standard ceiling-alarm size. There’s no CO readout, and it needs alarm wiring.
Owners of wired homes replacing smoke alarms outside bedrooms should consider it first. Renters and homes without wiring will do better with a plug-in or sealed-battery CO alarm here plus a battery smoke alarm.
Pros
- Detects smoke and CO in one unit
- Voice says “Fire” or “Warning, Carbon Monoxide”
- Built-in 10-year battery backup
- Listing: tested to meet UL 217 10th Edition and UL 2034 5th Edition
- Interconnects with other Kidde alarms
Cons
- Needs existing wiring or an electrician
- No CO readout
- Interconnect described for Kidde alarms only
- Ceiling placement suits smoke; follow Kidde’s CO placement instructions
Best for: A homeowner with hardwired alarms who wants to add CO detection and voice warnings without adding devices.
How We Chose the Best Carbon Monoxide Detectors
We kept only CO and combination alarms that were in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store, then compared what each listing says:
- Standard wording: whether the listing names UL 2034, says only “UL standards” or “UL listed,” or names nothing.
- Power: plug-in with battery backup, replaceable batteries, sealed 10-year battery or hardwired.
- Readout: digital ppm display, peak-level memory or alarm-only.
- End-of-life signals: how each alarm tells you it’s time to replace it.
- Warranty and popularity: the warranty field and Amazon sales rank, with empty or wrong fields flagged.

Where Carbon Monoxide Comes From
The EPA’s carbon monoxide page lists the usual home sources: unvented kerosene and gas space heaters, leaking chimneys and furnaces, back-drafting from furnaces, gas water heaters, wood stoves and fireplaces, gas stoves, generators and other gasoline-powered equipment, and car exhaust from attached garages. It says average levels in homes without gas stoves run 0.5 to 5 ppm, while levels near poorly adjusted gas stoves may reach 30 ppm or higher. If you burn gas logs or pellets, see our guides to gas fireplace logs and pellet stoves, and put a CO alarm on that level.
Carbon Monoxide Detector Buying Guide
Best Plug In Carbon Monoxide Detector vs. Battery vs. Hardwired
Plug-in alarms (First Alert CO605, Kidde COPD, SITERWELL) run from an outlet and fall back on batteries during outages. Battery models (First Alert CO710, Heiman, Kidde AA) can go anywhere, including spots without an outlet. Hardwired combination alarms like the Kidde 30CUA10-V replace an existing wired smoke alarm and add CO detection. Whatever the type, it needs power when the lights go out, which is when generators and space heaters come out.
Best Carbon Monoxide Detector With Digital Display
A display turns an alarm into a meter. The Kidde COPD shows CO levels, the First Alert CO710 adds temperature and a Peak Level reading of the highest CO measured, and the Heiman shows live readings from 20 ppm. The other four picks are alarm-only, though the Kidde AA unit keeps a Peak Level Memory.

Best Battery Carbon Monoxide Detector: Sealed 10-Year or AA?
Sealed 10-year models (First Alert CO710, Heiman) never need a battery change; you replace the whole alarm at end of life. AA models like the Kidde cost less but need fresh batteries. The SITERWELL plug-in uses a 10-year backup, while the Kidde COPD uses AA backups.
End-of-Life Signals and Replacement
CO sensors wear out. The First Alert models chirp at end of life, the Heiman gives an end-of-life alert, and the Kidde AA listing says to assume replacement is needed if you don’t know when the alarm was first powered on. The NFPA advises replacing CO alarms according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
Best Carbon Monoxide Alarm Certification: What UL 2034 Wording Means
The EPA’s CO poisoning fact page tells shoppers to look for UL certification on any detector, and the NFPA advises choosing a CO alarm with the label of a recognized testing laboratory. Listing wording varies: the Heiman says “UL 2034 5th Edition Certified,” the Kidde COPD and 30CUA10-V say “tested to meet” UL 2034, both First Alert alarms say “tested to meet UL standards,” the Kidde AA says “UL listed,” and the SITERWELL names nothing. Check the label on the package.
Best CO Detector and Smoke Combination Alarms
A combination alarm covers two hazards in one spot, and voice alerts like the Kidde 30CUA10-V’s tell you which one you’re facing. Smoke alarms still need to go in every bedroom and on every level, so most homes will mix combos with smoke-only units; our smoke detector guide covers those.

Where to Put CO Alarms and What to Do When One Sounds
The NFPA’s carbon monoxide safety tips call for CO alarms in a central location outside each sleeping area, on every level of the home, and wherever local codes require, ideally interconnected. The U.S. Fire Administration gives the same placement advice, and the EPA notes that the CPSC recommends a CO alarm on each level outside each sleeping area. Follow each manufacturer’s instructions for mounting height.
- Test monthly: the NFPA says to test CO alarms at least once a month.
- If it alarms: move immediately to fresh air outdoors or by an open window or door, make sure everyone is accounted for, and call for help from the fresh-air location, per the NFPA. Stay there until emergency personnel arrive.
- Know the number: the NFPA suggests calling your fire department’s non-emergency line ahead of time to learn which number to call if a CO alarm sounds.
- Symptoms: the EPA says CO poisoning can cause headaches, dizziness, confusion and nausea, and that anyone with symptoms should get out and seek medical attention.
- Trouble chirps: if the trouble signal sounds, check the battery; the NFPA says to call the fire department if it still sounds after a fresh battery.

Prevention, Inspections and Your Home Insurance
The EPA calls CO detectors a backup, not a replacement for proper use and maintenance of fuel-burning appliances. It recommends a professional inspection of furnaces, water heaters, ranges, dryers, space heaters, fireplaces and wood stoves at the start of every heating season, and never idling a car in the garage or running a generator in an enclosed space. Whether working CO alarms or recent inspections affect your homeowners policy depends on your insurer, so ask your agent instead of assuming a discount. Our Ohio homeowners insurance guide covers the basics, and renters can check renters insurance costs in Ohio.

Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best CO detector for most homes?
The First Alert CO605 plug-in is our top pick: it has an electrochemical sensor, battery backup and an end-of-life chirp, and it ranks #4 in Amazon’s Carbon Monoxide Detectors category. Add the Kidde COPD if you want a digital CO reading.
Is a plug-in carbon monoxide detector better than a battery one?
Neither is better outright. Plug-ins run from an outlet with battery backup, so they suit hallways with a handy outlet. Battery and sealed 10-year models can go anywhere the placement guidance calls for. Either type should keep working during a power outage.
Where should a carbon monoxide detector be placed?
The NFPA and U.S. Fire Administration say to install CO alarms in a central location outside each sleeping area and on every level of the home. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for mounting height, and check each listing’s limits: the Heiman, for example, is not for use in garages.
What should I do if my carbon monoxide alarm goes off?
Move everyone to fresh air outdoors or by an open window or door, account for everyone, and call for help from there, per the NFPA. The EPA says anyone with symptoms such as headache, dizziness or nausea should seek medical attention.
How long do carbon monoxide detectors last?
It depends on the model; replace them per the manufacturer’s instructions. The First Alert CO710 and Heiman use sealed 10-year batteries, the First Alert CO605 carries a 7-year warranty, and most picks here signal end of life with a chirp or alert.
The Bottom Line
For most homes, the First Alert CO605 is the best carbon monoxide detector to start with: plug it in outside the bedrooms and it covers the basics with battery backup. The Kidde COPD adds a CO readout and stated UL 2034 testing, the First Alert CO710 brings a 10-year battery and peak memory, and the Heiman flags low CO levels from 20 ppm. The Kidde AA alarm is the budget fill-in, the SITERWELL pairs outlet power with a 10-year backup, and the Kidde 30CUA10-V combines smoke, CO and voice alerts in one wired unit. Put one on every level, test monthly, and have your fuel-burning appliances inspected each fall.
Adding CO alarms or a new gas appliance and wondering how your homeowners coverage fits? Call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or schedule a free policy review.
Keep reading
More kitchen gear guides
- Tip-Over Switch, Lab Mark, 3-Foot Rule: The Best Space Heater for Each Room
- Pump, Hose or Bucket? The Best Dehumidifier for Basement Damp and Musty Rooms
- Best Sump Pump Choices for a Dry Basement: Submersible, Pedestal and Battery Backup
- Alarm, App or Automatic Shutoff? Finding the Right Water Leak Detector for Each Spot
- 1-A:10-B:C or 5-B:C? The Best Fire Extinguisher for Home, Kitchen, Garage and Car
- Plug-In, Digital Readout or 10-Year Sealed? Best Carbon Monoxide Detector Choices
- Sealed Battery, Hardwired or App Alerts? The Best Smoke Detector for Each Room
- Birch, Battery Glow or Candelabra? Fake Fireplace Logs and Decor for a Cold Hearth
- Stainless, Porcelain or Composite? The Best Sink Cleaner for Every Basin















