
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This doesn’t change our recommendations or the price you pay.
A storm drops a limb across the driveway, or a load of logs needs cutting to stove length. The best chainsaw for homeowners is the one sized to that job, with the safety features you need and a power source you can live with: a battery you charge, a cord you manage, or a gas engine you fuel and maintain.
We compared seven saws sold by Amazon.com or the maker’s own store: two battery saws, two corded electrics, two gas saws and a 6-inch one-hand mini. For each one we quote what the listing says about bar length, chain brake, low-kickback chain, oiling and weight, and we flag where a listing leaves a safety feature out or gives numbers that don’t add up.
One rule before any of it: a homeowner saw is for limbs and logs you can reach from the ground. Big trees near the house or anywhere near power lines are a job for a professional tree crew.
Our Top Chainsaw For Homeowners Picks at a Glance
| Product | Key features | Price | Action |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() EGO Power+ CS1611 16-Inch Chainsaw KitBest Overall · Battery, 56V, 16-inch barBest for: Storm cleanup and firewood without gas |
|
$$$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Husqvarna 120 Mark III 16-Inch Gas ChainsawBest Gas Chainsaw for Homeowners · Gas, 38cc, 16-inch barBest for: Regular firewood cutting and rural lots |
|
$$$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() Greenworks 40V 12-Inch Cordless ChainsawBest Light Cordless for Pruning · Battery, 40V, 12-inch barBest for: Pruning and small storm limbs |
|
$$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() CRAFTSMAN CMECS600 16-Inch Corded ChainsawBest Corded Electric · Corded electric, 12 amp, 16-inch barBest for: Firewood near an outlet |
|
$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() SENIX CSE12-M 16-Inch Corded ChainsawBest Budget Corded · Corded electric, 12 amp, 16-inch barBest for: Lowest-cost 16-inch cutting |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() VEVOR CN-52G 52cc 18-Inch Gas ChainsawBest Long Bar for Firewood · Gas, 52cc, 18-inch barBest for: Larger firewood logs on a budget |
|
$$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
![]() SEESII M6 Lite 6-Inch Mini ChainsawBest Mini Chainsaw · Battery mini saw, 6-inch barBest for: Shrub pruning and small branches |
|
$ | Buy Now →Check current price |
Price key: $ under $50 · $$ $50–$100 · $$$ $100–$175 · $$$$ $175+. Prices change often; check Amazon for today’s price.
1. EGO Power+ CS1611 16-Inch Chainsaw Kit: Best Overall
EGO’s CS1611 is a full-size battery chainsaw with a 16-inch bar, sold as a kit with a 56V 2.5Ah ARC Lithium battery and a charger. EGO calls it “40CC gas equivalent,” which is the brand’s comparison rather than a measured spec, and it lists a 20 m/s chain speed.
Using it is closer to a corded saw than a gas one: slide in the battery, and the saw is ready. The listing promises “Up to 130 cuts on a 4×4 with the included 56V 2.5Ah ARC Lithium battery,” which gives a rough sense of runtime for limb cleanup. Chain tension is set with a tool-free system, and the bar oils itself through an automatic oiler fed from what EGO calls a spill-free oil reservoir.
On safety and durability, the listing names a “Low kickback chain design with brake indicator” and “IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction.” The chain is spelled out in full (3/8-inch pitch, .043-inch gauge, 52 drive links), which makes buying a replacement chain simpler. The specs list the weight as 9 pounds. The warranty field is blank, so check EGO’s own terms before you buy.
It suits homeowners who clear storm debris a few times a year, cut a modest firewood pile, and would rather charge a battery than keep mixed gas in the garage. If you already own EGO 56V tools, the battery platform is a bonus.
Why we like it
- 16-inch bar on battery power
- Tool-free chain tensioning
- Weather-resistant IPX4 rating
Watch out for
One 2.5Ah battery may not last through a big firewood session, and the listed package size doesn’t match a 16-inch saw.
Key Specifications
| Type | Battery, 56V, 16-inch bar |
|---|---|
| Bar / chain | 16 in; 3/8 in pitch, .043 in gauge, 52 drive links |
| Power | 56V 2.5Ah ARC Lithium battery, charger included |
| Safety (listing) | Low kickback chain, brake indicator |
| Listed weight | 9 lb |
| Size | 10.63 x 10.31 x 3.46 in |
| Listed weight | 9 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | CS1611; made by EGO |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #2,671 overall; #13 in Chainsaws (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Sixteen inches of bar on battery power is the EGO’s core appeal, matched only by the corded and gas saws here. The kit includes the “56V 2.5Ah ARC Lithium battery and Charger,” and EGO claims “Up to 130 cuts on a 4×4,” more than double Greenworks’ 50-cut claim.
Safety and upkeep wording is strong: “Low kickback chain design with brake indicator,” “Automatic oiling,” a “Spill-free oil reservoir” and a “Tool-free chain tensioning system.” It is the only pick listing a weather rating, “IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction.” The full chain spec (3/8-inch pitch, .043 gauge, 52 drive links) is listed too.
Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #13 in Chainsaws and #2,671 overall. The specs list 9 pounds, lighter than the Husqvarna’s 10.7 or the SENIX’s 13. Two gaps: the warranty field is empty, and the listed 10.63 x 10.31 x 3.46-inch size can’t be right for a 16-inch saw. It is also the priciest pick.
Homeowners who want gas-saw reach without fuel should start here. Anyone cutting a winter’s worth of firewood may want a spare battery, or the Husqvarna.
Pros
- 16-inch bar with 56V 2.5Ah battery and charger included
- Low kickback chain with brake indicator, per listing
- Only IPX4 weather-resistance rating here
- Up to 130 cuts on a 4×4 per charge, per EGO
- Sold by Amazon.com; #13 in Chainsaws
Cons
- Most expensive pick here
- Warranty field empty in the specs
- Listed size (10.63 x 10.31 x 3.46 in) looks too small for a 16-inch saw
- Only one 2.5Ah battery in the box
Best for: A homeowner who wants a full-size 16-inch bar for storm limbs and firewood with no fuel to mix or store.
2. Husqvarna 120 Mark III 16-Inch Gas Chainsaw: Best Gas Chainsaw for Homeowners
Husqvarna’s 120 Mark III is the entry-level homeowner gas saw from one of the best-known chainsaw makers. It pairs a 38cc, 1.8-horsepower X-Torq engine with a 16-inch bar, and the listing says it handles recommended bar lengths of 14 to 18 inches.
Starting is the part gas-saw owners dread, and Husqvarna addresses it with an air purge system and a combined choke/stop control. The listing says these make starting easier and “reduce risk of engine flooding.” A centrifugal air cleaning system spins out larger dust and debris before it reaches the air filter, which Husqvarna says improves engine life, and LowVib dampeners are there to cut vibration and operator fatigue.
The key safety line is an “inertia-activated chain brake to reduce the likelihood of injury due to kickback.” Husqvarna’s own product page lists the same brake and a 16-inch bar. The specs give a weight of 10.7 pounds and a size of 29.4 x 9.25 x 10.7 inches. The warranty field is blank, so look up Husqvarna’s terms, and read the manual for the fuel it calls for before the first tank.
It fits homeowners who heat with wood, have a rural lot or a long tree line, and want a saw that runs as long as there is fuel in the can. It is less suited to anyone who uses a saw once a year and would rather not store gasoline.
Why we like it
- Inertia-activated chain brake
- Easier-start features
- Takes 14–18 inch bars
Watch out for
Gas saws need fresh fuel and regular engine care, and the listing doesn’t state the warranty.
Key Specifications
| Type | Gas, 38cc, 16-inch bar |
|---|---|
| Bar | 16 in (recommended 14–18 in, per listing) |
| Engine | 38cc, 1.8 HP X-Torq |
| Safety (listing) | Inertia-activated chain brake |
| Listed weight / size | 10.7 lb / 29.4 x 9.25 x 10.7 in |
| Size | 29.4 x 9.25 x 10.7 in |
| Listed weight | 10.7 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | 970739616 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #14,470 overall; #70 in Chainsaws (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Kickback protection is spelled out on the Husqvarna more clearly than on the other gas pick: “inertia-activated chain brake to reduce the likelihood of injury due to kickback.” The VEVOR listing names no brake at all.
The engine is a “38-cc, 1.8-HP X-Torq,” smaller than the VEVOR’s 52cc, but the 120 Mark III adds features aimed at owners who fear hard starts: an “Air purge system and combined choke/stop control,” a centrifugal air cleaning system, and “LowVib technology with dampeners.” Recommended bars run 14 to 18 inches.
Amazon.com sells it, though at #70 in Chainsaws and #14,470 overall it trails the VEVOR (#6) and EGO (#13). The specs list 10.7 pounds and 29.4 x 9.25 x 10.7 inches; the warranty field is empty, so check Husqvarna’s terms. Husqvarna’s own product page confirms the 16-inch bar and chain brake.
If you heat with wood or have acres to tend, this is the gas saw to shortlist. Once-a-year users who hate storing fuel will find the EGO simpler.
Pros
- Inertia-activated chain brake, per listing and Husqvarna’s site
- 38cc, 1.8 HP X-Torq engine
- Air purge and combined choke/stop for easier starts
- LowVib dampeners
- Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- Gas engine means fuel storage and engine upkeep
- Warranty field empty in the specs
- Weakest rank of the gas picks: #70 in Chainsaws
- No mention of a low-kickback chain in the bullets
Best for: A homeowner who cuts firewood every season, works far from an outlet, and is comfortable maintaining a small gas engine.
3. Greenworks 40V 12-Inch Cordless Chainsaw: Best Light Cordless for Pruning
Greenworks’ 40V 12-inch chainsaw is a compact battery saw meant for pruning, yard cleanup and the smaller limbs a storm brings down. It ships with a 40V 2.0Ah battery and a charger, and Greenworks rates a single charge at 50 cuts through 4×4 treated wood.
Everyday handling is the selling point. The bullets put the saw at 6 pounds with a wrapped grip, though the specs list 10.89 pounds, which may be the shipping weight. A dual safety start (a lock plus the trigger) is there to prevent accidental starts, chain tension is tool-free and automatic, and an auto-oiler keeps the chain lubricated.
Greenworks describes the 12-inch chain as “low-recoil” and says it “handles storm clean-up/pruning.” The listing also says the 2.0Ah battery can charge phones and iPads, so it can serve as a small power bank, and that it works with other Greenworks 40V tools. The bullets state a 3-year tool and battery warranty, though the specs warranty field is empty.
It suits homeowners with a few ornamental trees, a fence line to keep trimmed, or a small yard where the biggest cut is a fallen branch. Anyone already on the Greenworks 40V platform gets another tool for the same batteries.
Why we like it
- Low-recoil 12-inch chain
- Dual safety start
- Battery works across Greenworks 40V tools
Watch out for
The 12-inch bar is for limbs and small logs, not big firewood rounds, and the two listed weights disagree.
Key Specifications
| Type | Battery, 40V, 12-inch bar |
|---|---|
| Bar | 12 in, low-recoil chain |
| Power | 40V 2.0Ah battery and charger |
| Runtime claim | 50 cuts on 4×4 treated wood per charge |
| Warranty (bullets) | 3-year tool/battery |
| Size | 24.61 x 7.28 x 10.24 in |
| Listed weight | Specs say 10.89 lb, likely shipping weight; the bullets say 6 lb |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | CS40B210 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #8,514 overall; #46 in Chainsaws (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Light weight and a short bar define the Greenworks. Its bullets call it “Only 6 lbs (2.7kg),” though the specs list 10.89 pounds, likely a shipping figure. Either way, the 12-inch “low-recoil chain” is aimed at “storm clean-up/pruning” rather than big logs.
Safety and convenience features are listed plainly: “Dual safety start (lock + trigger),” “tool-free auto-tensioning,” and an “Auto-oiler.” It is the only saw here whose battery doubles as a power bank that “charges phones/iPads,” which is handy during an outage. Runtime is “50 cuts (4×4″ treated wood),” fewer than EGO’s claimed 130.
Amazon.com sells it, ranked #46 in Chainsaws and #8,514 overall. The bullets state a “3-year tool/battery warranty,” though the specs warranty field is empty. The listing doesn’t mention a chain brake, unlike the EGO, Husqvarna and SENIX listings.
Owners of small yards and Greenworks 40V tools will get the most from it. For firewood rounds, step up to a 16-inch bar.
Pros
- 12-inch low-recoil chain, per listing
- Dual safety start (lock plus trigger)
- 3-year tool/battery warranty in the bullets
- Battery doubles as a phone charger, per Greenworks
- Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- Bullets say 6 lb; specs say 10.89 lb
- Short 12-inch bar limits log size
- 50 cuts per charge, fewer than the EGO claims
- Chain brake not mentioned
Best for: A homeowner who mostly prunes and clears small fallen limbs and wants a light, quiet battery saw.
4. CRAFTSMAN CMECS600 16-Inch Corded Chainsaw: Best Corded Electric
CRAFTSMAN’s CMECS600 is a corded electric chainsaw with a 16-inch bar and a 12-amp motor. Plug it in and it runs as long as you need, with no battery to charge and no fuel to mix, which makes it a practical choice for cutting firewood in the driveway or clearing limbs close to the house.
The listing keeps its feature list short and specific. It names a “16-inch low kickback bar and chain,” automatic oiling with a “Built-in oil window and no priming required,” and tool-free chain tensioning. That oil window is the kind of small detail that matters, since running a chain dry dulls it fast.
The bullets state a “3 Year Limited Warranty,” although the specs warranty field is empty. The listed weight is 6.19 pounds and the listed size is 18.63 x 11.94 x 8.37 inches. The listing doesn’t mention a chain brake, so check the manual if that matters to you. As with any corded outdoor tool, use an outdoor-rated extension cord sized to the maker’s instructions.
It suits homeowners on a smaller lot who cut within a hundred feet or so of an outlet and want full 16-inch capacity at a lower price than a battery kit. It is not a fit for remote fence lines or the back of a large property.
Why we like it
- Full 16-inch low kickback bar
- Oil window you can check at a glance
- No battery or fuel to manage
Watch out for
The listing doesn’t say whether there’s a chain brake, and the cord ties you to an outlet.
Key Specifications
| Type | Corded electric, 12 amp, 16-inch bar |
|---|---|
| Bar | 16 in, low kickback bar and chain |
| Motor | 12 amp, corded |
| Oiling | Automatic, built-in oil window |
| Listed weight | 6.19 lb |
| Size | 18.63 x 11.94 x 8.37 in |
| Listed weight | 6.19 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | CMECS600 |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #6,940 overall; #31 in Chainsaws (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Value per inch of bar is the CRAFTSMAN’s case: a “16-inch low kickback bar and chain” on a “12-Amp motor,” for less than either battery saw. With a cord, runtime is limited only by your stamina.
Its listing is short but useful. “Built-in oil window and no priming required” lets you see the oil level at a glance, and chain tensioning is tool-free. The bullets state a “3 Year Limited Warranty,” matching Greenworks’ term. There is no mention of a chain brake, which the SENIX corded saw does list.
Amazon.com sells it, and it ranks #31 in Chainsaws and #6,940 overall, well ahead of the SENIX (#89). The specs list 6.19 pounds, which seems light next to the SENIX’s 13 pounds for a similar 16-inch saw, so treat that figure with caution. The warranty field itself is blank.
For homeowners who cut near the house and want a recognized brand, it is a sensible pick. If a named kickback brake matters most, the SENIX lists one.
Pros
- 16-inch low kickback bar and chain, per listing
- 12-amp motor
- Auto-oiling with an oil window, no priming
- Tool-free chain tensioning
- 3-year limited warranty in the bullets
Cons
- Cord limits how far you can roam
- Chain brake not mentioned
- Warranty field empty in the specs
- Listed 6.19 lb seems light for a 16-inch corded saw
Best for: A homeowner who cuts firewood or downed limbs within reach of an outdoor outlet and wants no batteries or fuel.
5. SENIX CSE12-M 16-Inch Corded Chainsaw: Best Budget Corded
SENIX’s CSE12-M is a 16-inch corded chainsaw with a 12-amp motor, built to plug into any standard 120-volt outlet. SENIX pitches it on value and on runtime: with a cord there is no battery to wait on, and the listing names storm cleanup and wood cutting among its jobs.
Day to day, the features cover the basics. A 5.8-ounce auto-oiling system lubricates the chain, and tool-less tensioning lets you snug the chain without hunting for a wrench. The box includes a bar and chain cover and a scrench (a combination screwdriver and wrench), so you can store and adjust it without extra purchases.
Safety features are named plainly: “a handle-mounted trigger lockout and an automatic kickback brake.” That makes it one of the few saws here whose listing names a brake. The specs list a weight of 13 pounds and a size of 33 x 11 x 8 inches. One oddity: the bullets promise a 3-year limited warranty, while the warranty field reads “2-year limited warranty,” so confirm the term with SENIX.
It suits homeowners who need a full-size bar a few times a year and would rather keep the spend low. If you cut far from the house or need to move around a large yard, a battery or gas saw will be easier.
Why we like it
- Named kickback brake
- Lowest cost for a 16-inch bar
- Cover and adjustment tool in the box
Watch out for
The warranty length differs between the bullets and the warranty field, so check before you count on three years.
Key Specifications
| Type | Corded electric, 12 amp, 16-inch bar |
|---|---|
| Bar | 16 in |
| Motor | 12 amp, 120-volt outlet |
| Safety (listing) | Trigger lockout, automatic kickback brake |
| Listed weight / size | 13 lb / 33 x 11 x 8 in |
| Size | 33 x 11 x 8 in |
| Listed weight | 13 pounds |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
| Model | CSE12-M; made by YAT |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #19,952 overall; #89 in Chainsaws (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Price is SENIX’s lead argument, and it is the cheapest full-size saw on the page, with a 16-inch bar and a 12-amp motor that “plugs into any standard 120-volt outlet.”
Few listings here name a brake, and this one does: “a handle-mounted trigger lockout and an automatic kickback brake.” A “5.8 oz. auto-oiling system” and “tool-less chain saw tensioning” cover upkeep, and the box includes a “bar and chain cover, scrench tool.”
Amazon.com sells it, but its rank is the weakest here at #89 in Chainsaws and #19,952 overall. The specs list 13 pounds and 33 x 11 x 8 inches, heavier than the CRAFTSMAN. There is a warranty conflict worth flagging: the bullets say “3-year limited warranty,” while the warranty field reads “2-year limited warranty.” The manufacturer field says YAT rather than SENIX.
Tight budgets and occasional firewood make it a fit. Anyone who wants a stronger sales track record should pay a little more for the CRAFTSMAN.
Pros
- Least expensive full-size pick here
- Automatic kickback brake and trigger lockout, per listing
- 16-inch bar, 12-amp motor
- 5.8 oz auto-oiling system, tool-less tensioning
- Bar and chain cover included
Cons
- Warranty conflict: bullets say 3-year, warranty field says 2-year
- Weakest rank here: #89 in Chainsaws
- Listed 13 lb, heavier than the other corded pick
- Needs an outlet and extension cord
Best for: A budget-minded homeowner who wants a full 16-inch bar for occasional firewood and storm cleanup near the house.
6. VEVOR CN-52G 52cc 18-Inch Gas Chainsaw: Best Long Bar for Firewood
VEVOR’s CN-52G is a 52cc gas chainsaw with an 18-inch bar, the longest on this list. The listing rates the engine at 2.55 horsepower (1.9 kW at 8,500 rpm, up to 12,000 rpm) and claims a maximum cutting diameter of 16.93 inches, which is the kind of capacity firewood cutters look for.
Running it means buying, storing and handling gasoline, and following the manual for the fuel it calls for. The listing gives a 550 ml fuel tank and a 260 ml chain oil tank, and says the tough outer shell resists leaks. A built-in shock absorber is meant to cut vibration, and VEVOR says the long bar reduces sawdust splatter.
What the listing leaves out is just as important. There is no mention of a chain brake, a low-kickback chain or any kickback-reducing device, and OSHA’s Chainsaw Safety QuickCard says gasoline-powered chainsaws must be equipped with a protective device that minimizes kickback. Check the manual or ask VEVOR before buying. The specs list 14.99 pounds, and the warranty field is empty. The bullets also describe it as a “top handle” saw, which looks like copied wording.
It suits experienced users who already own chaps, a helmet and hearing protection, and who need an 18-inch bar for bigger rounds. Beginners and occasional users will be better served by a saw whose listing names its kickback protection.
Why we like it
- Longest bar here
- Big fuel and oil tanks
- Strong Chainsaws category rank
Watch out for
The listing never mentions a chain brake or low-kickback chain, so confirm the kickback protection before you buy.
Key Specifications
| Type | Gas, 52cc, 18-inch bar |
|---|---|
| Bar | 18 in |
| Engine | 52cc, 2.55 HP, 1.9 kW |
| Tanks | 550 ml fuel, 260 ml chain oil |
| Listed weight | 14.99 lb |
| Size | 16.14 x 9.84 x 11.22 in |
| Listed weight | 14.99 pounds |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | CN-52G |
| Seller | Amazon.com |
| Best Sellers Rank | #1,630 overall; #6 in Chainsaws (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Bar length sets the VEVOR apart: at 18 inches, it is the longest here, and the listing claims a 16.93-inch cutting diameter from a 52cc, 2.55 HP engine. Shoppers clearly notice it, since it ranks #6 in Chainsaws and #1,630 overall, the best rank among the full-size saws.
Fuel and oil capacity are generous, with a “0.58 qt/550ml fuel tank and a 0.27 qt/260ml chain oil tank,” and a “built-in shock absorber” is listed. But nowhere does the listing mention a chain brake or low-kickback chain, which the Husqvarna, EGO and SENIX listings all address. OSHA’s QuickCard says gas chainsaws must have a device that minimizes kickback, so confirm what this one has.
Amazon.com sells it. At 14.99 pounds it is the heaviest pick, and the warranty field is empty. The bullets call it a “top handle” saw, which doesn’t fit an 18-inch rear-handle design and suggests copied text.
Experienced cutters who need an 18-inch bar on a budget may accept the trade-offs. First-time owners should buy the Husqvarna instead.
Pros
- Only 18-inch bar here
- 52cc, 2.55 HP engine, per listing
- 16.93-inch cutting diameter claimed
- Built-in shock absorber
- Best rank of the full-size saws: #6 in Chainsaws
Cons
- No chain brake or low-kickback chain mentioned
- Heaviest pick at a listed 14.99 lb
- Warranty field empty
- Bullets call it a “top handle” saw, which seems inconsistent with an 18-inch bar
Best for: An experienced homeowner who cuts larger firewood logs and wants a long bar without paying name-brand prices.
7. SEESII M6 Lite 6-Inch Mini Chainsaw: Best Mini Chainsaw
SEESII’s M6 Lite is a mini chainsaw with a 6-inch bar and a 900W motor, the kind of small battery saw that has become popular for pruning. It comes as a kit with two 21V 2000mAh batteries, two chains (one pre-installed), a charger, an oil bottle, a nut driver, a screwdriver and a pair of gloves.
Most of the listing’s numbers are brand claims. SEESII says chain speed reaches 30 ft/s, that the saw cuts wood up to 15 cm thick in 7 seconds, and that the two batteries give 80 to 100 minutes of continuous operation. The bullets put the weight at 2.7 pounds, while the specs say 2.2 pounds; either way, it is by far the lightest saw here. The oil bottle ships empty, and the listing doesn’t mention an automatic oiler, so plan on oiling the chain yourself.
For safety, the listing names a double safety lock to prevent accidental starts, a chain guard to keep debris down, and a “low-recoil design.” SEESII markets it for one-handed use. OSHA’s chainsaw guidance tells operators to keep their hands on the saw’s handles, so use a firm, two-handed grip where the design allows, and never hold the branch you are cutting with your free hand. The listing offers a 2-year after-sales service; the warranty field is empty.
It suits gardeners who prune shrubs, small fruit trees and branches a few inches thick. It is not a storm-cleanup or firewood tool.
Why we like it
- Lightest saw here
- Two batteries and two chains
- Gloves in the box
Watch out for
Treat it as a pruning tool, oil the chain by hand, and don’t hold the work with your free hand.
Key Specifications
| Type | Battery mini saw, 6-inch bar |
|---|---|
| Bar | 6 in |
| Power | 900W motor, two 21V 2000mAh batteries |
| Safety (listing) | Double safety lock, chain guard, low-recoil design |
| Listed size / weight | 15 x 3.2 x 6 in / 2.2 lb |
| Size | 15 x 3.2 x 6 in |
| Listed weight | Specs say 2.2 lb; the bullets say 2.7 lb |
| Warranty | Not stated in listing |
| Model | M6 Lite; made by SeeSii |
| Seller | Seesii-US |
| Best Sellers Rank | #89 overall; #2 in Chainsaws (Oct 2026) |
Why We Recommend It
Popularity tells the story here: #2 in Chainsaws and #89 overall, the best rank on this page. That reflects how many people buy mini saws for pruning, not storm work.
The kit is generous, with “2 batteries, 2 chains (one pre-installed), 1 oil bottle (oil not included), 1 pair of gloves, 1 charger.” Safety features are a “double safety lock,” a chain guard and a “low-recoil design.” Performance numbers, such as wood “up to 15cm thick in just 7 seconds” and “80-100 minutes” of runtime, are SEESII’s claims.
The seller is Seesii-US, the brand’s own store. The specs list 2.2 pounds (bullets say 2.7), the lightest here, and the 6-inch bar is the shortest. The listing names no automatic oiler, so the chain needs oiling by hand. It is marketed as “one-handed,” while OSHA advises keeping your hands on the saw’s handles.
Gardeners pruning shrubs and small branches will find it handy. Anyone facing storm limbs or firewood needs a 12-inch or longer saw.
Pros
- Best rank here: #2 in Chainsaws, #89 overall
- Two 21V 2000mAh batteries and two chains included
- Double safety lock and chain guard, per listing
- Pair of gloves in the box
- Sold by SEESII’s own store
Cons
- 6-inch bar is for branches, not logs
- Bullets say 2.7 lb; specs say 2.2 lb
- No automatic oiler mentioned; oil bottle comes empty
- Marketed for one-handed use; OSHA advises keeping hands on the handles
Best for: A homeowner who wants a light tool for pruning shrubs and small branches, not for storm logs or firewood.
How We Chose the Best Chainsaws for Homeowners
Every pick was in stock and sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own store when we checked. We compared what each listing actually says:
- Power type: battery, corded electric or gas, and what each means for runtime and upkeep.
- Bar length: from a 6-inch pruning mini to an 18-inch firewood bar.
- Kickback features as listed: chain brake, low-kickback or low-recoil chain, safety lock. Where a listing names none, we say so.
- Chain care: automatic oiler, oil window, tool-free tensioning.
- Listing evidence: seller, Amazon sales rank, weight and the warranty field, with conflicts flagged.
We kept to one saw per brand and quoted every runtime or power claim as the maker’s own.

Chainsaw Buying Guide
Best Cordless Chainsaw: Battery Size and Bar Length
Battery saws start instantly and skip fuel storage. The EGO CS1611 pairs a 16-inch bar with a 56V battery and claims up to 130 cuts on a 4×4 per charge; the Greenworks 40V uses a 12-inch bar and claims 50. A second battery is the simplest way to stretch a cleanup day. If you already own a brand’s batteries, staying on that platform saves money.
Best Gas Chainsaw for Homeowners
Gas saws run as long as you have fuel and don’t need an outlet, which is why they remain the choice for rural lots and wood heat. The trade-off is upkeep and fuel handling. OSHA’s Chainsaw Safety QuickCard says to start the saw at least 10 feet from the fueling area with the chain brake engaged, to never fuel a running or hot saw, and that gasoline-powered chainsaws must be equipped with a protective device that minimizes kickback. The Husqvarna 120 Mark III lists an inertia-activated chain brake (also shown on Husqvarna’s 120 Mark III page); the VEVOR CN-52G listing doesn’t mention one.

Best Electric Chainsaw: Corded Saws
Corded saws (CRAFTSMAN and SENIX here) offer 16-inch bars at the lowest cost and unlimited runtime, but only within reach of an outlet. OSHA’s Working Safely with Chainsaws fact sheet says extension cords should be sized according to the chainsaw maker’s instructions.
Best Mini Chainsaw
Six-inch battery minis like the SEESII M6 Lite are pruning tools. They are light and cheap, but many are marketed for one-handed use, and the listing doesn’t mention an automatic oiler. Keep both hands on the tool where you can, and never steady a branch with your free hand.
Best Chainsaw for Cutting Firewood
For stove-length rounds, bar length and runtime matter most. A 16-inch bar (EGO, Husqvarna, CRAFTSMAN, SENIX) covers most homeowner firewood; the VEVOR’s 18-inch bar claims a 16.93-inch cutting diameter. Before you cut, see our guide to the best fireplace wood for which species burn well and how long to season them.

Storm Cleanup Safety: Kickback, PPE and Knowing When to Stop
OSHA’s fact sheet lists the protective gear employers must provide for chainsaw work, and it is a good homeowner checklist too: head protection such as a hard hat, hearing protection, eye and face protection, protective footwear, leg protection such as chaps, and work gloves. Our guide to cut-resistant gloves covers glove ratings.
- Avoid the kickback zone. OSHA says to be prepared for kickback, avoid cutting with the tip, and use saws with chain brakes and low-kickback chains.
- Stay on the ground. The fact sheet lists operating a chainsaw above shoulder height or above ground level, such as from a ladder or tree, as a higher-risk job, and it says not to cut directly overhead.
- Watch for tension. OSHA warns that branches under tension may spring out when cut, and to identify “hangers” and “widow-makers” that may fall from above.
- Know your limits. The fact sheet also flags trees with a heavy lean, rot or a tendency to split, and says to identify electrical lines in the work area. Leave large trees near the house, and anything touching or near power lines, to professionals.
- Don’t work alone. OSHA’s fact sheet says never work alone, and to take breaks because fatigue increases the risk of injury.
After a storm, power may be out too. If you’re running a generator while you clean up, see our portable generator guide before you start it.

Storm Damage, Fallen Trees and Your Policy
A tree on the roof, a limb through the fence and debris removal can each be handled differently by a homeowners policy, and the details depend on your policy and what caused the damage. Don’t assume either way. Take photos before you cut, and ask your agent what your policy covers before you hire a tree crew. Our Ohio homeowners insurance guide explains the basics.

Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best chainsaw for homeowners?
For most homeowners, the EGO Power+ CS1611 is our pick. It pairs a 16-inch bar with a 56V battery and charger, lists a low kickback chain with a brake indicator and an IPX4 weather-resistance rating, and is sold by Amazon.com.
Is a cordless chainsaw strong enough for storm cleanup?
For limbs and small trees, a full-size battery saw can be. EGO claims up to 130 cuts on a 4×4 per charge with a 16-inch bar, and Greenworks claims 50 with a 12-inch bar. Large trees, especially near the house or power lines, are a job for professionals.
What is the best electric chainsaw for firewood?
A corded 16-inch saw near an outlet is the low-cost route. The CRAFTSMAN CMECS600 lists a 16-inch low kickback bar and an oil window; the SENIX CSE12-M lists an automatic kickback brake and costs less. Size the extension cord to the maker’s instructions.
Are mini chainsaws safe?
They are pruning tools, not storm saws. The SEESII M6 Lite lists a double safety lock and chain guard, but it is marketed for one-handed use. OSHA advises keeping your hands on the saw’s handles, so never hold the branch you are cutting with your free hand.
What safety gear do I need to run a chainsaw?
OSHA’s chainsaw fact sheet lists head protection, hearing protection, eye and face protection, protective footwear, leg protection such as chaps, and work gloves. It also warns against cutting above shoulder height or from a ladder.
The Bottom Line
The EGO Power+ CS1611 is the best chainsaw for homeowners who want a 16-inch bar without gas. The Husqvarna 120 Mark III is the gas pick for regular firewood, with a listed inertia-activated chain brake. The Greenworks 40V is the light pruning saw, the CRAFTSMAN CMECS600 and SENIX CSE12-M are the corded value picks, the VEVOR CN-52G brings an 18-inch bar for experienced users, and the SEESII M6 Lite handles small branches only. Whatever you buy, wear the gear, stay on the ground and leave big trees to the pros.
Cleaning up after a storm and not sure what your policy covers? Call Jeff Smith’s State Farm office at (740) 354-7747 or ask about a coverage review, and ask your agent before the tree crew arrives.
Keep reading
More kitchen gear guides
- Cordless, Corded or Manual? Where the Best Pole Saw Fits Your Tallest Limbs
- Rain Barrel Buying Guide: Flat-Back, Collapsible and Diverter Setups for Roof Runoff
- Wave, Press or Pump Through the Sink Deck? Best Soap Dispenser Styles Compared
- Upright, Apart and Dry: Best Toothbrush Holder Options for Counters, Walls and Travel
- Weight Only or 50+ Metrics? Best Bathroom Scale Picks, Simple Digital to Body Composition
- Darks, Lights or Delicates? Best Laundry Sorter Options by Sections and Space
- Pilled Sweater or Fuzzy Couch? Best Fabric Shaver Picks by Blade and Battery
- Shelf Cart or Folding Wagon? Why the Best Utility Cart Depends on Where It Rolls
- Extra Room Out Back: Best Hitch Cargo Carrier Baskets by Size, Rails and Weight















