
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.
A plain power strip turns one outlet into several. A surge protector adds parts meant to absorb voltage spikes before they reach your TV, computer or chargers. The best surge protector for your home is one whose listing tells you how much protection it offers, how it was certified and how you’ll know it’s still working.
We compared seven models sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store: two 12-outlet strips, a 13-outlet heavy-duty strip, a USB-C strip with a stated UL 1449 conformance, a desk-clamp charging strip and two outlet-mounted wall taps. For each, we quote joule ratings, certifications and indicator lights exactly as the listing states them, and we flag where a listing leaves out a certification or a spec.
One caution before you shop: a surge protector is not a fix for an overloaded circuit. Space heaters, refrigerators and other high-power appliances belong in a wall outlet, not a strip, and we cover the other safety rules below.
Our Top Surge Protector Picks at a Glance
| Product | Key features | Price | Action |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector (8 ft)Best Overall · 12-outlet strip, 8 ft cordBest for: TVs, computers and home offices |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector, 4000 JBest Budget 12-Outlet Strip · 12-outlet strip, 8 ft cordBest for: Lots of outlets on a tight budget |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() PLUGTUL 12-Outlet Surge Protector, 4080 JBest With USB-C and a Stated UL 1449 · 12-outlet strip with USB, 5 ft cordBest for: TV stands and desks that need USB-C charging |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Anker Nano Power Strip, Desk Clamp, 70WBest for a Computer Desk · Desk-clamp strip with USB-C, 5 ft cordBest for: Laptops and phones at a desk |
|
$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() SUPERDANNY 13-Outlet Surge Protector, 5000 JBest High-Joule Strip for Home Theaters · 13-outlet strip with USB, 6.5 ft cordBest for: Big entertainment centers and workbenches |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Belkin 6-Outlet Wall Surge Protector, USB-CBest Outlet-Mounted With USB · Wall-mounted outlet extender, no cordBest for: Bedside, sofa and kitchen-counter charging |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Philips 6-Outlet Wall Tap, 900 JBest Basic Wall Tap · Wall-mounted outlet extender, no cordBest for: Lamps, chargers and small devices on a budget |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.
1. Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector (8 ft): Best Overall
Belkin’s 12-outlet strip is the kind of surge protector most homes need behind a TV stand or under a desk: a slim bar with a dozen AC outlets on an 8-foot cord. Belkin says the outlets are widely spaced to make room for bulky plugs and chargers, and the 3-prong plug is angled so it sits close to the wall in tight spaces.
Protection is the headline. The title rates it at 3,780 joules, while a bullet describes 3,940 joules of overcurrent and overload protection, so the exact figure depends on which line you read. The title calls it “UL-Listed,” and Belkin says it was independently lab tested and certified to meet or exceed UL safety standards. The listing does not name the specific UL standard or give a clamping voltage.
Day to day, a safety indicator light is the feature to watch. Belkin says it lets you know your devices are secure, or that your outlet needs adjusting. The strip can be wall-mounted, which keeps it off the floor and away from foot traffic. Belkin says the housing is made with at least 72% post-consumer recycled material.
Backing is strong for the price tier: a 2-year limited warranty plus a $300,000 Connected Equipment Warranty. It suits a home office, a gaming setup or an entertainment center where you need many outlets and don’t need USB charging built in.
Why we like it
- Twelve widely spaced outlets
- Protection indicator light
- Long 8 ft cord
Watch out for
The listing gives two different joule figures and no clamping voltage, so treat the joule rating as approximate.
Key Specifications
| Type | 12-outlet strip, 8 ft cord |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 12 AC |
| Joules (listing) | 3,780 (title) / 3,940 (bullets) |
| Cord | 8 ft (2.4 m), 3-prong angled plug |
| Listed size / weight | 13 x 4.13 x 0.7 in / 2 lb |
| Size | 13 x 4.13 x 0.7 in |
| Listed weight | 2 pounds |
| Warranty | 2 year limited warranty |
| Model | SRA009p12tt8 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #220 overall; #3 in Surge Protectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Popularity and paperwork both favor Belkin’s 12-outlet strip. It ranks #3 in Surge Protectors and #220 overall, Amazon.com sells it, and the title says “UL-Listed,” backed by a bullet saying it is “certified to meet or exceed UL safety standards.”
Protection comes with a wrinkle: the title says “3,780 Joules of Protection,” but a bullet cites “3,940 joules of overcurrent and overload protection.” Either way it sits below the SUPERDANNY (5,000), PLUGTUL (4,080) and Amazon Basics (4,000). The listing names no UL standard number and no clamping voltage, unlike the Philips with its stated 900V VPR.
The extras are where it pulls ahead. A “SAFETY LIGHT INDICATOR” confirms protection, the cord is 8 feet with a “3-prong angle plug,” and the warranty field reads “2 year limited warranty,” plus a “$300,000 Connected Equipment Warranty,” the largest stated here. Specs list 13 x 4.13 x 0.7 inches and 2 pounds. There are no USB ports.
For a TV stand or a home office that needs many outlets and a clear protection light, this is the safe default. Anyone who wants USB-C charging built in should look at the PLUGTUL or Anker instead.
Pros
- Title says “UL-Listed”
- Safety indicator light confirms protection
- 8 ft cord with angled plug; wall-mountable
- 2-year limited warranty, $300,000 Connected Equipment Warranty
- #3 in Surge Protectors, #220 overall; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- Joule figure differs: 3,780 J in title, 3,940 J in bullets
- No USB ports
- Clamping voltage (VPR) not stated
- Listing doesn’t name the UL standard number
Best for: Anyone who wants a well-known 12-outlet strip with a UL listing, a protection light and a long cord for a TV stand or desk.
2. Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector, 4000 J: Best Budget 12-Outlet Strip
Amazon Basics keeps its 12-outlet surge protector simple: a rectangular strip with a dozen outlets, an 8-foot cord and a 4,000-joule surge rating. The listing pitches it for the home, the office and a gaming room, anywhere one wall outlet has to feed a cluster of electronics.
The safety features are basic but useful. A 15 amp circuit breaker cuts power if the load gets too high, and Amazon Basics says the housing uses PC flame-retardant material. Safety shutters cover the outlets, which the listing says help prevent incorrect use, a point worth noting in homes with small children.
Day to day, an on/off switch lets you cut power to everything plugged in at once, and a keyhole slot on the back lets you hang the strip on a wall or the side of a desk. The listing doesn’t mention a protection indicator light, a UL or ETL listing, a clamping voltage or a connected-equipment warranty, so those are open questions rather than features. There are no USB ports.
It suits a gamer, a student or anyone setting up a busy desk on a small budget who mainly needs many outlets on a long cord. If you want a light that confirms protection is still active, or a stated safety certification, look at the listings that spell those out.
Why we like it
- 4,000-joule rating
- Long 8 ft cord
- Outlet safety shutters
Watch out for
No safety listing, indicator light or warranty is stated, so you’re relying on the joule figure alone.
Key Specifications
| Type | 12-outlet strip, 8 ft cord |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 12 AC |
| Joules (listing) | 4,000 |
| Cord | 8 ft |
| Listed size / weight | 13.39 x 6.3 x 1.57 in / 1.76 lb |
| Size | 13.39 x 6.3 x 1.57 in |
| Listed weight | 1.76 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | AS-12SX-D01; made by Amazon |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #1,722 overall; #14 in Surge Protectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Value is the case for Amazon Basics: 12 outlets, an 8-foot cord and “4000 joules surge protection,” matching the Belkin 12-outlet’s cord length and topping its joule figure.
Safety basics are listed plainly: a “15 amp circuit breaker,” “PC flame-retardant material” and “Safety shutters” on the outlets. What’s missing matters too. The listing names no UL or ETL listing, no protection indicator light and no connected-equipment warranty, and the warranty field is empty. The Belkin, PLUGTUL and Philips all state a safety listing.
Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #14 in Surge Protectors and #1,722 overall. Specs list 13.39 x 6.3 x 1.57 inches and 1.76 pounds. An on/off switch and a “back keyhole wall mount” round it out. There are no USB ports, unlike four other picks here.
Budget setups that need lots of outlets on a long cord are its sweet spot. Shoppers who want a protection light or a stated UL or ETL listing should spend a little more on the Belkin 12-outlet.
Pros
- 4,000 joules stated
- 15 amp circuit breaker
- Safety shutters on outlets
- On/off switch and keyhole wall mount
- Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- No UL or ETL listing stated
- No indicator light mentioned
- No USB ports
- Warranty field empty
Best for: A budget shopper who wants 12 outlets, a long cord and a breaker, and doesn’t need USB or a stated safety listing.
3. PLUGTUL 12-Outlet Surge Protector, 4080 J: Best With USB-C and a Stated UL 1449
PLUGTUL’s 12-outlet strip combines a high joule rating with built-in USB charging. Along with the 12 AC outlets, it has one USB-C port and two USB-A ports, so a phone or tablet can charge without its own wall adapter taking up an outlet.
The listing is specific about protection. It rates the strip at 4,080 joules and describes 3-line surge protection across line-neutral, line-ground and neutral-ground. It says the strip is ETL listed and conforms to UL 1363, the UL standard for relocatable power taps, and UL 1449, the UL standard for surge suppressors. No clamping voltage figure is given.
For daily use, PLUGTUL says the outlets have extra-wide spacing so large plugs and adapters don’t block their neighbors. The USB-C port supports 20W power delivery, which the brand says cuts charging time for compatible phones and tablets. The 5-foot cord is 14-gauge SJTW, rated for 15 amps and 1,875 watts, and it ends in a flat plug that suits tight spots behind furniture.
It suits a TV stand, a nightstand or a desk where you want both protected outlets and fast phone charging in one place. The listing leaves the model number, dimensions, weight and warranty fields empty, so check the box contents if those matter to you.
Why we like it
- Names UL 1449 conformance
- USB-C 20W charging
- Flat plug on a heavy cord
Watch out for
Model, size, weight and warranty details are missing from the listing, and the 5 ft cord is shorter than the 8 ft strips here.
Key Specifications
| Type | 12-outlet strip with USB, 5 ft cord |
|---|---|
| Outlets / USB | 12 AC, 1 USB-C, 2 USB-A |
| Joules (listing) | 4,080 |
| Certification (listing) | ETL listed; conforms to UL 1363 and UL 1449 |
| Cord | 5 ft, 14-gauge SJTW, flat plug |
| Size | Not stated in listing |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | Not stated in listing |
| Seller | PLUGTUL |
| Best Sellers Rank | #6,891 overall; #367 in Power Strips (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Certification detail sets PLUGTUL apart: the listing says “ETL listed and conforms to UL standard UL 1363 and UL 1449.” It’s the only pick on this page that names UL 1449, UL’s surge suppressor standard.
Protection is rated at “4080J” with “3-line surge protection (line–neutral, line–ground and neutral–ground),” second only to the SUPERDANNY’s 5,000 joules. Charging adds “1 USB-C port, and 2 USB-A ports,” with “USB-C PD20W.” The cord is a “14-gauge SJTW cord supporting up to 15A and 1875W” with a flat plug, though at 5 feet it’s shorter than the Belkin and Amazon Basics strips.
The listing is thin elsewhere. The model, size, weight and warranty fields are all empty, and no clamping voltage is given. The seller is the PLUGTUL brand store, and the rank is the weakest here at #6,891 overall and #367 in Power Strips.
A TV stand or desk that needs USB-C charging and a named surge standard is the right fit. If a long cord or a stated warranty term matters more, the Belkin 12-outlet covers both.
Pros
- ETL listed; conforms to UL 1363 and UL 1449, per the listing
- 4,080 joules, 3-line protection (L-N, L-G, N-G)
- 1 USB-C (20W PD) and 2 USB-A ports
- 14-gauge SJTW cord, flat plug
- Sold by the PLUGTUL store
Cons
- Model, size, weight and warranty fields all empty
- Shorter 5 ft cord
- Weakest rank here: #6,891 overall
- Clamping voltage not stated
Best for: Someone who wants a high-joule strip with USB-C charging and the only UL 1449 reference on this page.
4. Anker Nano Power Strip, Desk Clamp, 70W: Best for a Computer Desk
Anker’s Nano Power Strip clamps to the edge of a desk instead of lying on the floor. It packs six AC outlets, two USB-C ports and two USB-A ports into a dual-zone layout that Anker says splits the ports into top and bottom sections to reduce clutter.
Charging is the reason to choose it. Anker says one USB-C port delivers up to 70W using GaN technology, enough to power laptops and tablets, not just phones. That can replace a bulky laptop brick on your desk. The title rates its surge protection at 1,500 joules, and the listing doesn’t mention a UL or ETL listing or a clamping voltage.
Day to day, the clamp holds the strip steady so you can plug or unplug with one hand. The listing says it fits desk edges from 0.6 to 1.8 inches thick and is not compatible with curved edges, edges sloped more than 45 degrees, or desks without an edge to clamp. The power cord is 5 feet long, which Anker compares to the width of a queen-size bed.
It suits a home office or dorm desk where laptops, phones and a monitor all need power within reach. Anker lists a 24-month warranty. Measure your desk edge before you buy, because the clamp is the whole point.
Why we like it
- 70W USB-C for laptops
- Clamp keeps ports at hand
- Dual-zone layout
Watch out for
At 1,500 joules and with no safety listing stated, it trades protection detail for charging convenience.
Key Specifications
| Type | Desk-clamp strip with USB-C, 5 ft cord |
|---|---|
| Outlets / USB | 6 AC, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A |
| Joules (listing) | 1,500 |
| USB-C output | Up to 70W (GaN) |
| Cord / mount | 5 ft / desk clamp for 0.6–1.8 in edges |
| Size | 6.02 x 2.06 x 0.1 in |
| Listed weight | 1.36 pounds |
| Warranty | 24 months |
| Model | A9196 |
| Seller | AnkerDirect |
| Best Sellers Rank | #167 overall; #22 in Power Strips (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Charging power is the Anker’s argument. One USB-C port “delivers up to 70W using GaN technology,” enough for laptops, while the PLUGTUL and SUPERDANNY top out at 20W.
Surge protection is modest by comparison. The title rates it at “1500J,” the lowest of the five strips here, and the listing doesn’t mention UL, ETL or a clamping voltage. The design is the other draw: “6 AC outlets, 2 USB-C, and 2 USB-A ports,” split into top and bottom zones on a clamp that fits “desk edges 0.6 – 1.8 in thick.”
It has the best sales rank on the page at #167 overall (#22 in Power Strips), AnkerDirect sells it, and the warranty field reads “24 months.” The specs list 6.02 x 2.06 x 0.1 inches and 1.36 pounds; that 0.1-inch thickness can’t be right, so treat the size as not stated. The cord is 5 feet. It’s also the only pick above the $50 tier.
Laptop users who want charging and protected outlets within reach should look here. Anyone protecting a home theater, or who needs a stated safety listing, will do better with the Belkin 12-outlet or PLUGTUL.
Pros
- USB-C delivers up to 70W for laptops
- 6 AC, 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A ports
- Clamps to desk edges 0.6–1.8 in thick
- Best rank here: #167 overall
- 24-month warranty field
Cons
- Lowest stated joules among the strips: 1,500 J
- No UL or ETL listing stated
- Won’t fit curved or steeply sloped desk edges
- Listed thickness of 0.1 in looks wrong
Best for: A remote worker or student who wants protected outlets and laptop-grade USB-C charging right at the desk edge.
5. SUPERDANNY 13-Outlet Surge Protector, 5000 J: Best High-Joule Strip for Home Theaters
SUPERDANNY built this strip for setups that outgrow ordinary power strips. It has 13 widely spaced AC outlets and four USB ports, two of them USB-C, on a 6.5-foot cord. The listing rates it for 15 amps and 1,875 watts.
Surge protection is rated at 5,000 joules, which SUPERDANNY calls industrial-grade. LED indicators let you know whether your devices are protected, according to the listing. SUPERDANNY also describes what it calls 8-fold safety protection inside a fire-retardant casing, covering overloads, short circuits, overheating, over-voltage, over-current, surges, ground faults and open flames. The listing doesn’t state a UL or ETL listing or give a clamping voltage.
For charging, the USB ports support both PD and QC fast-charging protocols at up to 20W, per the listing. The 45-degree flat plug is designed to fit behind furniture while leaving the lower wall outlet usable. Screws and a drill template come in the box for wall mounting, which helps on a workbench or the back of an entertainment center.
It suits a home theater with a TV, receiver, game consoles and streaming boxes, or a garage bench with chargers and small tools. Keep it to electronics, though: no strip is meant for space heaters or other high-wattage appliances.
Why we like it
- 5,000-joule rating
- Thirteen outlets
- Status LEDs
Watch out for
The listing names no safety certification, and the warranty field is a placeholder, so ask the seller about coverage before you buy.
Key Specifications
| Type | 13-outlet strip with USB, 6.5 ft cord |
|---|---|
| Outlets / USB | 13 AC, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A (20W max) |
| Joules (listing) | 5,000 |
| Rating | 15A / 1,875W |
| Cord | 6.5 ft, 45° flat plug |
| Size | 11.14 x 4.29 x 0.1 in |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | 1 |
| Model | SDCP02-BK0203; made by Guangzhou TaiRongYi Electronic Technology Co.,Ltd |
| Seller | SUPERDANNY Direct |
| Best Sellers Rank | #4,380 overall; #287 in Power Strips (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Raw capacity is SUPERDANNY’s pitch: “13 widely-spaced outlets and 4 fast-charging USB ports” and “5000 joules of surge protection,” the highest joule figure and the most AC outlets on this page.
The listing adds “LED indicators to let you know whether your devices are safe,” a “45° flat plug” and a 6.5-foot cord, plus “Screws and a drill template” for wall mounting. It lists “8-Fold Safety Protection” in a “fire-retardant casing.” What it doesn’t list is a UL or ETL certification, which the Belkin, PLUGTUL and Philips all state.
Data gaps are worth noting. The warranty field reads only “1” with no unit, the weight field is empty, and the specs’ 0.1-inch thickness is not believable. The seller is SUPERDANNY Direct, and it ranks #4,380 overall and #287 in Power Strips. USB charging is “20W max,” far below the Anker’s 70W.
Crowded TV cabinets and workbenches will make the most of it. Shoppers who put a stated safety listing first should choose the PLUGTUL, which comes close at 4,080 joules.
Pros
- Highest rating here: 5,000 joules
- 13 AC outlets plus 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A
- LED indicators show protection status
- 45° flat plug; drill template and screws included
- Sold by SUPERDANNY Direct
Cons
- No UL or ETL listing stated
- Warranty field reads just “1”
- Weight field empty; listed 0.1 in thickness is implausible
- #4,380 overall, a modest rank
Best for: A household with a crowded TV cabinet or workbench that wants the most outlets and the highest joule rating here.
6. Belkin 6-Outlet Wall Surge Protector, USB-C: Best Outlet-Mounted With USB
Belkin’s 6-outlet wall surge protector plugs straight into a wall outlet, with no cord at all. It turns one outlet into six surge-protected AC outlets and adds a USB-C power delivery port and a USB-A port, all wrapped in what Belkin calls a slim, modern design.
The listing rates it at 1,680 joules and says it uses MOVs, the components that absorb surges in most protectors. Belkin calls the package a 14-point safety system, listing over-temperature, overload, over-current, short-circuit, clamping and overvoltage protection, 3-line AC safety, an indicator light, a warning light, auto shutdown and fire-resistant material. Belkin says it is ETL certified after independent lab testing.
Day to day, the safety indicator light is the part to check. Belkin says it shows your equipment is secure, or that the protector needs to be readjusted in the outlet. Because it mounts on the wall outlet itself, there’s no cord to run under a rug or across a walkway, which makes it a tidy choice beside a bed, a sofa or a kitchen counter. The listing doesn’t give the USB-C port’s wattage.
It suits bedrooms, living rooms and dorms where a few devices and a phone need power. Belkin backs it with a 2-year limited warranty and a $25,000 Connected Equipment Warranty.
Why we like it
- No cord to manage
- USB-C and USB-A built in
- Stated ETL certification
Watch out for
Six outlets and no cord limit where it can reach, and the listing doesn’t say how fast the USB-C port charges.
Key Specifications
| Type | Wall-mounted outlet extender, no cord |
|---|---|
| Outlets / USB | 6 AC, 1 USB-C PD, 1 USB-A |
| Joules (listing) | 1,680 |
| Certification (listing) | ETL certified |
| Listed size | 5.69 x 4.1 x 2.89 in |
| Size | 5.69 x 4.1 x 2.89 in |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | 2 year limited warranty |
| Model | SRA008p6tt |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #369 overall; #4 in Surge Protectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
No cord, no clutter: Belkin’s wall model “Plugs straight into your wall,” turning one outlet into six protected outlets plus “One powered USB-C PD port and 1 USB-A port.”
The safety list is long. Belkin cites a “14-POINT SAFETY SYSTEM” including “auto shutdown” and a “surge protection indicator light,” and says it is “ETL CERTIFIED.” It rates protection at “1,680 joules” using “MOVs,” more than the Philips wall tap’s 900 but well below the strips. The USB-C wattage isn’t given, while the Anker states 70W and the PLUGTUL 20W.
Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #4 in Surge Protectors and #369 overall. The warranty field reads “2 year limited warranty,” and the listing adds a “$25,000 Connected Equipment Warranty.” Specs give 5.69 x 4.1 x 2.89 inches; the weight field is empty.
Bedrooms, sofas and dorm rooms that need a few outlets and phone charging at the wall suit it well. A TV cabinet or desk full of gear needs a strip with more outlets and a cord, like the Belkin 12-outlet.
Pros
- ETL certified, per the listing
- 1,680 joules with MOVs
- 1 USB-C PD and 1 USB-A port
- Safety indicator light and auto shutdown
- 2-year limited warranty, $25,000 Connected Equipment Warranty
Cons
- Only 6 outlets
- Covers the wall outlet; no cord to reach farther
- USB-C wattage not stated
- Weight field empty
Best for: A renter or homeowner who wants protected outlets and USB charging right at the wall, with no cord to trip over.
7. Philips 6-Outlet Wall Tap, 900 J: Best Basic Wall Tap
Philips makes this wall tap for the simplest job a surge protector does: turning one grounded duplex wall outlet into six grounded, three-prong outlets. It plugs directly into the wall, sits low against it, and needs no cord, which Philips says helps it fit behind furniture.
The listing is clear on ratings. The title gives 900 joules, and a bullet lists a 900V (L-N) voltage protection rating, the clamping figure used to compare surge protectors. It is rated for 125VAC, 15 amps and 1,875 watts, and Philips says it is ETL safety certified. One bullet describes HDR picture quality and frame rates, which appears to belong to a different product and says nothing about this wall tap.
Day to day, an LED protection indicator gives at-a-glance confirmation that surge protection is active and working properly, according to Philips. That light is worth a glance now and then, since it’s the only way to know the protection is still there. There are no USB ports, so phone chargers still need their own adapters.
It suits a nightstand lamp and phone charger, a kitchen counter with a coffee grinder and radio, or a guest room. Philips backs it with a limited lifetime replacement plan and a $50,000 connected equipment policy.
Why we like it
- Stated 900V VPR
- Low-profile wall mount
- Protection indicator
Watch out for
At 900 joules it offers the least surge absorption on this page, so save it for lamps and chargers rather than a home theater.
Key Specifications
| Type | Wall-mounted outlet extender, no cord |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 6 AC, grounded |
| Joules (title) | 900 |
| Voltage protection rating | 900V (L-N) |
| Rating | 125VAC, 15A, 1,875W |
| Size | 6 x 8 x 2 in |
| Listed weight | The specs show “0 pounds,” a placeholder, so weight is not stated. |
| Warranty | Limited-lifetime warranty |
| Model | SPP3461WA/37 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #792 overall; #9 in Surge Protectors (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Clamping detail is rare on these listings, and Philips gives it: a “900V (L-N) voltage protection rating.” No other pick states a VPR.
The rest is basic. The title rates it at “900 Joules,” the lowest here, and it converts “one grounded duplex wall outlet into six grounded, three prong outlets.” An “LED PROTECTION INDICATOR” confirms protection, and Philips says it is “ETL safety certified,” rated for “125VAC, 15A and 1875W.” There are no USB ports, unlike the Belkin wall model.
Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #9 in Surge Protectors and #792 overall. The warranty field reads “Limited-lifetime warranty,” with a “$50,000 connected equipment policy.” The weight field shows “0 pounds,” a placeholder, and one bullet about “high dynamic range (HDR)” picture quality plainly doesn’t describe a wall tap.
Lamps, clocks and phone chargers in a bedroom or kitchen are its natural load. For a TV or computer, a strip with several thousand joules, such as the Belkin 12-outlet or SUPERDANNY, is the better match.
Pros
- Only pick that states a voltage protection rating: 900V (L-N)
- ETL safety certified, per the listing
- LED protection indicator
- Limited lifetime replacement plan, $50,000 connected equipment policy
- #9 in Surge Protectors; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- Lowest joules here: 900
- No USB ports
- Weight field reads “0 pounds”
- A bullet about HDR picture quality doesn’t apply to a wall tap
Best for: Someone who needs a few extra protected outlets for lamps and chargers, at a low price, with a stated VPR.
How We Chose the Best Surge Protectors
We limited our picks to models in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store, then compared what each listing actually says:
- Surge rating: the joule figure, and a voltage protection rating (VPR) where one is given.
- Safety listing: whether the listing names UL, UL 1449 or ETL, quoted as written. We don’t assume a certification the listing leaves out.
- Protection indicator: whether a light tells you the surge protection is still active.
- Form and reach: strip or outlet-mounted, cord length and flat or angled plugs.
- Charging: USB-A and USB-C ports and any stated wattage.
- Backing: the warranty field, any connected-equipment warranty and Amazon sales rank.

Surge Protector Buying Guide
Surge Protector vs. Power Strip
Every pick here is a power strip, but not every power strip is a surge protector. A basic strip just adds outlets. A surge protector adds components, such as the MOVs Belkin mentions, meant to divert voltage spikes. OSHA’s interpretation letter on power strips explains that UL calls power strips relocatable power taps (UL 1363) and lists strips with surge protection under UL 1449, the standard for transient voltage surge suppressors. Look for a joule rating and a surge claim on the listing; if neither appears, assume it’s only a strip.
Best Surge Protector Power Strip: Joules, VPR and Listings
Joules describe how much energy a protector can absorb, and higher is generally better. Our picks range from 900 joules (Philips) to 5,000 (SUPERDANNY). The voltage protection rating, or VPR, is the clamping level at which protection kicks in, and lower is better; only Philips states one here (900V L-N). On safety listings, the Belkin 12-outlet title says “UL-Listed,” PLUGTUL says it is ETL listed and conforms to UL 1449, and the Belkin wall model and Philips say ETL. The Amazon Basics, Anker and SUPERDANNY listings don’t name a certification.

Best Surge Protector for TV and Home Theater
A TV cabinet often holds a TV, soundbar, receiver, consoles and streaming boxes, so outlet count and plug spacing matter as much as joules. The SUPERDANNY’s 13 outlets and 5,000 joules suit a crowded cabinet, and the Belkin 12-outlet adds an 8-foot cord and a $300,000 Connected Equipment Warranty. A flat or angled plug lets a cabinet sit closer to the wall.
Best Surge Protector for Computer Setups
For a desk, think about charging as well as protection. The Anker Nano clamps to the desk edge and offers USB-C at up to 70W for laptops, while the PLUGTUL adds a 20W USB-C port to a 12-outlet strip. If you want the most outlets on a long cord, the Belkin 12-outlet or Amazon Basics strip reaches 8 feet.

Best Outlet Surge Protector
Outlet-mounted models plug straight into the wall with no cord. That means nothing to trip over or bury under a rug, but also no reach. The Belkin wall model adds USB-C and USB-A and states ETL certification, and the Philips is the budget pick with a stated 900V VPR. Both suit bedrooms and kitchen counters better than a TV cabinet.
Best Surge Protector With USB
Built-in USB ports free up outlets that wall adapters would block. Four picks have them: Anker (2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, up to 70W), SUPERDANNY (2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, 20W max), PLUGTUL (1 USB-C at 20W, 2 USB-A) and the Belkin wall model (1 USB-C PD, 1 USB-A, wattage not stated).

When the Protection Light Goes Out
The Belkin, SUPERDANNY and Philips listings describe lights that confirm protection is active. Glance at them now and then. If a protection light goes dark while the outlets still have power, you can no longer count on the surge protection, so check the maker’s instructions and plan to replace the unit. The Amazon Basics, PLUGTUL and Anker listings don’t mention a protection light.
Power Strip Safety: Rules Worth Following
A surge protector is still a power strip, and the same fire-safety rules apply:
- Never daisy-chain. OSHA’s letter notes that UL’s directory requires listed power taps to plug directly into a permanently installed receptacle, not into another power tap or an extension cord.
- Keep heaters and major appliances off strips. The U.S. Fire Administration says to plug major appliances directly into a wall outlet and not to overload power strips. Our space heater guide covers safe heater placement, and our extension cord guide for freezers explains when a cord is and isn’t appropriate.
- Don’t bury cords. USFA advises keeping cords out from under carpets or rugs, where they can be damaged or pinched.
- Replace damaged gear. USFA says to replace worn, old or damaged cords right away. Retire any strip that is cracked, scorched or warm to the touch.
- Watch for warning signs. The NFPA lists discolored or warm wall outlets, frequent tripped breakers and flickering lights among the reasons to call a qualified electrician.

Whole-Home Surge Protection and Your Insurance
Plug-in protectors cover what’s plugged into them. Whole-home surge protection installs at the electrical panel, and NFPA advises having all electrical work done by a qualified electrician, so treat it as a job for a licensed pro rather than a weekend project. Whether a policy covers surge or lightning damage to electronics, and on what terms, depends on your policy, so ask your agent. Our Ohio homeowners insurance guide and our page on tips for first-time Ohio homeowners are good starting points.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best surge protector power strip for most homes?
The Belkin 12-Outlet is our top pick. Its title says “UL-Listed,” it has a safety indicator light and an 8-foot cord, it ranks #3 in Amazon’s Surge Protectors category, and Belkin backs it with a 2-year limited warranty and a $300,000 Connected Equipment Warranty.
How many joules do I need for a TV or computer?
There’s no single number, but higher joule ratings mean more surge energy absorbed. For a TV cabinet or a computer desk, a strip in the thousands of joules, like the SUPERDANNY (5,000), PLUGTUL (4,080) or Amazon Basics (4,000), offers more headroom than a 900-joule wall tap.
What does UL 1449 mean on a surge protector?
OSHA’s power strip letter describes UL 1449 as UL’s standard for transient voltage surge suppressors. Among our picks, only the PLUGTUL listing names it, saying the strip is ETL listed and conforms to UL 1363 and UL 1449. Belkin’s 12-outlet title says “UL-Listed” without naming a standard number.
Can I plug a space heater into a surge protector?
No. The U.S. Fire Administration says to plug major appliances directly into a wall outlet, and OSHA notes that power strips are not designed for high loads such as space heaters, refrigerators and microwave ovens. Plug heaters straight into the wall.
Do surge protectors wear out?
They can. Several listings, including the Belkin, SUPERDANNY and Philips models, describe lights that confirm protection is active. If that light goes out while the outlets still work, check the maker’s instructions and replace the unit. Replace any strip that is damaged or warm.
The Bottom Line
For most homes, the Belkin 12-Outlet is the best surge protector to start with: UL-listed, lit to confirm protection and backed by a big connected-equipment warranty. The Amazon Basics strip covers budget setups, the PLUGTUL adds USB-C and names UL 1449, the Anker Nano brings laptop charging to the desk edge and the SUPERDANNY handles crowded home theaters. For outlets on the wall itself, choose the Belkin 6-Outlet for USB or the Philips wall tap for lamps and chargers. Whichever you buy, keep heaters and major appliances on wall outlets and never chain strips together.
Wondering how your policy treats surge or electrical fire damage? Call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or get a free coverage review.
Keep reading
More kitchen gear guides
- Keep the Fridge and CPAP Running: Best Portable Power Station Picks, 245 Wh to 2 kWh
- Brace, Track Bar or Bolt-On Plate? The Best Door Security Bar for Hinged and Sliding Doors
- Guest Codes, Thumbprints and Matter: The Best Smart Lock for a Front Door Deadbolt
- Best Heat Tape for Water Pipes, Plus the Insulation and Fire Rules to Follow
- Best Gutter Guard Picks by Debris Type: Leaves, Pine Needles and Roof Grit
- Twist-Lock, Splitter or Inlet Kit: The Best Generator Cord for a Safe Outage Hookup
- S.A.M.E. Alerts or a Crank Handle? The Best Weather Radio for Storms and Blackouts
- Bandages, Burn Gel and a Wall Case: The Best First Aid Kit for Home, Car and Travel
- Motion Sensor Light Outdoors and on the Stairs: Solar, Hardwired and Plug-In Options















