Home & Kitchen Guides

Grams, Tenths or 33 Pounds? The Best Kitchen Scale for Baking, Coffee and Meal Prep

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.

The best kitchen scale is the one whose numbers match your recipes. A bread baker scaling up a double batch needs capacity. A pour-over coffee drinker wants readings finer than a gram. Someone portioning lunches mostly needs a fast tare button and units that match the nutrition label.

We compared six digital scales using their Amazon listings: maximum capacity, resolution (1 g versus 0.1 g), units, tare and hold, battery type, platform material and the warranty field. Accuracy claims are each brand’s own, and we flag gaps where a listing leaves out something you’d expect, such as battery type or a water-resistance rating. Every pick was listed in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store when we checked.

One honest note on price: all six land in our lowest price tier. A good kitchen scale is cheap, so the real decision is capacity, resolution and features.

Our Top Kitchen Scale Picks at a Glance

ProductKey featuresPriceAction
Escali Primo Digital Food Scale
Escali Primo Digital Food ScaleBest Overall · Flat-platform digital scaleBest for: Everyday cooking and baking with simple controls
  • Sealed panel guards against spills
  • Two-button simplicity
  • 1 g readings to 5,000 g
$ Buy Now →Check current price
Amazon Basics Digital Kitchen Scale
Amazon Basics Digital Kitchen ScaleBest Budget · Flat-platform digital scaleBest for: A low-cost first scale for everyday cooking
  • Five units, including ml
  • Batteries included
  • Compact stainless platform
$ Buy Now →Check current price
Etekcity 0.1g Food Kitchen Scale with Bowl
Etekcity 0.1g Food Kitchen Scale with BowlBest for Coffee and Precision · Digital scale with detachable bowlBest for: Pour-over coffee, spices and small amounts
  • 0.1 g steps under 1,000 g
  • Flip bowl doubles as cover
  • Milk and water density settings
$ Buy Now →Check current price
Greater Goods 22 lb Digital Food Scale
Greater Goods 22 lb Digital Food ScaleBest for Big-Batch Baking · High-capacity flat digital scaleBest for: Sourdough, holiday baking and heavy bowls
  • 22 lb capacity
  • Display clears big bowls
  • Five-year warranty field
$ Buy Now →Check current price
Nicewell 22 lb Digital Kitchen Scale
Nicewell 22 lb Digital Kitchen ScaleBest Large Platform · Glass and stainless flat scaleBest for: Wide plates, bowls and baking sheets
  • Widest stated platform
  • Four load sensors
  • Hanging hook for storage
$ Buy Now →Check current price
GGQ 33 lb Rechargeable Food Scale
GGQ 33 lb Rechargeable Food ScaleBest High-Capacity Rechargeable · Rechargeable high-capacity scaleBest for: The heaviest batches and skipping disposable batteries
  • 33 lb capacity
  • Rechargeable, per title
  • Lightest scale here
$ Buy Now →Check current price

Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.

1. Escali Primo Digital Food Scale: Best Overall

Escali Primo Digital Food Scale

Escali’s Primo is a flat digital food scale with a rounded body and just two buttons: one to power it on and off and one to tare. Escali describes it as multifunctional and pitches it for baking, cooking and portion control, and the listing gives its size as 8.5 x 6 x 1.5 inches.

Day to day, you set a bowl on the platform, press tare to zero out the bowl’s weight, then add ingredients until you hit the number in your recipe. Press tare again and you can add the next ingredient to the same bowl, which is how many bakers cut down on dishes. When you walk away, the scale turns itself off after four minutes of inactivity, which Escali says helps conserve battery life.

Capacity is 11 pounds, or 5,000 grams, and readings come in 0.05 ounce (1 gram) increments. The listing names three units: ounces, pounds and ounces, and grams. The display and controls are sealed under a protective shield, which Escali says guards against accidental spills, and the sealed panel and rounded design are meant to make it easy to keep clean. It comes in a wide range of colors; we link to the Chrome version.

It suits most home kitchens: bakers following gram-based recipes, cooks who want to portion meat or pasta, and anyone who prefers fewer buttons. If you measure liquids by milliliter on the scale or need more than 11 pounds, look at the other picks.

Why we like it

  • Sealed panel guards against spills
  • Two-button simplicity
  • 1 g readings to 5,000 g

Watch out for

The listing doesn’t name the battery type, lists only three units and gives two different warranty terms.

Key Specifications

TypeFlat-platform digital scale
Capacity11 lb (5,000 g)
Resolution0.05 oz (1 g)
Unitsoz, lb:oz, g
Auto-offAfter four minutes of inactivity
Size8 x 6 x 1.2 in
Listed weight0.95 pounds
Warranty5 Year Limited Warranty
ModelP115
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#918 overall; #12 in Digital Scales (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Simplicity wins here. Escali describes “easy to use two-button operation” with a “Sealed control panel and rounded design,” and says the display and controls are “sealed under a protective shield to guard against accidental spills.”

Capacity is “11 lb (5,000 g)” with readings “in 0.05 oz (1 g) increments,” and “Automatic shut-off” turns it off after “four minutes of inactivity.” Amazon.com is the seller. It ranks #12 in Digital Scales and #918 overall, and the specs list 8 x 6 x 1.2 inches and 0.95 pounds, against the 8.5 x 6 x 1.5 inches in the title.

Gaps matter. Only three units are listed (“oz, lb:oz, g”), the fewest here, so no milliliters. The battery type isn’t stated. The warranty field reads “5 Year Limited Warranty” while a bullet says “Lifetime warranty,” so confirm the term. Its 11-pound limit trails the 22-pound Greater Goods and Nicewell and the 33-pound GGQ.

Everyday cooks and bakers who want a sealed, no-fuss scale should start with it. Anyone who measures liquids in milliliters or weighs heavy batches should pick another model.

Pros

  • 11 lb (5,000 g) capacity in 1 g (0.05 oz) steps
  • Sealed control panel and display, per listing
  • Two-button operation
  • Auto-off after four minutes of inactivity
  • Warranty field: “5 Year Limited Warranty”
  • Sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • Only three units (oz, lb:oz, g); no ml or fl oz listed
  • Battery type not stated in the listing
  • Listing bullet says “Lifetime warranty,” the warranty field says 5 years
  • No hold function listed

Best for: A home cook who wants a simple, sealed two-button scale for everyday recipes up to 11 pounds.

Check Price on Amazon →

2. Amazon Basics Digital Kitchen Scale: Best Budget

Amazon Basics Digital Kitchen Scale

Amazon’s house-brand kitchen scale is a flat digital model with a stainless steel platform, a wide LCD screen and a black body. The listing describes food-safe, BPA-free plastic components and gives its dimensions as 8.3 x 7 x 1.3 inches, a footprint that slides into a drawer or stands on edge in a cabinet.

Daily use is as simple as it gets. You press the tare button to subtract the container, then read the food’s weight. The scale handles up to 11 pounds, with a 2 gram minimum and a top end of about 5,000 grams, which covers most single recipes, a pound of ground beef or a bag of flour being divided into storage jars.

The listing names five display units: pounds, ounces, grams, fluid ounces and milliliters. That range helps when a recipe gives water or milk by volume and you’d rather pour straight into the bowl on the scale. It is battery operated, and two AAA batteries come in the box, so it works the day it arrives.

It suits first-time buyers, students and anyone who weighs food a few times a week. People who need finer than gram-level readings for coffee, or more capacity for big batches of dough, will want a different pick.

Why we like it

  • Five units, including ml
  • Batteries included
  • Compact stainless platform

Watch out for

The listing doesn’t state the increment, auto-off timing or a warranty term.

Key Specifications

TypeFlat-platform digital scale
Capacity11 lb (about 5,000 g); 2 g minimum
Unitslb, oz, g, fl oz, ml
PlatformStainless steel
Power2 AAA batteries (included)
Size8.25 x 7 x 1.25 in
Listed weight0.84 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
ModelEK3211; made by Amazon
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#43 overall; #2 in Digital Scales (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Popularity is the headline: at #2 in Digital Scales and #43 overall, the Amazon Basics scale has the best sales rank on this page by a wide margin.

The listing promises “food-safe, BPA-free plastic components,” a “Stainless steel platform with wide LCD screen,” and a “Tare button for measuring just the food, minus the container weight.” It “Weighs up to 11 pounds (2 grams minimum, up to about 5000 grams)” and shows “pounds, ounces, grams, fluid ounces, and ml.” Two AAA batteries are included, and Amazon.com sells it. Listed weight is 0.84 pounds.

What’s missing? The listing never states the increment, while every other pick here gives one. The warranty field is empty, so the term isn’t stated, and there is no auto-off or hold function in the bullets, unlike the Escali, Greater Goods and GGQ. Capacity matches the Escali and Etekcity at 11 pounds.

Shoppers who want a cheap, popular first scale for recipes and portioning will be well served. Coffee brewers and big-batch bakers should look at the Etekcity or a 22-pound model.

Pros

  • Best sales rank here: #2 in Digital Scales, #43 overall
  • Five units, including ml and fl oz
  • Stainless steel platform with wide LCD
  • 2 AAA batteries included
  • Sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • Resolution (increment) not stated
  • Warranty field is empty: not stated
  • No auto-off or hold function listed
  • Plastic components alongside the steel platform

Best for: A shopper who wants a basic, well-known scale for portioning and recipes without spending much.

Check Price on Amazon →

3. Etekcity 0.1g Food Kitchen Scale with Bowl: Best for Coffee and Precision

Etekcity 0.1g Food Kitchen Scale with Bowl

Etekcity’s 0.1g scale pairs a stainless steel base with a detachable bowl that flips up for weighing and down as a protective cover for storage. The listing calls the bowl a space-saving design, and you can also weigh directly on the platform without it.

Its headline feature is what Etekcity calls dual increments: below 1,000 grams the scale reads in 0.1 gram steps, and from 1,000 to 5,000 grams it reads in 1 gram steps. In practice, that means a 20-gram dose of coffee beans, a teaspoon of yeast or a pinch of salt shows a decimal place, while a big bowl of dough reads to the whole gram. The listing also states a 1 gram minimum measurement, so very tiny amounts may not register.

Capacity is 11 pounds, or 5 kilograms, across five units: ounces, pounds, grams, fluid ounces and milliliters, plus a setting that switches between milk and water density for liquids. A backlit display measuring 2.4 x 1.1 inches is meant to be easier to read. Etekcity lists uses from meat and pet food to coffee, mail and jewelry.

It suits coffee brewers, bakers who work with small amounts of leavening or spice, and anyone who wants a bowl included. If you mostly weigh large roasts or batches over 11 pounds, a higher-capacity pick fits better.

Why we like it

  • 0.1 g steps under 1,000 g
  • Flip bowl doubles as cover
  • Milk and water density settings

Watch out for

Fine readings stop at 1,000 g, and the listing doesn’t say what batteries it takes.

Key Specifications

TypeDigital scale with detachable bowl
Capacity11 lb / 5 kg
Resolution0.1 g under 1,000 g; 1 g from 1,000 to 5,000 g
Unitsoz, lb, g, fl oz, mL; milk and water density
ExtrasDetachable flip bowl; backlit display
Size8.4 x 6.7 x 1.3 in
Listed weight1.3 pounds
Warranty2 Years Warranty
ModelEK5250
SellerAmazon.com
Best Sellers Rank#3,106 overall; #22 in Digital Scales (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Decimal places set it apart. Etekcity lists “Unique Dual Increments: <1000g, 0.1g; 1000-5000g,1g,” the only sub-gram resolution among our picks.

It also has the only bowl here: “Flip up and down for usage and storage,” with a “Detachable design” that works as “a space saving protective cover.” Units are “oz, lb, g, fl: oz, and mL” plus “switching between milk and water density.” The backlit display measures “2.4 x 1.1 in.” The warranty field reads “2 Years Warranty,” and Amazon.com is the seller.

Weak spots: it ranks #22 in Digital Scales and #3,106 overall, the lowest here. The listing says “Minimum Measurements: 1g” alongside the 0.1 g claim, so very small doses may not register, and fine readings stop at 1,000 g. No battery type is named. At a listed 1.3 pounds, it’s second heaviest after the Nicewell.

Pour-over brewers and bakers who weigh yeast or spices should choose it. Cooks who mostly weigh large cuts or big batches will get more from a 22-pound scale.

Pros

  • Only 0.1 g readings here (under 1,000 g)
  • Only pick with a detachable bowl
  • Five units plus milk and water density settings
  • Backlit 2.4 x 1.1 in display
  • Warranty field: “2 Years Warranty”
  • Sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • Weakest rank here: #22 in Digital Scales, #3,106 overall
  • 1 g steps above 1,000 g
  • Battery type not stated in the listing
  • Listing also says “Minimum Measurements: 1g”

Best for: A coffee brewer or baker who wants tenth-of-a-gram readings for small amounts and a bowl that doubles as a cover.

Check Price on Amazon →

4. Greater Goods 22 lb Digital Food Scale: Best for Big-Batch Baking

Greater Goods 22 lb Digital Food Scale

Greater Goods built this scale for bulk cooking and prep, and the listing names meal prep, holiday baking, sourdough and grilling as its jobs. It weighs up to 22 pounds, or 10 kilograms, in 1 gram increments, and the brand is upfront that it is not for laboratory or microgram measurements.

The display is the practical highlight. Greater Goods says the LCD extends beyond the weighing platform, so a wide mixing bowl is less likely to hide the numbers. A ZERO button resets the scale for meal prep containers, mixing bowls and Dutch ovens, and a HOLD button keeps a reading on screen for up to 5 minutes, handy when the bowl is too big to read around. Left alone, it shuts off after 2 minutes to save batteries.

It reads in six units: grams, milliliters, fluid ounces, ounces, pounds and lb:oz. The surface is stainless steel with touch-sensitive controls, which the brand says resist stains and buildup. It runs on 3 AAA batteries, which are included, and the listing gives its size as 7.6 x 5.6 x 1.3 inches. Greater Goods backs it with a 5-year limited warranty and lifetime support from its St. Louis team.

It suits sourdough bakers, holiday cookie marathons and anyone who preps big batches in heavy cookware. Coffee brewers who want tenths of a gram should look elsewhere.

Why we like it

  • 22 lb capacity
  • Display clears big bowls
  • Five-year warranty field

Watch out for

It reads only to the gram, and the brand says it is not meant for laboratory-level measurements.

Key Specifications

TypeHigh-capacity flat digital scale
Capacity22 lb (10 kg)
Resolution1 g
Unitsg, ml, fl oz, oz, lb, lb:oz
Power3 AAA batteries (included)
Size7.87 x 6.1 x 1.46 in
Listed weight0.81 pounds
WarrantyYour scale is warranted by the manufacturer against defects in materials and workmanship for five (5) years from the original purchaser from the date of purchase. Proof of purchase is required.
Model0471
SellerGreater Goods™
Best Sellers Rank#1,469 overall; #14 in Digital Scales (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Think heavy bowls. Greater Goods says it “weighs up to 22 lb (10 kg) with 1 g precision” and names “meal prep, holiday baking, sourdough, or grilling” as targets.

The “Hi-Def LCD display extends beyond the weighing platform for better visibility under large mixing bowls,” “HOLD” keeps readings “on screen for up to 5 minutes,” and “auto shut-off after 2 minutes” saves battery. It reads in six units, the most here alongside the Etekcity’s density modes. The warranty field states five years from purchase, tied with the Escali for the longest. Greater Goods’ own store is the seller.

Trade-offs exist. Resolution is 1 g, and the listing says it is “Not for laboratory or microgram measurements.” It takes 3 AAA batteries, one more than the Amazon Basics and Nicewell. It ranks #14 in Digital Scales and #1,469 overall, middle of this group. Listed weight is 0.81 pounds.

Sourdough bakers and batch cooks who weigh in big bowls or Dutch ovens should consider it first. Coffee brewers needing tenths of a gram should skip it.

Pros

  • 22 lb (10 kg) capacity in 1 g steps
  • Six units, including lb:oz and ml
  • Display extends past the platform
  • HOLD up to 5 minutes; auto-off after 2 minutes
  • Warranty field: five years from purchase
  • Sold by Greater Goods, the brand’s own store

Cons

  • No sub-gram readings
  • Says it is “Not for laboratory or microgram measurements”
  • Needs 3 AAA batteries, one more than most here
  • #14 in Digital Scales, #1,469 overall

Best for: A baker or batch cook who weighs heavy mixing bowls and Dutch ovens and wants a long warranty.

Check Price on Amazon →

5. Nicewell 22 lb Digital Kitchen Scale: Best Large Platform

Nicewell 22 lb Digital Kitchen Scale

Nicewell’s 22-pound scale has a 9 x 6.3 inch platform, the largest stated on any scale in this guide, with a large LCD display. The listing describes tempered glass for strong bearing and a sleek stainless steel top surface that Nicewell calls anti-fingerprint and easy to clean, plus an attached hook so you can hang it on a wall or inside a cabinet door.

Inside, Nicewell says four high-precision load sensors respond in 1 gram or 0.1 ounce increments as you add ingredients. The measuring range runs from 0.1 ounce, or 3 grams, up to 22 pounds, or 10 kilograms, so it handles a whole chicken, a large tray of cookie dough or a batch of bread.

Units cover grams, kilograms, pounds and ounces, fluid ounces and milliliters. A tare button subtracts the plate or container. Two AAA batteries are included, and the listing says the company stands behind its scales and invites buyers to reach out with any issues.

It suits cooks who weigh on dinner plates, sheet pans or wide mixing bowls and want a roomy platform that doesn’t hide the display. At a listed 9 x 6.2 x 0.8 inches, it is slim enough for most drawers, though it needs a wider spot than the compact picks.

Why we like it

  • Widest stated platform
  • Four load sensors
  • Hanging hook for storage

Watch out for

It doesn’t list auto-off or hold, and it won’t register anything under 3 grams.

Key Specifications

TypeGlass and stainless flat scale
Capacity22 lb (10 kg); 3 g minimum
Resolution1 g or 0.1 oz
Platform9 x 6.3 in; tempered glass, stainless top surface
Unitsg, kg, lb:oz, fl.oz, ml
Size9 x 6.2 x 0.8 in
Listed weight1.33 pounds
Warranty2 Year Manufacturer
ModelMQD-C018
SellerNicewell Direct
Best Sellers Rank#696 overall; #9 in Digital Scales (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Room to work is the reason to pick it. Nicewell lists a “9″x6.3″ platform,” the largest stated platform among our six, with a “Large lcd display.”

The listing describes “four high-precision load sensors” reading in “1g or 0.1oz increments,” a range of “0.1oz to 22 lbs and 3g to 10kg,” “tempered glass for strong bearing” with a “stainless steel top surface,” and “a attached hook for convenient storage.” Two AAA batteries are included. It ranks #9 in Digital Scales and #696 overall, the seller is Nicewell Direct, and the warranty field reads “2 Year Manufacturer.”

On the downside, it is the heaviest scale here at a listed 1.33 pounds. The bullets mention no auto-off or hold function, unlike the Greater Goods, which matches its 22-pound capacity. The 3 g minimum is higher than the Amazon Basics’ 2 g.

Cooks who weigh on wide plates, sheet pans or large bowls will like the extra platform space. If you want auto-off and a hold button at the same capacity, the Greater Goods covers both.

Pros

  • Biggest stated platform here: 9 x 6.3 in
  • 22 lb capacity in 1 g or 0.1 oz steps
  • Four load sensors, per listing
  • Storage hook on the body
  • Warranty field: “2 Year Manufacturer”
  • Sold by Nicewell Direct, the brand’s store

Cons

  • Heaviest listed weight here: 1.33 lb
  • 3 g minimum weight
  • No auto-off listed
  • No hold function listed

Best for: A cook who weighs on wide plates or big bowls and wants room to see the screen.

Check Price on Amazon →

6. GGQ 33 lb Rechargeable Food Scale: Best High-Capacity Rechargeable

GGQ 33 lb Rechargeable Food Scale

GGQ’s food scale stretches capacity further than any other pick here: up to 33 pounds, or 15 kilograms, with 1 gram graduation from 3 grams up. The title calls it rechargeable, and the listing describes four high-precision load sensors under a 7.5 x 5.5 inch panel.

Day to day, it works like any flat scale: set down a mug, plate or bowl, press tare, and weigh nuts, grains, powders, fruit or milk. Touch controls sit beside an LCD screen. After 2 minutes without use it turns itself off, and the listing describes a low-power alarm and an overload warning, useful when you push a heavy stockpot toward the 33-pound limit.

GGQ calls the weighing panel waterproof and anti-collision glass, and elsewhere describes it as stainless steel. No water-resistance rating is given, so treat it as wipe-clean rather than washable. Four no-slip rubber feet and a hanging hook round out the design, and five units cover grams, kilograms, pounds and ounces, ounces and milliliters.

It suits people who cook in big batches, brine whole birds or weigh homebrew ingredients by the kilo, and anyone tired of swapping AAA batteries. The listing doesn’t say what kind of battery is inside or how it charges, so check the manual when it arrives.

Why we like it

  • 33 lb capacity
  • Rechargeable, per title
  • Lightest scale here

Watch out for

The listing leaves out battery details and a warranty term, and its waterproof claim has no rating.

Key Specifications

TypeRechargeable high-capacity scale
Capacity33 lb / 15 kg; 3 g minimum
Resolution1 g
Unitsg, kg, lb:oz, oz, ml
PowerRechargeable, per title; details not stated
Size8 x 5 x 0.7 in
Listed weight0.55 pounds
WarrantyNot stated in listing
Model01scale-15kg
SellerGGQ-US
Best Sellers Rank#308 overall; #6 in Digital Scales (Oct 2026)

Why We Recommend It

Capacity tops the page: GGQ lists “1g precise graduation from 0.1oz/3g to 33 lbs/15kg,” 11 pounds more than the next-largest picks.

The title says “Rechargeable,” the only pick that does. The listing adds a “2min Auto-off function,” a “Power-low alarm and overload remind,” a “Hanging hook and 4 no-slip rubbers,” and a “7.5″ x 5.5″ in stainless steel panel.” At a listed 0.55 pounds it is the lightest here, and it ranks #6 in Digital Scales and #308 overall, second only to the Amazon Basics. GGQ-US, the brand’s store, is the seller.

Read the gaps carefully. The warranty field is empty; the listing offers “12 Months Support” instead. Battery chemistry and charging port aren’t stated. The panel is called “waterproof Anti-collision glass” in one bullet and stainless steel in another, and no water rating is given.

Big-batch cooks and anyone tired of AAA batteries should consider it. Shoppers who want a clear warranty term or sub-gram readings should choose the Greater Goods or Etekcity.

Pros

  • Highest capacity here: 33 lb / 15 kg
  • Only rechargeable pick, per title
  • Lightest listed weight here: 0.55 lb
  • Second-best rank: #6 in Digital Scales, #308 overall
  • Auto-off after 2 minutes; low-power and overload alerts

Cons

  • Warranty field is empty; listing offers “12 Months Support”
  • Battery type and charging port not stated
  • “Waterproof” claim with no rating given
  • Panel described as both glass and stainless steel

Best for: A batch cook or home brewer who weighs heavy pots and would rather recharge than buy batteries.

Check Price on Amazon →

How We Chose the Best Kitchen Scales

We compared Amazon listings, the specs each listing reports and sales rank, and we quote only what the listings say:

  • Capacity: 11, 22 or 33 pounds, plus any stated minimum weight.
  • Resolution: 1 g versus 0.1 g steps, as listed, or flagged as not stated.
  • Tare, hold and units: grams, ounces, pounds, milliliters and fluid ounces.
  • Power: AAA batteries, rechargeable or not stated, and auto-off timing.
  • Platform and cleaning: stainless steel, glass, sealed controls and any water claim.
  • Seller and stock: every pick was in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store, with one model per brand.
Spooning flour into a bowl

Kitchen Scale Buying Guide

Best Digital Kitchen Scale Basics: Capacity, Resolution and Tare

Every pick here is digital and has a tare or zero button, which is the feature you’ll use most. Capacity runs from 11 pounds (Escali, Amazon Basics, Etekcity) to 22 pounds (Greater Goods, Nicewell) and 33 pounds (GGQ). Resolution is 1 gram on most scales; the Etekcity is the only one that reads in 0.1 gram steps, and only under 1,000 grams. The Amazon Basics listing doesn’t state an increment at all.

Best Kitchen Scale for Baking

Weighing beats scooping for flour. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) calls measuring ingredients by mass with an appropriate kitchen scale a best practice for recipe accuracy, rather than measuring by volume with cups. Bakers who make big batches in a stand mixer bowl should look at 22 pounds or more, and a display that clears the bowl, like the Greater Goods, helps.

Hands kneading dough on a floured board

Best Coffee Scale: When 0.1 g Matters

Pour-over recipes are often written as a ratio of coffee to water in grams, and a few tenths of a gram matter on a 15- to 25-gram dose. The Etekcity’s 0.1 g steps under 1,000 grams cover the coffee dose and a single-cup pour. None of these is a dedicated coffee scale with a built-in timer. If you are building a pour-over setup, our pour-over kettle guide covers the other half.

Coffee brewing in a pour-over dripper

Best Food Scale for Weight Loss Tracking? Portioning Without Promises

Some listings mention weight loss or dieting. A scale only measures; it doesn’t change what you eat, and we don’t make diet or health claims. For portioning meals or matching a nutrition label, look for a fast tare, grams and ounces, and a hold button if your containers are large. Talk with your doctor or a registered dietitian about any eating plan. Weighing rice before it goes into a rice cooker is another everyday use.

Meal-prep containers stacked on a counter

Best Waterproof Kitchen Scale: Read the Fine Print

None of our six lists an IP water-resistance rating, and none is described as dishwasher safe or submersible. The Escali has a sealed control panel and display that the brand says guard against accidental spills, and GGQ calls its panel waterproof without giving a rating. Wipe scales with a damp cloth and keep them out of the sink unless the manual says otherwise.

Batteries, Auto-Off and Units

The Amazon Basics and Nicewell include 2 AAA batteries and the Greater Goods includes 3 AAA. The GGQ is rechargeable per its title. The Escali and Etekcity listings don’t name a battery type. Auto-off is listed at four minutes on the Escali and two minutes on the Greater Goods and GGQ. If you read recipes in milliliters, skip the Escali, the only pick with just three units.

Kitchen Safety Around Your Scale

A scale is low risk, but it lives next to the stove and often near a charger:

  • Stand by your pan. The U.S. Fire Administration calls cooking the leading cause of home fires and home fire injuries, and lists unattended equipment as the leading factor in nonconfined home cooking fires (37%). Weigh first, then cook.
  • Keep the scale off the stovetop. Plastic housings and LCDs aren’t built for heat, so weigh on the counter away from burners.
  • Treat rechargeable batteries with care. GGQ doesn’t say what battery its scale uses. For lithium-ion batteries, the USFA battery safety page says to stop using them if you notice odor, color change, too much heat, a change in shape, leaking or odd noises, and not to put them in the trash.
  • Coverage questions. Whether a kitchen fire or battery fire would be covered depends on your policy, so ask your agent. Our Ohio homeowners insurance guide and renters insurance cost guide explain the basics.
A mother and daughter baking together

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best kitchen scale for most people?

The Escali Primo is our overall pick: 11 pounds in 1 gram steps, a sealed control panel, two-button operation and auto-off after four minutes, sold by Amazon.com. Its warranty field reads “5 Year Limited Warranty.”

Do I need a 0.1 g scale?

Only for small amounts where a fraction of a gram matters, like coffee doses, yeast or spices. Among our picks, the Etekcity reads in 0.1 g steps under 1,000 grams. For flour, sugar and meat, 1 g resolution is plenty.

What is the best kitchen scale for baking big batches?

Look at capacity and the display. The Greater Goods and Nicewell weigh up to 22 pounds, and the GGQ up to 33 pounds. The Greater Goods display extends past the platform and has a 5-minute hold for large bowls.

Is there a waterproof kitchen scale here?

None of our picks lists an IP water-resistance rating. The Escali has a sealed control panel and display against spills, and GGQ calls its panel waterproof without a rating. Wipe them clean rather than rinsing or submerging them.

Should I choose a rechargeable or battery kitchen scale?

Rechargeable models like the GGQ skip disposable batteries, but its listing doesn’t say what battery it uses. AAA models like the Amazon Basics, Nicewell and Greater Goods include batteries and are easy to power back up with spares.

The Bottom Line

For most kitchens, the Escali Primo is the best kitchen scale: simple, sealed, 1 gram readings to 11 pounds. The Amazon Basics is the budget choice with the best sales rank, the Etekcity 0.1g handles coffee and small amounts, the Greater Goods and Nicewell step up to 22 pounds, and the rechargeable GGQ goes to 33 pounds.

Have questions about how your home or renters policy treats a kitchen fire? Call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or schedule a free coverage review.

Get a Free Quote from Jeff’s Portsmouth Office

Questions about your coverage? Call or email Jeff Smith’s State Farm agency — no-pressure quotes, local expertise, same-day response.