
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.
The best generator cord starts with the outlet on your generator. A cord with the wrong plug won’t fit, and an adapter that changes the voltage or wattage can quietly limit what you can run. Match the plug first, then the length, then the jacket.
We compared five cords and adapters sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store: a 20-foot L14-30 twist-lock cord, two 25-foot cord and inlet box kits, a 25-foot L5-30 splitter cord and a 2-foot L14-30 splitter adapter. We quote voltage, wattage, gauge and ETL wording exactly as each listing gives it, and flag what a listing leaves out.
One rule comes before any of them. Never plug a generator into a wall or dryer outlet to power the house. The American Red Cross calls that backfeeding and warns it can electrocute utility workers, neighbors and your household. Connecting to home wiring takes a transfer switch or interlock installed by a licensed electrician, and the generator always runs outdoors, away from doors, windows and vents.
Our Top Generator Cord Picks at a Glance
| Product | Key features | Price | Action |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() Southwire 20 ft L14-30 Generator CordBest Overall L14-30 Cord · 30 A twist-lock cord, 20 ftBest for: 240-volt generators feeding an inlet box |
|
$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() VEVOR 30 Amp Cord and Inlet Box KitBest Cord and Inlet Box Kit · 25 ft L14-30 cord plus inlet boxBest for: Starting a transfer-switch setup from scratch |
|
$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() RVINGPRO 30 Amp Cord and Inlet BoxBest-Ranked Inlet Kit · 25 ft L14-30 cord plus inlet boxBest for: A ready-matched cord and inlet with a stated wattage |
|
$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Champion 25 ft L5-30P Fan-Style CordBest L5-30 Splitter Cord · 25 ft cord, L5-30P to three 5-15RBest for: Running a few appliances from a 120-volt locking outlet |
|
$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Champion 2 ft L14-30P to Three 5-20R AdapterBest Budget Splitter Adapter · 2 ft adapter, L14-30P to three 5-20RBest for: Adding household outlets to an L14-30 generator |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.
1. Southwire 20 ft L14-30 Generator Cord: Best Overall L14-30 Cord
Southwire’s generator cord is a straightforward 20-foot extension with an L14-30 locking plug on one end and an L14-30 locking receptacle on the other. L14-30 is the four-prong, 30-amp twist-lock outlet found on many larger portable generators, and it’s the plug most generator inlet boxes are built to accept.
The listing describes 10-gauge wire, molded connectors and a weather-resistant build in yellow and black. The title calls it “Dual Voltage 125V/250V,” and the bullets say it “delivers 30 amps of power” with “twist locking power cord ends.” Southwire also names RVs, campers, motorhomes and campgrounds as uses.
In daily use, the twist-lock ends are the point. You push the plug in and turn it so it can’t be tugged loose by a dragged cord or a curious dog. At 20 feet, it’s shorter than the 25-foot cords on this page, so check the distance from where your generator will sit, outdoors and well away from the house, to your inlet before you buy.
The listing leaves gaps. It names no jacket code such as SJTW, no wattage rating and no ETL or UL listing, and the dimension field is a placeholder. It suits homeowners who need a plain L14-30 cord from a well-known wire maker and whose inlet box is already in place.
Why we like it
- Twist-lock ends at both sides
- 10-gauge, 125V/250V
- Well-known wire brand
Watch out for
The listing names no safety listing or jacket rating, and 20 feet may be short once the generator is placed safely away from the house.
Key Specifications
| Type | 30 A twist-lock cord, 20 ft |
|---|---|
| Plug / connector | L14-30 locking plug and receptacle |
| Wire | 10 gauge |
| Voltage (title) | 125V/250V |
| Length | 20 ft |
| Size | 1 x 1 x 1 in |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | 180 Days Limited Warranty |
| Model | 65172840 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #11,011 overall; #14 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Simplicity is the Southwire’s case. It’s an L14-30 cord with an L14-30 “Locking Plug & Receptacle,” “10-Gauge,” “Dual Voltage 125V/250V” and “Molded Connectors,” from a company known for wire. Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #14 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters and #11,011 overall, second only to the RVINGPRO kit here.
Bullets promise “20 feet of rugged 10-gauge reach with twist locking power cord ends” and “30 amps of power.” That’s 5 feet shorter than the VEVOR, RVINGPRO and Champion L5-30 cords, which matters once the generator sits well away from doors and windows.
Gaps are real. The warranty field reads “180 Days Limited Warranty,” the shortest stated on this page against Champion’s one year. The listing names no ETL or UL listing, unlike VEVOR and RVINGPRO, no jacket code and no wattage. The 1 x 1 x 1 inch dimension field is a placeholder, and weight isn’t stated.
Homeowners with an installed L14-30 inlet who want a plain cord from a familiar brand will be well served. Anyone starting from scratch should look at the VEVOR or RVINGPRO kits, and anyone whose generator sits farther than about 20 feet from the inlet needs more length.
Pros
- L14-30 locking plug and receptacle
- Title: “Dual Voltage 125V/250V”
- 10-gauge wire, molded connectors
- Sold by Amazon.com
- #14 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters, #11,011 overall
Cons
- Warranty field: “180 Days Limited Warranty,” the shortest stated here
- Listed size of 1 x 1 x 1 in is a placeholder; weight not stated
- No ETL or UL listing stated
- No jacket code (SJTW, STW) or wattage stated
Best for: An owner of a generator with an L14-30 outlet who already has, or is having an electrician install, a matching inlet and transfer switch or interlock.
2. VEVOR 30 Amp Cord and Inlet Box Kit: Best Cord and Inlet Box Kit
VEVOR’s kit pairs a 25-foot L14-30 generator cord with a matching 30-amp power inlet box. The cord’s L14-30P plug goes into the generator’s 30-amp outlet, and its twist-lock L14-30R end connects to the inlet box’s L14-30P male inlet, which is mounted on the outside of the house.
The listing describes the cord as SJTW with “4 x 10AWG” wire, pure copper conductors and flame-retardant PVC that “resists heat and UV damage.” Both the cord and the inlet box are described as ETL certified. The inlet box has a rust-resistant coating, a pre-drilled hole design and a flip cover with an indicator light that VEVOR says “illuminates when the power is successfully connected.”
Day to day, you store the cord in the included bag, roll the generator out to a safe spot outdoors during an outage, lock the cord to the generator and inlet, and switch circuits over at the transfer switch or interlock. VEVOR says the box “simplifies installation without additional tools,” but that refers to the box itself. Wiring an inlet to a home’s panel is electrician work and needs a transfer switch or interlock.
It suits homeowners who are about to have a generator inlet installed and want the cord and box from one source. The empty warranty field is worth asking about before you order.
Why we like it
- Inlet box and cord in one order
- ETL wording on both pieces
- Carrying strap and storage bag
Watch out for
Budget for a licensed electrician: the inlet box only works safely when it’s wired to a transfer switch or interlock.
Key Specifications
| Type | 25 ft L14-30 cord plus inlet box |
|---|---|
| Cord | 25 ft SJTW, 4 x 10 AWG |
| Plug / connector | L14-30P to L14-30R twist lock |
| Inlet box | L14-30P, pre-drilled, flip cover with indicator light |
| Listing wording | ETL certified cord and inlet box |
| Size | 6.1 x 3.82 x 3.54 in |
| Listed weight | 9.7 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | LA047A/LA048A+LSTK07 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #11,369 overall; #16 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Two parts in one order is VEVOR’s pitch: a 25-foot L14-30 cord and a 30-amp inlet box. The cord is “SJTW gauge with a 4 x 10AWG wire,” with a “NEMA L14-30P male plug” and a “twist-lock NEMA L14-30R female plug” for an inlet box with an L14-30P end.
The listing describes an “ETL-certified generator cord and power inlet box,” pure copper wiring and flame-retardant PVC that “resists heat and UV damage.” The inlet’s flip cover has “a clear indicator light” that lights when power is connected, and a carrying strap and storage bag are included. RVINGPRO offers a similar kit and also states 7,500 watts; VEVOR gives no wattage.
Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #16 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters and #11,369 overall, just behind Southwire. The warranty field is empty. The listed 9.7 pounds and 6.1 x 3.82 x 3.54 inches aren’t labeled, so treat them as rough shipping figures. VEVOR’s “without additional tools” refers to the knockouts; wiring the inlet to your panel requires a licensed electrician and a transfer switch or interlock.
Homeowners scheduling an inlet installation and wanting an Amazon.com seller are the natural buyers. Those who already own an inlet only need a cord like the Southwire.
Pros
- Cord and L14-30P inlet box in one kit
- ETL wording: “ETL-certified generator cord and power inlet box”
- SJTW jacket, 4 x 10 AWG wire
- Indicator light on the inlet’s flip cover
- Sold by Amazon.com; #16 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters
Cons
- Warranty field empty
- Listed 9.7 lb and 6.1 x 3.82 x 3.54 in don’t say what they measure
- No wattage stated
- Inlet box still needs an electrician and a transfer switch or interlock
Best for: A homeowner planning a professionally installed inlet who wants the cord and inlet box in one order.
3. RVINGPRO 30 Amp Cord and Inlet Box: Best-Ranked Inlet Kit
RVINGPRO sells a 25-foot 30-amp generator cord and a pre-drilled inlet box together. The cord runs from the generator’s 30-amp locking outlet to the inlet box on your wall, and the inlet box connects, through wiring your electrician installs, to a transfer switch or interlocked panel.
The cord’s listing spells out the specs: 100% copper conductors, flame-retardant coating and PVC jacket, 125V/250V, “10/4 SJTW” wire, an L14-30R twist-locking female end and a 7,500-watt maximum. One bullet calls the male plug “NEMA 14-30P,” without the L, which reads like a typo given the twist-lock pairing elsewhere in the listing, so confirm the plug against your generator’s outlet.
The inlet box has four pre-drilled knockouts on the left, right, bottom and rear, which RVINGPRO says you can open with your fingers. A weatherproof seal cap closes when the inlet isn’t in use, and a green indicator light on the cap shows when power is on. Both pieces are described as ETL listed, and the kit includes a cable tie and storage bag.
It suits homeowners whose electrician is ready to wire an L14-30 inlet and who want a cord and box that already match. The listing talks about “direct connection to switches and electrical panels,” but connecting anything to home wiring belongs to a licensed electrician.
Why we like it
- Stated 7,500 W and 125V/250V
- Weatherproof inlet cap with light
- Best sales rank on this page
Watch out for
Check the plug against your generator, since one bullet says “14-30P,” and expect to hire an electrician for the inlet.
Key Specifications
| Type | 25 ft L14-30 cord plus inlet box |
|---|---|
| Cord | 25 ft, 10/4 SJTW, copper |
| Rating (listing) | 125V/250V, 7,500 W max |
| Inlet box | L14-30P, 4 pre-drilled knockouts, sealed cap with green light |
| Included | Cord, inlet box, cable tie, storage bag |
| Size | Not stated in listing |
| Listed weight | Not stated in listing |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | Not stated in listing |
| Seller | RVingPro |
| Best Sellers Rank | #7,117 overall; #7 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Popularity leads here: the RVINGPRO kit is #7 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters and #7,117 overall, the best rank on this page. RVingPro, the brand’s own store, sells it.
It’s also the most complete spec sheet among the cords. RVINGPRO lists “100% copper conductor,” “125V/250V,” “10/4 SJTW,” a “NEMA L14-30R, Twist Locking Connector” and “Max Wattage: 7,500 Watts.” No other L14-30 cord here states a wattage. Both the cord and inlet box are “ETL Listed,” matching VEVOR’s ETL wording. One oddity: the male plug is listed as “NEMA 14-30P,” not L14-30P, so confirm it against your generator.
The inlet box has “4 pre-drilled holes” in four directions and a “weatherproof seal cap” with “a green indicator light.” The listing says this allows “direct connection to switches and electrical panels,” but that connection belongs to a licensed electrician, through a transfer switch or interlock. Model, warranty, size and weight fields are all empty, a weaker paper trail than Southwire’s or Champion’s.
Homeowners who want the best-selling matched kit with a stated wattage should start here. Shoppers who prefer an Amazon.com seller can choose the similar VEVOR kit.
Pros
- Best rank here: #7 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters, #7,117 overall
- States 7,500 watts max and 125V/250V
- 10/4 SJTW copper cord, 25 ft
- ETL listed cord and inlet box, per the listing
- Sold by RVingPro, the brand’s store
Cons
- Bullet calls the male plug “NEMA 14-30P”; the inlet is L14-30P
- Warranty, model, size and weight fields empty
- Listing suggests “direct connection” to panels; that is electrician work
- Not sold by Amazon.com
Best for: A homeowner whose electrician is installing an L14-30 inlet and transfer switch and who wants a popular, matched cord and box.
4. Champion 25 ft L5-30P Fan-Style Cord: Best L5-30 Splitter Cord
Champion Power Equipment’s model 48034 is a fan-style cord: a 30-amp L5-30P locking plug on one end and three standard 15-amp household outlets on the other, 25 feet apart. Champion says it “converts a 30-amp locking outlet to three 15-amp household outlets.”
It doesn’t connect to house wiring at all. You plug it into the generator’s L5-30 outlet, run it to a door or window, and plug appliances, or heavy-duty extension cords, into the three outlets. That’s the setup the American Red Cross describes: plug appliances into the generator or use a heavy-duty, outdoor-rated cord rated for the connected load.
The listing describes service-grade, abrasion and weather-resistant insulation, 10-gauge wire that “stays flexible in extreme temperatures” and is “rated for 125-volt use,” and included dust covers for the outlets. Champion pitches the 25-foot length as a way to keep you away from “hazardous generator exhaust,” and backs the cord with a one-year limited warranty and free lifetime technical support.
It suits owners of generators with an L5-30 outlet who want to power a refrigerator, a freezer, lights and phone chargers during an outage without hiring an electrician. Keep the cord’s outlet end off wet ground and away from standing water, and check the cord for cuts or crushed spots before each storm season.
Why we like it
- No house wiring needed
- Three household outlets at the far end
- Lifetime technical support
Watch out for
It fits L5-30 outlets only and runs at 125 volts, so it won’t feed a 240-volt inlet or appliance.
Key Specifications
| Type | 25 ft cord, L5-30P to three 5-15R |
|---|---|
| Plug / outlets | L5-30P to three 5-15R |
| Wire | 10 gauge, 125 V |
| Length | 25 ft |
| Listed weight | 7.9 lb |
| Size | 300 x 4.3 x 1.4 in |
| Listed weight | 7.9 pounds |
| Warranty | 1-Year Limited Warranty |
| Model | 48034 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #70,712 overall; #156 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
No inlet, no electrician: Champion’s 48034 fan-style cord “converts a 30-amp locking outlet to three 15-amp household outlets and extends your power up to 25 feet.” It’s the only pick built for an L5-30 outlet.
Champion describes “Service grade, abrasion and weather-resistant insulation,” included dust covers and “10-gauge wire” that “stays flexible in extreme temperatures and is rated for 125-volt use.” It pitches the length as “protecting you and others from hazardous generator exhaust.” Ready.gov’s minimum is 20 feet from windows, doors and attached garages, so 25 feet leaves little slack; add outdoor-rated extension cords if needed.
Amazon.com sells it. The warranty field reads “1-Year Limited Warranty,” and the bullets add “FREE lifetime technical support.” At a listed 7.9 pounds, it’s the heaviest single cord with a stated weight, and the listed 300-inch length matches 25 feet by our math. It ranks lowest here at #70,712 overall and #156 in its category, and it states no ETL or UL listing.
Owners of L5-30 generators who want three outlets near the house are the right fit. Anyone with an L14-30 generator should choose Champion’s 2-foot adapter instead.
Pros
- Turns one L5-30 outlet into three 15-amp household outlets
- 25 ft of 10-gauge wire
- Dust covers on the outlets
- Warranty field: “1-Year Limited Warranty,” plus lifetime tech support
- Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- 125-volt only
- Weakest rank here: #70,712 overall
- No ETL or UL listing stated
- Heavier than the 2 ft adapter at a listed 7.9 lb
Best for: A generator owner with an L5-30 outlet who wants to run a fridge, lamps and chargers on separate cords, no house wiring involved.
5. Champion 2 ft L14-30P to Three 5-20R Adapter: Best Budget Splitter Adapter
Champion’s 2-foot adapter, model 201410, plugs into a generator’s L14-30 locking outlet and splits it into three 20-amp household outlets (5-20R). Each outlet has an LED power indicator so you can see at a glance that it’s live.
Champion says it lets you “split your power and transform a locking outlet to options acceptable for everyday use.” The listing describes service-grade, abrasion and weather-resistant insulation and 10-gauge wire that stays flexible in extreme temperatures and is rated for 125/250-volt use. The bullets add a one-year limited warranty, though the warranty field itself is empty.
In practice, the adapter sits on the ground beside the generator, outdoors. You plug heavy-duty, outdoor-rated extension cords into its outlets and run those to the appliances you need. Because it’s only 2 feet long, it never brings the generator closer to the house; the distance comes from the extension cords you choose. Our guide to the best extension cord for a freezer covers gauge and length for that last stretch.
It suits owners of larger generators whose only 30-amp outlet is an L14-30, who don’t have an inlet box and just want to run a few appliances on cords. It’s the least expensive pick on this page, and it packs small enough to store with the generator.
Why we like it
- Three 20-amp outlets from one L14-30
- LED indicators
- Lowest-cost pick
Watch out for
It’s an adapter, not a cord: pair it with outdoor-rated extension cords long enough to keep the generator away from the house.
Key Specifications
| Type | 2 ft adapter, L14-30P to three 5-20R |
|---|---|
| Plug / outlets | L14-30P to three 5-20R |
| Wire | 10 gauge, rated 125/250 V |
| Length | 2 ft |
| Listed size / weight | 24 x 5 x 2 in / 2.4 lb |
| Size | 24 x 5 x 2 in |
| Listed weight | 2.4 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | 201410 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #55,436 overall; #116 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Cheapest here, the Champion 201410 converts “a 30-amp locking plug to three 20-amp household outlets with the integrated LED power indicators (L14-30P to three 5-20R).” The Champion 48034 does the same for L5-30 outlets; this one is for L14-30.
The listing describes “Service grade, abrasion and weather-resistant insulation” and “high capacity 10-gauge wire” that is “rated for 125/250-volt use.” Champion says it will “back up your purchase with a 1-year limited warranty,” though the warranty field is empty. It states no ETL or UL listing, unlike VEVOR and RVINGPRO.
Amazon.com sells it. The listed size is 24 x 5 x 2 inches at 2.4 pounds, and it ranks #55,436 overall and #116 in Cords, Plugs & Adapters. At 2 feet, it’s the shortest pick by far, so the cords you plug into it decide how far the generator sits from the house.
L14-30 generator owners without an inlet who want to run appliances on outdoor-rated extension cords should consider it. Anyone with an inlet and transfer switch needs a full cord such as the Southwire instead.
Pros
- L14-30P to three 20-amp 5-20R outlets
- LED power indicators on the outlets
- 10-gauge wire rated 125/250 V
- Bullets state a 1-year limited warranty
- Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- Only 2 ft long; you still need outdoor extension cords
- Warranty field empty (bullet only)
- No ETL or UL listing stated
- #55,436 overall
Best for: An owner of an L14-30 generator who wants extra household outlets right at the generator for outdoor-rated extension cords.
How We Chose the Best Generator Cords
We kept only cords and adapters that were in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store, excluded any male-to-male cord or anything sold for plugging into a wall outlet, and compared what each listing says:
- Plug and connector types: L14-30, L5-30 and household outlets, matched to common generator outlets and inlet boxes.
- Voltage and wattage: 125 V versus 125/250 V, and any stated wattage maximum.
- Wire and jacket: gauge, conductor count and jacket codes such as SJTW and STW.
- Safety listing wording: ETL claims quoted only where the listing states them.
- Length, warranty and popularity: cord length, the warranty field and Amazon sales rank.

Generator Cord Buying Guide
Best Generator Power Cord: Match the Plug First
Look at the 30-amp outlet on your generator before anything else. An L14-30 is a four-prong twist-lock rated 125/250 V; the Southwire, VEVOR and RVINGPRO cords use it, and the Champion 2-foot adapter plugs into it. An L5-30 is a 125-volt twist-lock, which is what the Champion 25-foot splitter cord fits. A TT-30 outlet supplies 120 V only, so don’t adapt it into a 240 V inlet or transfer switch. Ask a licensed electrician what your generator can safely feed. A cord that doesn’t match your outlet won’t lock in, so never force it.
Best 30 Amp Generator Cord: Gauge, Voltage and Wattage
Every pick here uses 10-gauge wire. The difference is voltage. The L14-30 cords are rated 125V/250V, and RVINGPRO states a 7,500-watt maximum. The Champion L5-30 cord is rated for 125 volts only. The Red Cross advises using a heavy-duty, outdoor-rated cord rated in watts or amps at least equal to the sum of the connected loads, so add up what you plan to run.

Best Generator Extension Cord Length and Jacket
Length is a safety feature. Ready.gov says generators should always be used outdoors and at least 20 feet away from windows, doors and attached garages, so a 25-foot cord gives you a little room past that minimum once it’s routed. Jacket codes tell you about outdoor use: VEVOR and RVINGPRO list SJTW. Southwire and Champion describe their jackets as weather resistant without giving a code. For appliance runs from a splitter, see our guide to the best extension cord for a freezer.
Best Generator Cord for Transfer Switch Hookups
A transfer switch or interlock lets you power chosen house circuits through an inlet box instead of running cords through a window. The VEVOR and RVINGPRO kits include an L14-30P inlet box; the Southwire cord fits one. Both kit listings describe easy-open knockouts, but that doesn’t make the job DIY. The Red Cross says that if you want to connect a generator to your home’s wiring, an electrician should install a power transfer switch in accordance with the National Electrical Code and local codes. Ask your electrician whether a transfer switch or interlock suits your panel.

Best 50 Amp Generator Cord: Why None Made the List
Large generators sometimes have a 50-amp outlet such as a 14-50. The only 50-amp cord among our candidates was sold by a third-party seller we couldn’t connect to the brand, so it didn’t qualify. If your generator and inlet are 50-amp, buy a cord that matches both ends exactly, from the generator maker or a seller you can verify, and have your electrician confirm the inlet rating.
Never Backfeed: Transfer Switches, Carbon Monoxide and Your Home
A cord with a male plug on both ends is sold for plugging a generator into a wall or dryer outlet. Don’t use one. The American Red Cross generator safety page says never to power house wiring by plugging the generator into a wall outlet, and explains that this “backfeeding” puts utility workers, neighbors and your household at risk of electrocution. The only safe way to feed house circuits is a transfer switch or interlock installed by a licensed electrician.
Carbon monoxide is the other hazard. The Red Cross says never to run a generator inside a home, garage, basement, crawlspace or any partially enclosed area, and to keep it away from doors, windows and vents. Ready.gov’s power outage guidance says generators and fuel should always be used outdoors and at least 20 feet away from windows, doors and attached garages, and to install working carbon monoxide detectors on every level of your home. Our carbon monoxide detector guide compares battery-backup models that keep working when the power is out. The Red Cross also says to keep the generator dry and not to use it in rain or wet conditions.

Once power is restored, electronics may face surges as the grid comes back; a surge protector is a sensible layer for computers and TVs. Keep a weather radio on hand to follow outage updates.
Generators, Outages and Your Home Insurance
Generators bring fuel, exhaust and high-current connections to your property, and an improper hookup can start a fire or injure a line worker. Policies differ on fire, electrical damage and food spoilage after an outage, so ask your agent what yours covers before storm season. Our Ohio homeowners insurance guide and tips for first-time Ohio homeowners are good places to start, and renters can check renters insurance costs in Ohio.

Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best generator power cord for most homes?
If your generator has an L14-30 outlet and you have an inlet box, the Southwire 20-foot L14-30 cord is our top pick: 10-gauge, rated 125V/250V and sold by Amazon.com. If you don’t have an inlet yet, the VEVOR and RVINGPRO kits include one, which an electrician must wire to a transfer switch or interlock.
What is the best 30 amp generator cord for a transfer switch?
Match the cord to both your generator outlet and your inlet. For the common L14-30 setup, the Southwire, VEVOR and RVINGPRO cords all use L14-30 twist-lock ends, and RVINGPRO states a 7,500-watt maximum. The transfer switch or interlock itself must be installed by a licensed electrician.
Can I plug my generator into a wall or dryer outlet?
No. The American Red Cross warns never to power house wiring by plugging a generator into a wall outlet. That “backfeeding” can electrocute utility workers, neighbors and your household. Use a transfer switch or interlock installed by a licensed electrician, or plug appliances directly into the generator with outdoor-rated cords.
How far from the house should a generator be?
Ready.gov says generators and fuel should always be used outdoors and at least 20 feet away from windows, doors and attached garages. Never run one in a garage, basement or other enclosed or partially enclosed space, and install carbon monoxide detectors on every level of your home.
What is the best 50 amp generator cord?
None qualified for this guide: the only 50-amp candidate came from a seller we couldn’t link to the brand. Buy a 50-amp cord that matches both your generator outlet and inlet exactly, from a seller you can verify, and have your electrician confirm the inlet and transfer switch rating.
The Bottom Line
For a generator with an L14-30 outlet and an inlet already in place, the Southwire 20-foot cord is the best generator cord to start with. The VEVOR and RVINGPRO kits add a matching inlet box for a new transfer-switch setup, with RVINGPRO stating 7,500 watts. If you’ll run appliances on cords instead, the Champion L5-30 splitter and the Champion 2-foot L14-30 adapter cover both common locking outlets. Whatever you choose, keep the generator outdoors and away from the house, and leave the house connection to a licensed electrician.
Adding a generator inlet and wondering what your policy says about outages, fire or spoiled food? Call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or get a free coverage review.
Keep reading
More kitchen gear guides
- Keep the Fridge and CPAP Running: Best Portable Power Station Picks, 245 Wh to 2 kWh
- Brace, Track Bar or Bolt-On Plate? The Best Door Security Bar for Hinged and Sliding Doors
- Guest Codes, Thumbprints and Matter: The Best Smart Lock for a Front Door Deadbolt
- Best Heat Tape for Water Pipes, Plus the Insulation and Fire Rules to Follow
- Best Gutter Guard Picks by Debris Type: Leaves, Pine Needles and Roof Grit
- Twist-Lock, Splitter or Inlet Kit: The Best Generator Cord for a Safe Outage Hookup
- S.A.M.E. Alerts or a Crank Handle? The Best Weather Radio for Storms and Blackouts
- Bandages, Burn Gel and a Wall Case: The Best First Aid Kit for Home, Car and Travel
- Motion Sensor Light Outdoors and on the Stairs: Solar, Hardwired and Plug-In Options













