Heating, Cooling & Air Quality

240V, 120V or Gas: The Best Garage Heater Starts at Your Breaker Panel

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.

The best garage heater for you depends less on the heater than on what your garage already has: a spare 240-volt circuit, only ordinary 120-volt outlets, or a gas line and a ceiling high enough for a unit heater. Get that match right and a cold garage becomes a workshop you can use in January. Get it wrong and you are tripping breakers or pushing a heater past what the space can safely handle.

We compared six heaters, all in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store: three 240-volt fan or louvered units, a pair of 120-volt radiant quartz ceiling heaters, a 120-volt smart wall heater and a vented gas unit heater. For each, we quote wattage, BTU, coverage claims and safety features exactly as the listing states them, and we flag where a listing leaves out a warranty, a weight or a safety mark.

Safety runs through every pick. Keep anything that can burn well away from the heater, put a carbon monoxide alarm in the house if you burn any fuel, and leave 240-volt and gas hookups to a licensed pro.

Our Top Garage Heater Picks at a Glance

ProductKey featuresPriceAction
Comfort Zone CZ230ER 7,500W Ceiling Heater
Comfort Zone CZ230ER 7,500W Ceiling HeaterBest Overall · 240V hardwired fan-forced, ceiling mountBest for: Heating a two-car garage from the ceiling
  • Keeps the floor clear
  • Remote and thermostat for set-and-forget heat
  • Aimable louvers
$$$ Buy Now →Check current price
Dr. Infrared Heater DR-966
Dr. Infrared Heater DR-966Best Two-Stage 240V Heater · 240V hardwired, wall or ceiling mountBest for: Switching between 3,000 and 6,000 watts
  • States a UL/cUL listing
  • Two power levels
  • Mounts on a wall or ceiling
$$$$ Buy Now →Check current price
InoKraft 7,500W Garage Heater (NEMA 14-50P)
InoKraft 7,500W Garage Heater (NEMA 14-50P)Best Plug-In 240V Heater · 240V fan-forced with plug, wall or ceiling mountBest for: Garages that already have a 14-50 outlet
  • Plug-in 240V design
  • Wide thermostat range with timer
  • Wall or ceiling mounting
$$$$ Buy Now →Check current price
Shinic Radiant Quartz Garage Heater, 2-Pack
Shinic Radiant Quartz Garage Heater, 2-PackBest Infrared Ceiling Heater (120V) · 120V radiant quartz, ceiling mount, two unitsBest for: Spot heat and a work light over the bench
  • Instant radiant warmth
  • Work light built in
  • Two heaters for two zones
$$$ Buy Now →Check current price
GiveBest UPH300M Smart Wall Heater
GiveBest UPH300M Smart Wall HeaterBest Smart Wall Heater (120V) · 120V ceramic wall heater, Wi-FiBest for: A small, insulated workshop corner
  • App, remote and touch control
  • Tip-over and overheat protection listed
  • Wall mount saves floor space
$$ Buy Now →Check current price
Mr. Heater Big Maxx 50,000 BTU Unit Heater (F260550)
Mr. Heater Big Maxx 50,000 BTU Unit Heater (F260550)Best Gas Unit Heater · Vented forced-air gas unit heater, ceiling mountBest for: Large or three-car garages with a gas supply
  • Biggest coverage claim here
  • Vented, permanent installation
  • Thermostat-ready
$$$$ Buy Now →Check current price

Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.

1. Comfort Zone CZ230ER 7,500W Ceiling Heater: Best Overall

Comfort Zone CZ230ER 7,500W Ceiling Heater

Comfort Zone’s CZ230ER is a fan-forced electric heater built to hang from the garage ceiling and wire straight into a 240-volt circuit. The title rates it at 7,500 watts, which works out to roughly 25,600 BTU per hour by our math, and Comfort Zone claims heating coverage of up to 1,250 square feet.

Day to day, it behaves more like a small furnace than a space heater. A digital thermostat holds the temperature you set, the included remote lets you change settings from the workbench, and the title lists a 12-hour timer. Adjustable louvers and a variable mounting angle let you aim the airflow at the area where you actually work, and a power indicator light shows when it is running.

Comfort Zone describes the body as heavy gauge steel meant for poorly insulated spaces such as garages, warehouses and storage areas. For safety, the listing says a built-in sensor monitors temperature and shuts the unit off if it detects overheating. The listing does not name a UL, ETL or CSA mark, so check the label or manual if a listed mark matters to your local inspector. Because it is hardwired, plan on an electrician for the circuit and the mounting.

It suits homeowners with an attached or detached garage who want steady, thermostat-controlled heat for weekend projects and who would rather keep the floor clear of cords and heaters.

Why we like it

  • Keeps the floor clear
  • Remote and thermostat for set-and-forget heat
  • Aimable louvers

Watch out for

You need a dedicated 240-volt hookup and an electrician, and the listing names no safety certification mark.

Key Specifications

Type240V hardwired fan-forced, ceiling mount
Power7,500 W, 240 V, hardwired (title)
ControlsDigital thermostat, remote, 12-hour timer
Coverage claimUp to 1,250 sq ft
Listed size / weight17.5 x 13.6 x 14.2 in / 21.43 lb
Size17.5 x 13.6 x 14.2 in
Listed weight21.43 pounds
Warranty1 Year Warranty Against Manufacturer Defects
ModelCZ230ER; made by Mr. Brands, LLC.
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#146,112 overall; #217 in Electric Space Heaters (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Output and controls make the case. The title lists “7,500 Watt, 240 Volt, Fan-Forced, Overheat Protection, Digital Thermostat, 12-Hour Timer,” and a remote is included. Comfort Zone claims “a heating coverage of up to 1250 sq. ft.,” the second-largest claim on this page after the Mr. Heater’s 1,667.

It is the only electric pick that pairs a full digital thermostat, a remote and a timer with a dedicated ceiling-mount design. The InoKraft matches its 7,500 watts and adds a plug, but its warranty field is blank; Comfort Zone’s reads “1 Year Warranty Against Manufacturer Defects.” Amazon.com sells it, and it weighs 21.43 pounds, lighter than the Dr. Infrared’s 27.

Gaps are worth naming. Its rank, #146,112 overall and #217 in Electric Space Heaters, is the weakest here. The listing describes an overheat sensor but names no UL, ETL or CSA mark, while the Dr. Infrared listing states UL/cUL. And it is hardwired, so the electrician’s bill comes on top of the heater.

A homeowner with 240-volt capacity and a two-car garage gets the most complete electric package here. Anyone without a spare 240-volt circuit should look at the 120-volt Shinic or GiveBest instead.

Pros

  • 7,500 watts at 240 volts, per the title
  • Digital thermostat, remote and 12-hour timer (title)
  • Coverage claim of up to 1,250 sq ft
  • Warranty field: “1 Year Warranty Against Manufacturer Defects”
  • Sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • Hardwired: needs a 240V circuit and an electrician
  • Weakest sales rank here: #146,112 overall
  • Listing names no UL, ETL or CSA mark
  • No tip-over protection listed

Best for: A homeowner with a spare 240-volt circuit who wants whole-garage heat without giving up floor space.

Check Price on Amazon →

2. Dr. Infrared Heater DR-966: Best Two-Stage 240V Heater

Dr. Infrared Heater DR-966

Dr. Infrared’s DR-966 is a heavy-duty 240-volt single-phase heater sold for shops, garages and commercial spaces. It runs at either 3,000 or 6,000 watts, which by our math is roughly 10,200 or 20,500 BTU per hour, so you can drop to the lower setting once the space has warmed up.

The listing is short and practical. It is hardwired, and the power cord is not included, so an electrician connects it directly to the circuit. A bracket comes in the box for wall or ceiling mounting. Control is an adjustable thermostat with HIGH and LOW settings, and five adjustable louvers direct the airflow toward your work area.

On safety marks, this is a listing that names one: it says the heater is “UL/CUL Listed.” The listing does not give a coverage figure in square feet, and it does not mention a remote, timer or digital display, so expect simple dial-style operation. The specs file lists the unit at 14.5 x 13 x 14.5 inches and 27 pounds, and the warranty field reads “One Year Parts and Labor Warranty.”

It suits a one- or two-car garage or a small detached shop where the owner wants a straightforward, listed heater that can be mounted out of the way and run at two power levels.

Why we like it

  • States a UL/cUL listing
  • Two power levels
  • Mounts on a wall or ceiling

Watch out for

There is no cord and no stated coverage area, so budget for an electrician and size it against your space with their help.

Key Specifications

Type240V hardwired, wall or ceiling mount
Power3,000 / 6,000 W, 240 V single phase
MountingWall or ceiling, bracket included
ControlsAdjustable thermostat, HIGH and LOW
Listed size / weight14.5 x 13 x 14.5 in / 27 lb
Size14.5 x 13 x 14.5 in
Listed weight27 pounds
WarrantyOne Year Parts and Labor Warranty
ModelDR-966; made by Dr. Heater USA
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#127,209 overall; #189 in Electric Space Heaters (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

One line sets it apart: “UL/CUL Listed Wall or Ceiling Mounted Heater. Bracket Included.” No other 240-volt pick on this page names a listing mark; the Comfort Zone and InoKraft listings describe safety features but no certification.

Power is “Heavy Duty 240V Single Phase 3000/6000W,” the only electric pick with two distinct wattage levels at 240 volts. The thermostat is “Adjustable … with HIGH and LOW Setting,” and “5 Adjustable Louvers” aim the airflow. The listing adds “Hardwired. Power cord not included in the unit,” so installation is an electrician’s job.

Evidence from the specs file is solid: Amazon.com is the seller, the warranty field reads “One Year Parts and Labor Warranty,” and it measures 14.5 x 13 x 14.5 inches at 27 pounds. What is missing is a coverage figure, a remote and a timer, all of which the Comfort Zone lists. Its rank, #127,209 overall, sits second from the bottom here.

Pick it if a stated UL/cUL listing matters to you or your inspector and you like a half-power setting for mild days. If you want remote control and a timer, the Comfort Zone is the better match.

Pros

  • 3,000 W / 6,000 W settings at 240 V single phase
  • Listing states “UL/CUL Listed”
  • Wall or ceiling bracket included
  • Warranty field: “One Year Parts and Labor Warranty”
  • Sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • Power cord not included; hardwire only
  • No coverage claim on the listing
  • Only a high/low thermostat, no remote or timer listed
  • Second-weakest rank here: #127,209 overall

Best for: A garage owner with 240-volt service who wants a stated UL/cUL listing and the option to run at half power.

Check Price on Amazon →

3. InoKraft 7,500W Garage Heater (NEMA 14-50P): Best Plug-In 240V Heater

InoKraft 7,500W Garage Heater (NEMA 14-50P)

InoKraft’s 7,500-watt garage heater is a 240-volt fan-forced unit that ships with an 8.2-foot power cord and a NEMA 14-50P plug, the plug style used on many 50-amp receptacles. InoKraft claims it can heat a space of up to 750 square feet and says it runs at 65 dB.

Controls go further than most. A built-in digital thermostat adjusts from 40°F to 99°F, a timer runs from one to 24 hours, and there are manual high and low modes plus an automatic ECO mode that, according to InoKraft, adjusts output to the room temperature and shuts power off when heat is not needed. An automatic fan delay helps clear residual heat after the elements switch off.

Mounting is flexible. InoKraft says it can go on a wall or hang from the ceiling, with five angle adjustments during installation and adjustable louvers to spread the heat. The listing also lists overheat protection and an automatic shut-off function. One line deserves attention: InoKraft states that installation must be performed by a professional electrician, so the plug is not a license to wire your own receptacle.

It suits garages that already have, or are getting, a 240-volt 14-50 outlet, and owners who like a thermostat, a timer and the option to unplug the heater in summer.

Why we like it

  • Plug-in 240V design
  • Wide thermostat range with timer
  • Wall or ceiling mounting

Watch out for

The warranty and weight fields are blank, and the brand itself says a professional electrician should install it.

Key Specifications

Type240V fan-forced with plug, wall or ceiling mount
Power7,500 W, 240 V, NEMA 14-50P plug
ControlsDigital thermostat 40–99°F, 1–24 h timer, ECO mode
Coverage claimUp to 750 sq ft
Listed size17.72 x 14.96 x 15.75 in (weight not stated)
Size17.72 x 14.96 x 15.75 in
Listed weightNot stated in listing
WarrantyNot stated in listing
ModelIK05088001
SellerInoKraft
Best Sellers Rank#72,214 overall; #122 in Electric Space Heaters (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

The plug is the headline. This is the only 240-volt pick that ships with “a 8.2 feet power cord, and a NEMA 14-50P Plug,” and InoKraft says it can be mounted on a wall or hung from the ceiling with “five angle adjustments.”

Controls are the most detailed of the 240-volt units: a thermostat from “40°F to 99°F,” a “1-24 hour timer,” manual high and low modes and an “automatic ECO mode.” InoKraft lists “overheat protection and an automatic shut-off function” and claims it heats “up to 750 square feet,” well under Comfort Zone’s 1,250-square-foot claim for the same 7,500 watts.

The evidence is thinner. The warranty and weight fields are both empty, no UL, ETL or CSA mark is named, and the seller is the InoKraft store rather than Amazon.com. It ranks #72,214 overall, ahead of the Comfort Zone and Dr. Infrared. InoKraft also says “Installation must be performed by a professional electrician,” so the plug saves hardwiring but not the pro.

Garages that already have a 14-50 receptacle get the easiest 240-volt option here. Shoppers who want a stated warranty or listing mark should choose the Comfort Zone or Dr. Infrared.

Pros

  • 7,500 W at 240 V with a NEMA 14-50P plug and 8.2 ft cord
  • Digital thermostat 40–99°F plus 1–24 hour timer
  • Overheat protection and automatic shut-off, per InoKraft
  • Coverage claim: up to 750 sq ft
  • Sold by the InoKraft store

Cons

  • Warranty and weight fields are empty
  • Listing names no UL, ETL or CSA mark
  • InoKraft says installation must be done by a professional electrician
  • 65 dB noise rating, per the listing

Best for: Someone with a 240-volt 14-50 receptacle in the garage who wants a powerful heater with a thermostat and timer.

Check Price on Amazon →

4. Shinic Radiant Quartz Garage Heater, 2-Pack: Best Infrared Ceiling Heater (120V)

Shinic Radiant Quartz Garage Heater, 2-Pack

Shinic’s radiant garage heater uses two quartz tubes to throw infrared heat at the people and objects in front of it, rather than warming all the air in the garage first. This listing is a two-pack: two ceiling-mounted heaters, two adjustable brackets and a user’s manual.

Each heater runs on ordinary 120-volt power through a 3-prong grounded plug. A pull-string switch steps through five positions: low heat at 750 watts with one tube lit, high heat at 1,500 watts with both tubes, the same two heat levels with a built-in halogen work light on, and off. Shinic says the bracket lets the head rotate up to 90 degrees, so you can aim the heat at a workbench, a car bay or wherever you are standing.

For safety, the listing names overheat auto-off, a metal housing, the grounded plug and an “ETL Listed” mark. There is no thermostat, so the heater runs at the setting you pull until you switch it off. The warranty and weight fields in the specs file are empty, and the listed 11 x 15 x 24 inches may describe the package rather than one heater.

It suits people who work in one spot, such as a bench or a single bay, and want warmth they feel right away along with a bit of extra light, without running a 240-volt circuit.

Why we like it

  • Instant radiant warmth
  • Work light built in
  • Two heaters for two zones

Watch out for

Plan where each one plugs in: at full power the pair can overload a single 120-volt circuit, so ask an electrician before sharing one.

Key Specifications

Type120V radiant quartz, ceiling mount, two units
Power750 W / 1,500 W each, 120 V
HeatingDual quartz tubes, radiant
Settings5-position pull string (heat, heat with light, off)
In the box2 heaters, 2 adjustable brackets, manual
Size11 x 15 x 24 in
Listed weightNot stated in listing
WarrantyNot stated in listing
ModelQGW15-602
SellerShinic Electric Appliance
Best Sellers Rank#23,467 overall; #16 in Heaters & Accessories (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Two heaters for one listing is the draw: “2 x Electric Garage Heater, 2 x Adjustable Bracket and Accessories.” Each uses “Dual quartz tubes” for radiant heat and a “Built-in halogen light,” the only work light on this page.

Safety wording is specific: “Overheat auto-off,” a “3-Prong Grounded Safety Plug,” “Metal housing” and “ETL Listed.” Settings run through a five-position pull string, from 750 watts with one tube to 1,500 watts with both, with or without the light. There is no thermostat, unlike the GiveBest, the other 120-volt pick.

Shinic Electric Appliance, the brand’s own store, sells it, and it ranks #16 in Heaters & Accessories and #23,467 overall, close behind the GiveBest and Mr. Heater. The warranty and weight fields are empty, and the listed 11 x 15 x 24 inches may be package size. By our math, both heaters on high draw about 25 amps, more than a typical single 120-volt circuit, so ask an electrician before sharing one.

A bench-bound DIYer in a cold, drafty garage will feel the difference right away. Anyone who wants a room held at a set temperature should look at a thermostat-controlled pick instead.

Pros

  • Two heaters in the box, each 750 W / 1,500 W
  • Built-in halogen work light
  • Ceiling mount rotates up to 90°
  • Listing states “ETL Listed”
  • Overheat auto-off and 3-prong grounded plug

Cons

  • Radiant heat warms what it faces, not the whole room
  • Pull-string switch only; no thermostat listed
  • Warranty and weight fields empty
  • Two units at 1,500 W draw about 25 amps by our math

Best for: A DIYer on 120-volt power who wants direct, instant warmth over a workbench or car bay plus extra light.

Check Price on Amazon →

5. GiveBest UPH300M Smart Wall Heater: Best Smart Wall Heater (120V)

GiveBest UPH300M Smart Wall Heater

GiveBest’s UPH300M is a 1,500-watt wall heater with smart controls. The listing rates it at 5,200 BTUs and pitches it for bedrooms, offices and bathrooms as well as garages and basements, either mounted on a wall with the included drilling guide or moved between rooms.

Control is where it stands out. You can run it from the Wi-Fi app, the included remote or an LED touch panel that shows the current room temperature. GiveBest says the built-in precision thermostat and ECO mode adjust the heater’s wattage to hold your set temperature, so you can preheat a workshop before you walk out to it.

The safety list is the longest of the 120-volt heaters here: the listing says the system is “ETL-listed,” with tip-over and overheat protection and V-0 flame-retardant materials. GiveBest is also candid about its limits. It says the heater rapidly warms well-insulated spaces of 200 square feet or less and is “not applicable” to larger or unobstructed spaces. The specs file’s size field reads 1.97 inches on every side, which is clearly a placeholder, and the warranty field is empty.

It suits a finished garage room, a small insulated workshop or a hobby corner, especially for someone who likes app control and wants to keep the heater off the floor.

Why we like it

  • App, remote and touch control
  • Tip-over and overheat protection listed
  • Wall mount saves floor space

Watch out for

At 1,500 watts and a 200-square-foot limit by GiveBest’s own claim, it will not heat an uninsulated two-car garage.

Key Specifications

Type120V ceramic wall heater, Wi-Fi
Power1,500 W, 5,200 BTU (per listing)
Coverage claimWell-insulated spaces up to 200 sq ft
ControlsWi-Fi app, remote, LED touch panel, thermostat, ECO mode
Listed weight7.23 lb
Size1.97 x 1.97 x 1.97 in
Listed weight7.23 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
ModelUPH300M; made by Jiangmenshi Liansheng Wujindianqi Co., Ltd.
SellerGivebest Store
Best Sellers Rank#22,304 overall; #60 in Electric Space Heaters (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Popularity and safety features lead. It holds the best rank on this page, #22,304 overall and #60 in Electric Space Heaters, and the listing says an “ETL-listed system provides tip-over and overheat protection,” the only pick that lists tip-over protection.

Control is the broadest among the 120-volt picks: “WiFi, Remote & Touch,” a “built-in precision thermostat” and a “smart ECO mode.” The Shinic has only a pull string. GiveBest also mounts on a wall “to save valuable floor space,” and weighs 7.23 pounds, by far the lightest listed weight here.

The limits are GiveBest’s own: it “rapidly warms well-insulated spaces ≤200 sq.ft.” and is “Not applicable for long-distance heating in rooms larger than 200 square feet or unobstructed spaces.” That rules out most open two-car garages. The size field’s 1.97 x 1.97 x 1.97 inches is a placeholder, the warranty field is empty, and the seller is the Givebest Store rather than Amazon.com.

Choose it for a finished garage room, an insulated hobby corner or a small workshop where app control is handy. For an uninsulated full garage, a 240-volt or gas pick makes more sense.

Pros

  • Wi-Fi app, remote and touch controls
  • Listing says “ETL-listed” with tip-over and overheat protection
  • Thermostat plus ECO mode
  • Best sales rank here: #22,304 overall
  • Mounts on a wall to save floor space

Cons

  • GiveBest limits it to well-insulated spaces up to 200 sq ft
  • 1,500 W is modest for a full garage
  • Size field reads 1.97 x 1.97 x 1.97 in (a placeholder)
  • Warranty field empty

Best for: Someone heating a small, insulated workshop corner or finished garage room on a regular 120-volt outlet.

Check Price on Amazon →

6. Mr. Heater Big Maxx 50,000 BTU Unit Heater (F260550): Best Gas Unit Heater

Mr. Heater Big Maxx 50,000 BTU Unit Heater (F260550)

Mr. Heater’s Big Maxx F260550 is a ceiling-mounted forced-air unit heater that burns natural gas or propane and blows the heat across a garage, barn or workshop. The listing rates it at 50,000 BTUs and claims it heats up to 1,667 square feet, which Mr. Heater compares to roughly a three-car garage.

Unlike every other pick, it is a permanent gas appliance. On its own product page, Mr. Heater describes Category 1 vertical and Category 3 horizontal venting, a half-inch gas connection, a natural gas to liquid propane conversion kit in the box and a requirement for 115-volt AC power to run the fan. The maker also tells buyers to check local codes and restrictions, which in practice means a licensed gas installer and possibly a permit.

Control comes from a wall thermostat you buy separately; the listing says it works with standard 24-volt or Wi-Fi thermostats. Safety features named on the listing are a high-temperature safety shut-off switch and a gas safety shut-off flame sensor. The low-profile design still needs a minimum 10-foot ceiling and 8 feet of clearance from the base of the heater to the floor, per the listing. Mr. Heater’s site states a three-year warranty on parts and burners and 10 years on heat exchanger defects; the Amazon warranty field is empty.

It suits owners of large attached or detached garages who already have gas service and want thermostat-controlled heat through the whole winter.

Why we like it

  • Biggest coverage claim here
  • Vented, permanent installation
  • Thermostat-ready

Watch out for

The heater is only part of the cost: gas piping, a vent run, a thermostat and a professional installer all come on top.

Key Specifications

TypeVented forced-air gas unit heater, ceiling mount
Output50,000 BTU (propane or natural gas, per title)
Coverage claimUp to 1,667 sq ft, about a 3-car garage
MountingCeiling; 10 ft ceiling minimum, 8 ft from heater base to floor
Listed size / weight15 x 29 x 26 in / 60.3 lb
Size15 x 29 x 26 in
Listed weight60.3 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
ModelF260550; made by Enerco Group Inc.
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#23,005 overall; #15 in Heaters & Accessories (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Scale is the reason to look. At “50,000 BTUs” with a claim to “heat up to 1,667 sq ft, or approximately a 3-car garage,” it has the largest output and coverage claim on this page, about double the Comfort Zone’s 7,500 watts by our math.

Safety features on the listing are a “High temperature safety shut-off switch and gas safety shut-off flame sensor.” It is “Compatible with standard 24-volt or new Wi-Fi enabled thermostats (sold separately).” Mr. Heater’s product page adds Category 1 vertical and Category 3 horizontal venting, a propane conversion kit and a three-year parts-and-burners warranty, with 10 years on heat exchanger defects.

Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #15 in Heaters & Accessories and #23,005 overall, second only to the GiveBest. The Amazon warranty field is empty, and at a listed 60.3 pounds (70 on the maker’s site) and 15 x 29 x 26 inches it is the heaviest and largest pick. The listing requires “minimum 10 ft. ceiling height and 8 ft. clearance” below the heater.

Owners of big garages with gas service and room for a vent run get furnace-style heat here. If you lack a gas line or a 10-foot ceiling, an electric pick is the simpler route.

Pros

  • 50,000 BTU; coverage claim up to 1,667 sq ft
  • High-temperature shut-off and flame-sensor gas shut-off, per the listing
  • Works with 24-volt or Wi-Fi thermostats (sold separately)
  • Maker lists a natural gas to propane conversion kit
  • Sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • Needs gas piping, venting and 115V power: a pro install
  • Heaviest pick: 60.3 lb listed (Mr. Heater’s site says 70)
  • Thermostat not included
  • Warranty field empty on Amazon

Best for: A homeowner with a large garage, a gas supply and a budget for professional installation who wants furnace-style heat.

Check Price on Amazon →

How We Chose the Best Garage Heaters

We started with heaters in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store, then compared what each listing actually states:

  • Power source: 120-volt plug-in, 240-volt hardwired or plug-in, or gas, because your panel and gas supply decide what you can install.
  • Output and coverage: watts or BTUs, with each coverage figure attributed to the brand.
  • Controls: thermostat, timer, remote or app.
  • Listed safety features: overheat shut-off, tip-over protection, flame sensors, and any UL, cUL or ETL mark the listing names.
  • Mounting: ceiling, wall or floor, and how much clearance it needs.
  • Evidence: the warranty field, listed size and weight, and Amazon sales rank, with blank or placeholder fields flagged.
A workbench with hand tools

Garage Heater Buying Guide

Best Electric Garage Heater: 120V or 240V?

Start at the breaker panel. A 120-volt heater plugs into an ordinary outlet but tops out around 1,500 watts, about 5,100 BTU per hour by our math, which suits a bench, one bay or a small insulated room. The GiveBest UPH300M and the Shinic pair are the 120-volt options here. A 240-volt heater delivers four to five times that output but needs a dedicated circuit. If you heat only a corner of the house rather than the garage, our guide to the best space heater covers smaller portable models.

Best 240V Garage Heater

Three picks run on 240 volts. The Comfort Zone CZ230ER (7,500 W) and Dr. Infrared DR-966 (3,000/6,000 W) are hardwired; the InoKraft (7,500 W) arrives with a NEMA 14-50P plug. By our math, 7,500 watts at 240 volts draws a little over 31 amps, so circuit size, wire gauge and breaker are decisions for a licensed electrician, not guesswork. InoKraft’s own listing says installation must be done by a professional electrician.

A house and garage in winter snow

Best Propane Garage Heater

Fuel-burning heaters bring a second hazard besides fire: carbon monoxide. NFPA’s carbon monoxide safety page lists propane and natural gas among the fuels that create CO when they burn incompletely, and names fuel-burning heating equipment as a potential source in the home. That is why our only gas pick is the Mr. Heater Big Maxx, a vented unit heater meant for permanent installation. Its product page describes vertical and horizontal venting and tells buyers to check local codes. Portable tank-top and forced-air propane heaters are a different category: read the label, and if it says outdoor use only, it does not belong in a closed garage.

Best Infrared Garage Heater

Radiant (infrared) heaters warm the people and objects they face instead of heating all the air first. That makes them a good fit for drafty or uninsulated garages where you stand in one spot. The Shinic quartz heaters are the radiant picks here and add a work light. Fan-forced heaters like the Comfort Zone and InoKraft are the better choice when you want the whole space to reach a set temperature.

A person working on a project in a garage

Best Ceiling Mounted Garage Heater

Ceiling mounting keeps cords and hot surfaces off the floor where you roll creepers, park bikes and stack lumber. The Comfort Zone, Shinic pair and Mr. Heater mount overhead; the Dr. Infrared and InoKraft can go on a wall or the ceiling. The Mr. Heater listing calls for a minimum 10-foot ceiling and 8 feet from the base of the heater to the floor, so measure before you buy.

Thermostats, Timers and Controls

A thermostat stops a heater from running flat out all afternoon. The Comfort Zone, InoKraft and GiveBest list built-in thermostats, the Dr. Infrared has a HIGH/LOW thermostat, and the Mr. Heater connects to a wall thermostat sold separately. The Shinic has a pull-string switch only, so you control it by hand.

A home electrical panel

Garage Heater Safety: Clearance, CO and Wiring

NFPA’s heating safety page says space heaters account for one-third of home heating equipment fires but nearly nine out of ten of the deaths, based on 2016–2020 annual averages. The U.S. Fire Administration’s heating fire safety guidance says to keep anything that can burn at least 3 feet from all heat sources, including space heaters, and to turn space heaters off when you leave the room or go to bed.

  • Clear the 3-foot zone. Gas cans, paint, rags, cardboard and sawdust stay well away from any heater, even one mounted overhead.
  • Store fuels outside the garage. USFA’s basement and garage fire safety page advises storing oil, gasoline, paints, propane and varnishes in a shed away from the home, and recommends a heat alarm, not a smoke alarm, in the garage. Keep smoke alarms inside the house; see our best smoke detector guide.
  • Add CO alarms if anything burns fuel. USFA’s carbon monoxide page says CO poisoning can occur when a fuel-burning heater is not working or vented properly, and advises CO alarms outside each sleeping area and on every level. Compare models in our best carbon monoxide detector guide. NFPA also warns never to run a vehicle or other fueled engine indoors, even with the garage door open.
  • Plug directly into the wall. USFA’s appliance and electrical safety page warns against overloading outlets and power strips, so give a plug-in heater its own wall outlet. Hardwired 240-volt and gas units belong to a licensed electrician or gas installer.
  • Keep an extinguisher by the door. A garage workshop is a good place for one; see our best fire extinguisher guide.
The inside of a small home workshop

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best electric garage heater?

For a garage with a spare 240-volt circuit, the Comfort Zone CZ230ER is our top pick: 7,500 watts, a digital thermostat, a remote and a 12-hour timer, with a 1,250-square-foot coverage claim. On 120 volts only, the GiveBest wall heater or Shinic radiant pair are better fits for small spaces.

Do I need an electrician for a 240V garage heater?

Plan on one. The Comfort Zone and Dr. Infrared heaters are hardwired, and InoKraft’s listing for its plug-in model says installation must be performed by a professional electrician. By our math a 7,500-watt heater draws a little over 31 amps at 240 volts, so circuit sizing is a job for a pro.

Is a propane garage heater safe to use indoors?

Only if it is designed and installed for that use. Burning propane or natural gas can create carbon monoxide, according to NFPA. Our gas pick is a vented unit heater meant for professional installation. Any portable propane heater labeled outdoor use only should never run in a closed garage, and any fuel-burning heater calls for working CO alarms.

Are infrared garage heaters good for uninsulated garages?

They can be. Radiant heaters like the Shinic quartz units warm the people and objects in front of them rather than heating all the air first, so they work well for spot heat at a bench. They do not have thermostats, so they will not hold a set room temperature.

How high should a ceiling mounted garage heater be?

Follow the manual for your model. The Mr. Heater Big Maxx listing calls for a minimum 10-foot ceiling and 8 feet from the heater’s base to the floor. Whatever the height, USFA advises keeping anything that can burn at least 3 feet from heat sources.

The Bottom Line

For most garages with a 240-volt circuit available, the Comfort Zone CZ230ER is the best garage heater here: ceiling mounted, thermostat controlled and backed by a stated one-year warranty. The Dr. Infrared DR-966 adds a stated UL/cUL listing and two power levels, and the InoKraft suits garages with a 14-50 outlet. On 120 volts, the Shinic pair gives instant radiant heat and light at the bench, and the GiveBest wall heater handles a small insulated room. For big garages with gas service, the vented Mr. Heater Big Maxx is the furnace-style option. Whichever you choose, keep the 3-foot zone clear and keep CO and smoke alarms working in the house.

Adding a hardwired or gas heater to your garage? Ask your agent how it fits with your policy, and read our Ohio homeowners insurance guide. Call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or get a free coverage review.

Get a Free Quote from Jeff’s Portsmouth Office

Questions about your coverage? Call or email Jeff Smith’s State Farm agency — no-pressure quotes, local expertise, same-day response.